Everything’s Coming Up….

… ROSES!

When every June comes around do we always find ourselves thinking that our roses have never been as fine as they are now? Perhaps, although because most of my roses are relatively new I know that some of them genuinely ARE the finest they have ever been. The Rambling Rector, above, is not a new rose however, being one of the few things growing in the garden when we arrived 20 years ago, but it has certainly benefitted from disciplined pruning over the last few years. After removing the accumulated bird’s nest of deadwood, I now take out all the flowering stems within a few weeks of flowering finishing – and every June proves that this regime is a success.

The rose arbour harbouring the rector was extended two years ago to provide an arch for two climbing Crown Princess Margareta, one princess climbing a little quicker than the other:

Looking out from the kitchen windows I can see both these roses, but also petite Sweet Dreams…

… and Harlow Carr, excelling itself this year in this galvanised tank:

Beyond Harlow Carr you can just see Rural England, which is romping as it has never romped before, including into the apple trees above it

On the pergola to the right of Rural England are half a dozen Danse de Feu, setting the pergola alight as they have done for sixteen (good grief!) years:

All of these glories from the kitchen window, and then from the adjacent back sitting room where the shrub border is clearly visible with Munstead Wood (sitting happily next to Nandina ‘Obsessed’ )…

… The Pilgrim at the end of his pilgrimage…

… and The Poet’s Wife waxing lyrical:

Further down the garden, on the gallery fence Gertrude Jekyll is flowering for the first time and looking every bit as gorgeous as other bloggers suggest she is:

The rose garden itself has been filled with hundreds of blooms, Zéphirin Drouhin and Guinee joined not only by Alfred Carrière on the bus shelter next to it but also now by Blush Noisette on the surrounding fences:

Sadly, many of the first flush of blooms on Madame AC are over as it was a mass of blooms barely a week ago but like its neighbours there are still many many more buds in evidence, whilst deadheading has removed the spent ones (spent blooms accessible from ground level only on the Madame). I tend not to bother deadheading the smaller flowers on Snow Goose, nicely filling out on the wall of the blue & white border and happily intertwining with Trachelospermum asiaticum:

In this rose roundup I now realise I have missed photographing Parkdirektor Riggers against the bold borders wall and rambler Rose-Marie Viaud at the back of the shed, although the latter is not yet in bloom and the former is not yet at its zenith, but perhaps enough is enough?* It is certainly impossible to get away from the effect of roses  at the moment, with their lingering fragrance evident throughout the garden – but who am I to complain, even with the secateurs in hand trying to keep up with the deadheading?

* tough luck! As an earlier afterthought I did remember Pink Perpetué which revels in the long hours of sunshine it gets climbing up at the front of the house, sharing the framework with Clematis ‘Etoile Violette’:

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, roses. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Everything’s Coming Up….

  1. Garden is looking splendid. Loving the gallery.

  2. Wow. Every scene is gorgeous.

  3. Your roses are enough to make my heart go pitty patter. I wish I could smell them. You have a great collection of roses.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lisa – when I chose roses for the original rose garden (about 14 years ago perhaps) I knew nothing about them but since I finished work 6 years ago I have added several more and really appreciate the impact they have

  4. Oh my goodness! What a spectacular array of beauty. As Lisa says, I wish I could smell them. Really dazzling.

  5. Ah!!! Inhale deeply!!! I know “Rambling Rector” – both the flora and the human variety 😉

  6. Your roses are glorious! I wish I had a fraction of your success in growing them. ‘Rambling Rector’ is a star.

  7. shobhna says:

    Such a gorgeous display of the roses.

  8. Christina says:

    You make me wish that I could grow more roses successfully here but they hate my light free draining soil. I especially love the roses that grow up into the trees.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, but you know what grows best in your conditions – and at least you have that huge rose you have sometimes shown in photos – is that your ownly one? I can’t remember. It is the first time Rural England has made it into the apple trees but what you see with the Rector is all Rector and no tree!

      • Christina says:

        I have a mutabilis hedge and another Chinese rose Old Blush that does well. Clair Matin does well but English roses especially struggle with the soil although in general they grow well in Italy. They like the heat to harden their wood.

  9. sultanabun says:

    Oh My!
    Your roses are completely wondrous. I aspire to a garden like yours .

  10. johnvic8 says:

    What wonderful color. The loving labor you have put in is bearing magical fruit.

  11. Heyjude says:

    Your garden looks and most likely, smells, glorious at the moment. What a beautiful space you have created.

  12. LisaDay says:

    Glorious. It must smell wonderful in your world.

  13. Cathy Wonderful roses everywhere. I would love to smell them all. I am impressed by the Rosa Rambling Rector who is 20 years old and looks beautiful. I like roses that climb. Cathy has a special hand with roses. Greetings from Margarita.

  14. Alison C says:

    What an abundance they look fabulous. Does it take ages to get round the garden as you stop to smell? Unfortunately the wind and rain have battered mine down today and Harlow Carr is on the ground and the grass is sprinkled with petals. 😦 I know they’ll come back but I wish I’d picked some yesterday.

    • Cathy says:

      It has been pretty breezy here tonight so I am expecting a lot of petals on the ground in the morning – although I have just deadheaded all of the roses so perhaps the fresher blooms are more secure. My first ramble is almost always straight after breakfast with my after breakfast cup of coffee but yes, I always get distracted on the way round and sucked into tweaking or trimming so a 10 minute ramble turns into half an hour – and a cold cup of coffee because I forget to drink it! The Golfer is waiting till the day before our open days before he sweeps the paths again!

  15. rusty duck says:

    Gorgeous. Even in today’s dreadful rain the roses have been pumping out their perfume. It really is a splendid month.

    • Cathy says:

      It’s the abundance of blooms that amazes me, Jessica – easily 100 or more on The Poet’s Wife for example, so even though there are lots open now there will be plenty more for the open days

  16. Anna says:

    A fabulous show Cathy which must delight both the eye and nose. I like the ‘Munstead Wood’ and Nandina ‘Obsessed’ combination.

  17. Brian Skeys says:

    They all look wonderful and full of promise Cathy. Today’s weather is the last thing we and the roses need at the moment.

  18. Cathy says:

    They are all so wonderful Cathy and, as always, I am struck by what a lovely structure your garden has. I haven’t posted about the roses this year, for fear of boring people. But your post is just lovely and has made me realise that us garden bloggers need to celebrate them while they are there. BTW – did you mean that you have half a dozen plants of ‘Danse de Feu’ – that’s amazing!!!

  19. Chloris says:

    Gorgeous Cathy. I really thing the rose are the best ever this year. Or they were until yesterday’s storm ripped off all their petals. Did you get much damage? Many of my poor delphiniums are flattened even thought they were staked.

  20. Barbara says:

    What a stunning garden you have.

Something to say after reading this?

