Meeting Bloggers: Cheery Thoughts

Rhododendrons do not appeal to everyone as I have discovered since writing this blog, but the small number I have suit their locations well and provide me with a degree of pleasure at certain times of year, particularly Rhododendron ‘Cheer’  which is shown above. Like Clematis cirrhosa ‘Freckles’ and ‘Jingle Bells’ it tends to flower as and when it chooses which can be from December onwards, with stray flowers appearing periodically before or after a main flush. It is certainly a very welcome sight if it appears before Christmas, but is nonetheless still perfectly at home amongst the wood anemones and fritillaries in the woodland at the end of March.

Last week I asked if any bloggers would like an informal gathering in London at the beginning of Chelsea week and have had a few expressions of interest and a few apologies for potential absence. To finer tune a this possible get-together, I am proposing Monday 22nd May and would like an idea of where any takers would like to meet. I had wondered about trying to arrange a group visit to an NGS garden but trying to find one that would open for an unidentified number of us on that particular day might be like looking for the proverbial needle in a haystack. The National Garden Museum has not yet re-opened (but might it be before May?) and there is also the option of Kew Gardens. Any other suggestions or preferences would be welcomed, along with any definite/maybe notifications.

This entry was posted in garden blogs, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Meeting Bloggers: Cheery Thoughts

  1. Sam says:

    I’d love to meet up, Cathy, but that week might be tricky for me. We’re hoping to go to Chelsea on the Friday and I can’t really do two days in London in one week! Keep us posted and I’ll try to come along (or maybe we could have another meet up later in the year for those who can’t do May?). It would be great to put faces to names. Sam x

  2. love them -wish i was in the area. (lol)

  3. Kew sounds great, but I’m not sure that the Monday will work for me. Sam has a good idea re a second meeting later in the year.

  4. I like rhododendrons. My Dearly Beloved likes them so much we have planted one here this year. I am sorry to say we have failed to keep one alive beyond a year. Not sure why but despite many failed attempts we are trying another place in the garden. I hope this one takes. We will soon see.
    I wish I could meet up with you all. I will look forward to reading/hearing all about it.

    • Cathy says:

      In recent years I have found they need moisture in summer to flower well the following year, and don’t like a dry position at all. And of course they prefer an acid soil – our soil is pretty neutral, but I usually give them a dollop of ericaceous compost every year. Good luck with your new addition!

  5. rusty duck says:

    I would love to meet up but fear you have set yourself an impossible task with us all scattered far and wide across the country!

    • Cathy says:

      No, not impossible, Jessica – but at least a date and a rough location is something to work on

      • rusty duck says:

        I will struggle to get to London. It’s a horrible place to get to from here.

        • Cathy says:

          Sorry Jessica, I appreciate what you say; this initial suggested meeting was to tie in with anyone making the effort to go to London for Chelsea (I’m not!) but I am happy to co-ordinate other meetings elsewhere too. What locations would be do-able for you, to give us an idea for the future?

  6. johnvic8 says:

    I would love to be there and meet all the great UK bloggers, but alas, I’m out of frequent flyer miles. Maybe next year. Thanks for the invitation.

  7. Anna says:

    The National Garden Museum re-opens on 29th April Cathy. Can recommend the cake although it was a few years ago when I visited.There’s also the Chelsea Physic Garden.

  8. londoncottagegarden says:

    I volunteer at CPG and am thinking that as Monday at Chelsea is not a public day it wouldn’t be too busy, and I would go there and make sure we had a table in the cafe. I would also like to offer my home here in Highgate, a few yards from the tube station. Priory Gardens.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh, thanks for the info and your kind offer – I will get back to you, although it’s looking as if it is not good a time for most people after all.

  9. londoncottagegarden says:

    P.s. Meeting here at my home would be more peaceful, we could have lunch in the garden and would be flexible for people to come and go when they could make it. Would be lovely to host other bloggers.

  10. londoncottagegarden says:

    Well whenever we do have a meeting let’s have here in Highgate if you’d like to.

Something to say after reading this?

