Home Delights

For most of us who consider ourselves gardeners, coming home after a break away is highly anticipated, with a ramble round the garden a priority after the usual urgent loo visit and perhaps putting the kettle on. Daylight was just about hanging on when we returned on Friday, but I was just about able to see that things in the  greenhouse were still OK but now ready for a watering after what was a hot day; elsewhere I could make out the general lushness of the garden but with no real detail, so it was a daylight ramble the next morning that really brought me up to date. Naturally I was champing at the bit to get on with all the necessary garden tasks but the coincidental timing of a visit by Elder Daughter and the Poppet meant that patience was needed whilst those tasks were largely deferred.

Weatherwise it has been a hot and sunny few days in much of the UK and this has worked closely with early April’s natural spring resurgence to boost growth, most borders filling up with fresh green foliage and quickly camouflaging the bareness of the brown earth that has predominated over the winter months. Have I really got room for all those plants I am growing from seed, I wonder?

It would be hard to say what has brought me most pleasure on these post-holiday rambles: my greenhouses full of healthy seedlings of course, all those trays of hardy annuals ready to be planted out as soon as I get the chance and, excitingly, the first (out-of-focus) bud on the Winter Sunshine sweet peas:

The alpina clematis are in their element on the colonnade and looking glorious:

The wood anemones in the woodland now form a deep pile carpet but with a splash of blue from the first bluebells, strays from the other side of the path through the woodland:

It was a good decision to supplement the Anemone blanda last autumn as the blue ones have been an absolute delight on the fringes of the blue & white border. On the ground is blossom from the amelanchier above, something I sadly managed to miss seeing on the tree this year along with the lovely coppery new foliage which has now turned green.

Blossom is apparent on many of the fruit trees and it is good to see that crab apple Malus ‘Evereste’ has settled in and is well on the way to becoming a creditable replacement for the magnolia that previously occupied the same approximate space (in the background, the Golfer is replacing the guttering around the sitooterie):

Noticeable because it is in our faces each time we open the front door, foliage on climbing rose ‘Pink Perpetué’ is bright and green and so far unblemished by black spot (although I did notice a few aphids as I took the picture), whilst strands of Clematis ‘Étoile Violette’ are once again clambering happily through it:

Finally, I am thrilled that the seemingly dormant mason bee cocoons are gradually coming to life and at least four now show evidence of bees having hatched and flown off to do their own thing  – most exciting, and I am sure they will enjoy the blossom in the garden as much I do!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, mason bees, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Home Delights

  1. plot34 says:

    Great photos, thanks for sharing. Good luck to the bee hatchlings.

  2. J > Apple blossom – how I love it! As a child, both parents were teachers so we had very long holidays, exploring UK in a camper van. When we got home we wouldn’t go into the house first : no, it was the garden that had to be explored to see what changes there’d been whilst we’d been away – and to see whether the earliest apples were ready for eating! (So many fruit trees – it was more of an orchard than a garden!).

  3. Heyjude says:

    It’s looking good. Your clematis is gorgeous! And I am the same – first thing I go to look at is the garden when I have been away. And I am always annoyed to miss something flowering.

    • Cathy says:

      I often miss the amelachier because of the position it is in – behind the wall in the stone circle of the blue & white borders, and it is often walking under it and seeing the fallen petals that alerts me!

  4. Isn’t it fun to come home after vacation to see what happened while you were gone. During Spring so much happens so fast.

  5. i always hit the “loo” and then visit the garden. The kettle or the cocktail shaker has to wait until I’ve finished my exploration. Always a thrill to see one’s one garden after time away. You are a good month ahead of me in blooming plants and trees.

  6. rickii says:

    The garden always manages to organize a proper homecoming.

  7. Pauline says:

    So exciting coming home after a holiday, I think we are all the same, straight out into the garden to see what has been happening in our absence!

  8. There’s nothing like your own much loved and beautiful garden to come to, is there?

  9. Your garden is so pretty and so English. Fabulous photos. I am lying in bed with a cold and can’t get into my garden, so thank you for a peak into yours.

  10. Annette says:

    Catching up – your garden looks so good, Cathy, you must be pleased. The windflowers are adorable. The clematis look fab, my Pamela is also putting on a great show this spring.

  11. Looks like your arrival home was perfectly planned! What pleasures to enjoy…

  12. Cathy says:

    What a treat, Cathy! Appleblossom & the Clematis alpina! I need to go away more to appreciate, I think. Enjoy your week at home!

    • Cathy says:

      It was indeed, and although a daily ramble or two around the garden invariably yields surprises returning from a break means they are concentrated into just one ramble! 🙂

  13. Home delights indeed. Everything looks ravishing at this time of year after the brown months of Winter. Those mason bees are fascinating. Have I missed a post about where they came from?

  14. Read it Cathy. Keep us posted

  15. Chloris says:

    Lovely plants to come home to. For me, coming home and looking at the garden is the best part of going away.

Something to say after reading this?

