In a Vase on Monday: From Zero to Hero

A week or so ago it occurred to me that the Iris ensata next to the stream were flowering last year when we opened the garden informally: would it do the same this year? Within days several stems were apparent and then in no time at all – Wham! Pow! Kerplunk! – from zero to hero in no time at all!

There are two clumps, both with at least a dozen stems in various stages of bloom – which they certainly weren’t yesterday. Strange how I like these iris but not the bearded variety…I am conscious that I prefer the more horizontal shape of these blooms and there is certainly something about the falls and beards of the others that don’t appeal. I have added a clump of pink Iris ensata this year but they are slow establishing and certainly won’t be flowering this year.

The three stems needed no further embellishment and their long slim stems were popped into the tallest and slimmest vase I have, this slightly twisted glazed black number, the usual car boot purchase but a modern item as it still had its paper barcode label on the bottom.


I wonder if you too have some new delights in your garden that you could bear to cut and pop into a vase today? Or perhaps something you have foraged locally? Regular IAVOM-ers already know how much pleasure there is to be had from popping a few blooms or other material into a vase or jar or other receptacle, so if you haven’t joined us yet please do consider it today and leave links to and from this post so we can all share your pleasure.

 

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: From Zero to Hero

  1. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – Dahlias and Zinnias begin their summer bounty – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  2. Pingback: Happy Vase | Wild Daffodil

  3. Christina says:

    I love all Irises Cathy; especially the bearded ones but that has a lot to do with the fact they they like my climate and soil. The colour of your blooms is gorgeous and I think you were right not to include other material, they are perfect on their own. Here’s my link: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2017/06/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-dahlias-and-zinnias-begin-their-summer-bounty/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – these were planted when I built the stream which was about 2003 but last year was the first year they really flowered properly and make any impact – don’t know why it took so long

  4. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Heavenly White | Words and Herbs

  5. Cathy says:

    Very pretty, and I can see why they appeal to you more than the bearded ones. Your comic labels are excellent too! Here is my vase for today: https://wordsandherbs.com/2017/06/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-heavenly-white/ Have a good week Cathy!

  6. They are lovely and I have a cool blue iris which I found at Rhodds farm coming up in my next blog tomorrow……..https://thegardengateisopen.blog/

  7. I love how the veins of color within the petals flow. Beautiful lines of color. Very classy! I have a vase to share with you today too: https://nomadsbynature.wordpress.com/2017/06/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-podcast/

  8. Noelle says:

    How wonderful to have a stream…giving a shady and cool area. I am with the on the Irises..I love the Sibriaca ones too. Here is my contribution from my ever so hot and dry garden: http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/in-vase-on-monday-so-hot-it-feels-like.html

  9. What a colour! and very sleek stems, the catwalk queen on the Irises.
    Here’s my link: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2017/06/19/happy-vase/

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    These are a beautiful color, Cathy, and graceful, like butterflies in flight. Good choice in a vase, it compliments them well.
    My voluptuous arrangement this week is the opposite of your slim one: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-1Ov

  11. pbmgarden says:

    Cathy, this is a gorgeous iris, beautiful color and form, strangely serene. The vase you chose is perfect. Thanks for hosting us once again. My vase is:
    https://pbmgarden.blog/2017/06/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-garden-variety/

  12. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Perfume – Absent Gardener

  13. Cath says:

    They are lovely, in the perfect vase, and it sounds like you have the perfect place for them to grow. Mine flowered last year but the flowers were delicate and short lived. Maybe I need a stream 🙂
    My vase is a short round one today : https://absentgardener.com/2017/06/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-perfume/

  14. I like most kinds of Iris but how perfect that these will be blooming for your NARGS event. Do you grow water Iris in your stream? I have two kinds and love them. My vase is here: http://www.lindabrazill.com/each_little_world/2017/06/martagons-on-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      It is not a natural stream, Linda, so I don’t grown any plants in it (although there are baby ferns attached to some of the rocks now. To help conserve water I have the pump on a timer for only 6 hours a day – it would lose such a lot of water from evaporation when the weather is like this otherwise

  15. Pingback: Primrose box – enclos*ure

  16. A tasteful ode to the original Batman? I hope you are laughing, that was my immediate thought. I adore Iris ensata as well and was always a bit underwhelmed by the German Iris. The Iris that do well here are of African origin and called Walking Iris, this scares me a bit and I don’t have any Iris. Color and lines of the arrangement are perfect. Here is my mad tropical vase for this week. http://theshrubqueen.com/2017/06/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-fine-kettle-of-heliconia

  17. I adore irises in the garden and vase…..love the color of yours….finally getting back to some blogging and certainly had to have a vase so I could join in with you Cathy!

    http://gardenseyeview.com/2017/06/19/a-perfect-spot-to-start-again/

  18. Kris P says:

    I don’t know what impresses me more: your beautiful Japanese Iris or the fact that you have a stream running through your property. My post today celebrates the return of my Eustoma, even if in the form of a single bloom: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/06/in-vase-on-monday-lisianthus-at-last.html

  19. Christina says:

    Hi Cathy, your Iris ensata are very beautiful in their simple elegance and the vase with its modern lines that you have chosen fits them perfectly. How strange though, that you like these but seem to distinctly dislike bearded irises.

    I am so happy that after a long time I am able to participate in your lovely meme again, today. I am offering a little bouquet that I haven’t picked myself but arranged it and choose the vase. Of course, it contains homegrown garden flowers, though, and the best is they are from your country! It was for sale at an open garden charity event in Adlestrop and I bought it last week when we were still on vacation in your lovely country. It seems to be already such a long time ago, but the blooms might still delight the next guest in the self-catering cottage that we rented!

    Here is the link to my blog post:
    http://www.organicgardendreams.com/2017/06/the-beautiful-little-church-bouquet.html

    Your own NGS Open Garden must be very close now. I am wishing you the best of luck for this! You must be sooo… excited and judging from you blog you are very well prepared.
    Warm regards,
    Christina

  20. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Iris ensata always thrill me but I’ve only grown one or two. Both perished because of neglect/unhappiness in the increasing shade. Yours are beautiful and your vase is perfect for them. Love the hero words! Thanks for the morning smile and especially, many thanks for continuing to host IAVOM! What an exciting and busy time you’re having getting your garden ready to open. The number of plants you’re offering for sale is quite impressive and your picture labels fabulous! My offering today is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2017/06/in-vase-on-monday_19.html

  21. joanna says:

    Cartoon phrases but hyper-realistic photography of those lovely irises Cathy, thanks for the image … I’ve been bold and lopped off a couple of Amaryllis for the vase today …http://floral-fun.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/amaryllis-monday.html

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thank you, Joanna – it’s the first time for ages I have photographed inside – it was such a tall arrangement and I wanted a plain background so it was taken against a dark green wall

  22. jenmac13 says:

    Hi Cathy, your blue iris have the most lovely colouring, and those cartoon sticks are great fu!
    I’ve got a couple of vases this week, with some roses and sweetpeas.
    Happy British Flower week!
    https://doingtheplan.com/2017/06/19/old-fashioned-rose-in-a-vase-on-monday/

  23. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – A Summer Salad | Frogend dweller's Blog

  24. A brilliant juxtaposition of classic and kitsch! Your irises are very beautiful, so elegant.
    I’ve been hacking down giants … so here is my vase: http://wp.me/pM8Y1-5zB

  25. Alison C says:

    When I first looked (on a small screen), I thought you’d added graphics to your picture. Gorgeous coloured iris in an interesting vase. Everything is certainly growing away just now. Things I thought were too small to flourish are bursting into flower. Here is my link:
    http://ablogaboutcompost.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/crazy-dahlia-in-vase-on-monday.html
    Thanks for inspiring us. x

  26. Oh I love that Cathy, sock it to em! Mine are a mixed bunch this week https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

  27. Cathy I love her Iris and her color and how they see the veins of color in the leaves. Is beautiful. I like it very much as it has presented: alone, without more, with the dark vase. The Iris does not need decorations to be beautiful. Have a good week. Greetings from Margarita.

  28. hb says:

    Your Iris is lovely–it has a more graceful, relaxed appearance than an overly hybridized bearded Iris. That plummy color is delicious.

    I’m not great with arrangements, but this morning I felt I owed it to the dahlias and roses as they looked so good!
    https://pieceofeden.blogspot.com/2017/06/in-vase-on-monday-red-and-yellow.html

    • Cathy says:

      Most of us on IAVOM still think of ourselves as ‘plonkers’ and not ‘arrangers’, so you are in good company. It is the pleasure of picking and bringing inside to enjoy that matter most to us

  29. The Iris are wonderful this year, in your vase they look like fireworks going off, a gorgeous colour too. Here is my link:

    http://ronaquirkybirdgardener.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/in-vase-on-monday-herby-bouquet.html

  30. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday 6.19.17 | Hilltop Flower Power

  31. Mrs. Brown says:

    Just lovely irises and such fun! Hey, wowie zowie, I have zinnia in a vase to share this Monday. https://hilltopflowers.wordpress.com/2017/06/20/in-a-vase-on-monday-6-19-17/

    • Cathy says:

      Sorry to be late getting back to you – other things happening here!! I have buds on my zinnias so I can understand your excitement!

  32. smallsunnygarden says:

    Superbly beautiful irises, Cathy – I’ve never grown I. ensata, but I can see why you like them so well! I went with the practical side of things this week… or about as practical as I ever get in a garden…: https://www.smallsunnygarden.com/2017/06/20/in-a-vase-edible/

  33. Brian Skeys says:

    They are beautiful Cathy. Do you like the Siberian Iris, they are very simular in appearance.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Brian -when I bought these about 12 or 13 years ago I didn’t know anything about the different sorts of irises and ordered them for their streamside appropriateness (even though as a manmade feature the soil is no different from anywhere else). Looking up Siberian irises now, I think I still prefer these ones!

  34. karen says:

    So beautiful. I love that blue, and the veins are so pretty. Well, I’ve had a disastrous week with no internet. Please forgive me for being nearly a week late! However, I try never to give up, so here’s my offering… karengimson.wordpress.com

  35. Pingback: Pink, purple, and white!

Something to say after reading this?

