Choice June Blooms

I took a little time out of my to-do lists (three cakes made, pricing signs printed and laminated, garden photo board completed, tomatoes potted on, wayward stems tied in, etc, etc) to choose some pleasing June blooms to feature for Garden Bloggers’ Blooms Day. For the first time I am not going to link with May Dreams Gardens, which hosts the meme, but will continue to focus on what is flowering at around the same time each month as it is a useful record. There is so  much in bloom that I couldn’t possibly show you everything this month, but rest assured it is delightfully floriferous here at the moment!

Above is the pleasing colour combination of Geranium magnificum (originating from the garden my parents left in 1988 and well loved ever since) and Lychnis coronaria, grown from seed sent to me by Sandra of Wild Daffodil. They were sown early last year and although they were healthy plants by the end of the season this is the first time they have flowered – love that colour.

Below is an almost pristine clump of Zantedeschia aethiopica ‘Crowborough’, the dry weather so far keeping it that way and showing off the stark contrast of the bright green leaves with the pure white flowers:

I added several more Allium christophii to the garden in the autumn and I don’t know if other people have found this but the flower heads vary in size considerably – this one is the hugest of huge, although using my hand to put the size in perspective merely shows off how dry my skin is and doesn’t give a true indication – I would need about SIX hands to cup the full bloom probably!

This bloom is right in front of another star performer, Aconitum ‘Spark’s Variety’, bought as a small bare root plant from Peter Nyssen two years ago and flowering for the first time and making a grand statement in this bold border. To its left is a cephalaria grown from seed 3 or 4 years ago , now in bud and equally tall: both easily dwarf me, which I know is not difficult…

My last Peter Nyssen order included a number of Asiatic lilies which I have been growing in pots, keeping them in the fruit cage till today as they now all in full bud. It has been far easier to watch out for lily beetles when they are in pots and not surrounded by other foliage and if they flower successfully I shall add more next year. This is a deep burgundy, almost black ‘Mapira’:

‘Princess Kate’ has taken a few years to establish, but I don’t think I realised that this viticella clematis had such large flowers – these are amazing!

Sown at the end of August last year and now flowering is Papaver ‘Princess Victoria Louise’. These herbaceous poppies have been so easy to grow and I will look out for other varieties:

The garden is full of roses but ‘New Dawn’ has only just started flowering and as always I find myself surprised at the pretty pale shade of pink she is. Her blooms just add to the overall fragrance that hangs over the whole garden and which I hope will delight my visitors as much as they do me…

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens, open gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Choice June Blooms

  1. Cathy’s garden is a wonderful flower garden. All flowers are beautiful. His hands have something special to look after them: Geranium magnificum since 1988 is still alive and in flower, that is something unique. The coronary Lychnis in bloom is beautiful. The Allium christophii is giant and very beautiful! I really like Papaver. Her roses are gorgeous, “New Dawn” confirms it. Greetings from Margarita.

  2. New Dawn is so vigorous here I’ve thought about trying it in part sun, as that’s all I have to offer. Do you find it particularly robust? Love the clematis and the poppy.

  3. Wow, I don’t think I have ever seen an allium so large. That is a doozy. Everything looks grand. I hope you will be able to enjoy your guests. You have been working so hard so long you deserve to sit back, smile and soak it all in.

  4. Heyjude says:

    “…delightfully floriferous…”

    indeed. All your hard work certainly pays off Cathy. Hope the Open Day goes well – is it this weekend? If so looks like being a warm one 😀

  5. Olga says:

    I see the love you feel in your floral garden. Wonderful post. ❤

  6. So exciting to see the Lychnis! That colour just pops in the garden doesn’t it. You are going to have such a fabulous opening – congratulations on so many triumphs. 🙂

  7. Anna says:

    What are your feeding that allium on Cathy? What a fabulous poppy. I’ve taken note 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      No idea why that allium is so much bigger than the others, Anna! There are some of the poppies on the plant stall, Anna, but not of flowering size…

  8. Sam says:

    Gorgeous flowers, Cathy. Good luck for your open garden – I’m sure all your hard work will pay off.

  9. All looking beautiful and I’m sure all of your readers and visitors will love it as much as I do, if only I lived nearer!

  10. Solitaire says:

    Beautiful photos if your garden!

  11. johnvic8 says:

    You have so much going on now. Lovely. I have found lychnis coronaria to be terribly invasive here. Hope that doesn’t happen to you.

  12. Kris P says:

    Those calla lilies are a sure sign of how very different our climates are – mine, which bloom in late winter, are long gone and most of the foliage has died down to the ground even though our summer heat is only just beginning, while yours are glorious newborns. I love the poppy, which I’ve repeatedly tried and failed to grow, too.

    • Cathy says:

      Interesting to compare, Kris. Other poppies I have had have rarely survived for another year so I musn’t be too optimistic yet…!

  13. Brian Skeys says:

    I planted princess Kate last year Cathy, looks like I will have to wait till next year to see any flowers. Good to see the To-do list being ticked off. Have you found there is almost as much work preparing plants for sale as preparing the garden?

    • Cathy says:

      It seems to be the same for most of my clematis, Brian, although occasionally they star in the first year. I have done very little in the garden itself recently – as you say there are so many other things to do!

  14. rusty duck says:

    It’s all coming together beautifully… perfect timing!

  15. Chloris says:

    Lovely June blooms Cathy. I love Clematis Princess Kate.

    • Cathy says:

      She has never looked as good as this and has only had the odd small bloom before – she must be vying with Princess Di on the next post!!

Something to say after reading this?

