Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: an April Feast

April continues to bring floral surprises on an almost daily basis, so this month’s GBBD is inevitably a veritable feast. I often search my GBBD posts to remind myself when something was blooming as the meme is useful record keeping tool and I am grateful to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for hosting it. Do visit her blog to check out links to other blogs and see what is blooming in mid April in other parts of the world.

The most recent surprise here is the lovely erythronium above, E Pagoda, which has reappeared for the third year, increasing my confidence of it being a permanent feature. Having planted about 100 tulips in the shrub border in the autumn it is too soon to say whether they will return annually, but many of them are Darwin tulips which supposedly are more reliable than some; I hadn’t, however, realised that Darwin tulips are very much larger than most of the other varieties I have, almost OTT, but perhaps I will get used to them. Although labelled, winter mulching seems to have temporarily covered many of the labels, but in the border are Burgundy, China Pink, Design Impression, Hakuun, Huis ten Bosch, Ollioules and Sake so the following pictures include some of those:

There is no doubt about the stickability of species tulips and existing clumps like this one of  ‘Little Beauty’ get bigger and better every year. I now share a bulb order withe two friends and one of them is enjoying Little Beauty for the first time this year and is totally enamoured with her.

Elsewhere, more tulips than usual seem to have hung around for another year, perhaps benefitting from the deeper planting I have tried to give them. I am going to replant all this year’s pot grown tulips in the borders rather than have lots of pots hanging round just in case the tulips regrow. This grouping is in one of the bold borders:

Other than bulbs, Dicentra (Lamprocapnos) is always one of the herbaceous plants to emerge and flower in spring, and this one is certainly full of the joys, weighed down with hundreds of little hearts, seemingly dripping of its stems like wet washing:

Brunnera ‘Jack Frost’ is similarly reliable, quickly making a little leafy clump again in the blue & white borders:

I have been growing Cool Wave violas from seed for the last 3 years or so, purple for baskets at the front of the house, white for the green & white snowdrop border, and violet ‘Frost’ (below) for pots on the paved area in full view of the kitchen windows. They are so easy to grow from seed and the germination rate is invariably 100%, so I highly recommend them. These have double early Tulip ‘Aveyron’ to follow, although not so early when compared with other tulips coming into flower already.

Rhododendron ‘Cheer’ is in full sugar pink frothy bloom in the woodland now, but for the first time is joined in the woodland edge border by a large unknown but also pink and frothy rhododendron which must have been languishing for perhaps 10 years or more without much activity. Why it is suddenly flowering now I cannot imagine, but am not complaining.

The blossom on crab apple ‘Evereste’ is now joined by that of ‘Golden Hornet’ and ‘Royalty’ but the gorgeous pink blossom on the old apple trees is going to look as impressive as ever, particularly against a blue sky like that we saw more than expected of today:

Last but by no means least, do I need an excuse to show the most floriferous April blooms again? TOUGH, because here is the clematis colonnade again…

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: an April Feast

  1. rickii says:

    I have stopped posting for Bloomday because it was beginning to feel repetitious but you make a good point about using it as a reference tool. Also, it’s maybe selfish, as I sure do enjoy seeing your lovely blooms.

  2. johnvic8 says:

    Oh what a happy garden you have.

  3. Oh, the tulips!!! Just getting them to survive to bloom stage would be a major challenge here but having them return year-after-year is more than I can conceive. Happy GBBD, Cathy!

  4. I would be showing off those clematis too if mine were blooming like this. They are gorgeous. Love your tulips too. They scream spring. Happy GBBD…and Happy Easter.

  5. Heyjude says:

    I love visiting your garden and this month is a veritable feast. I went overboard with tulips last autumn, but reaping the benefits now. Most are in pots, so do you suggest digging them deeply into the borders once they have finished flowering? Or do I wait until the leaves die down too?

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thanks Jude – it is of course hard to look at our own gardens objectively, but I do sometimes try and ramble as if I have never been here before as it can spring surprises, both good and not so good and it’s especially useful in planning for the open garden. I am no expert with the tulips, but I find it easier to deal with spent bulbs straight away – I am unlikely to remember to water or feed them after the flowers have finished if the stay in a pot, so they get a better chance in the borders. Keeps the garden looking tidier too!

  6. ahiggins2013 says:

    I am so glad to have found your beautiful blog! Cathy of Garden Dreaming at Chatillon led me to it. My blog has more poetry on it than gardening, but I did post the last entry on a courtyard garden I am working on. https://annesbirdpoems.wordpress.com

  7. Brian Skeys says:

    I am envious of your E. Pagoda, the slugs hammer mine each year. I intend to dig it up and keep in a pot with the hostas.

    • Cathy says:

      It does surprise me that it keeps coming back Brian – although I have had others in the past that didn’t. There were quite a few stems this time so it must be building up its reserves underground which will help.

  8. Chloris says:

    I like Darwins and not only do they stick around but they spread. Little Beauty is gorgeous, I’ ll look out for that one. Such pretty violas and oh my, your clematis colonnade is stunning.

Something to say after reading this?

