Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day: March Flypast

We are all but half way through March already, and as the days fly past they drag the garden (willingly, I trust) towards a full-blown spring. Every day there are new blooms to discover, or new shoots of green appearing, and the seedlings in the greenhouse grow stronger and bigger every day with the increased warmth and light. Although this is how it is almost every spring, certainly in the UK, it does not stop those of us who love our gardens being filled with awe and wonder as spring unfurls each and every year. Snowdrops are all but over, hellebores are at their peak and it is another glorious day here today, as the sky in one of the following photographs suggests. March blooms are too numerous to mention individually, so please enjoy the slideshow of highlights if it works for you, which sadly it does not seem to do for everyone.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to Carol of May Dreams Gardens who hosts this monthly meme.

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day: March Flypast

  1. Cant wait to get started -still cool here but i love snowdrops

  2. Lea says:

    I enjoyed the slide show. Beautiful! beautiful!
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!

  3. Cathy says:

    Love the slideshow – the pink hellebores are gorgeous, and all those narcissi too! 🙂

  4. I love those double blooming hellebores. When I see the primroses I always wish I could grow them. They are the most cheerful bloom for spring. Happy GBBD.

  5. What a lovely slideshow! All of your hellebores are lovely 🙂

  6. We got over 62 cm of snow yesterday, and it’s blowing all around today, so your outdoor blooms warmed my soul. Eventually, spring will arrive here. Enjoy your lovely weather!

  7. Alison C says:

    It all looks very flowery, such a lot going on.

  8. Kris P says:

    I may have a lot of flowers but I only have 3 hellebore blooms – yours put mine to shame!

  9. Brian Skeys says:

    Your words Cathy, aptly describe March in the garden.

  10. Cathy I love the colour of that Daphne against the pittosporum, great combination. Your fly past is a feast for the eyes

  11. homeslip says:

    The hellebores are really enjoying this cool and frost-free spring. In recent years in my garden the flowers have often been scorched or frozen. I have blue anemone blanda popping up everywhere, including in the lawn. And today at the allotment I was amazed to see a pink anemone coronaria actually flowering in the grass path. I do love a do-er.

  12. Pauline says:

    Enjoyed your slide show, your hellebores are wonderful and the primulas add such a bright slash of colour. What a wonderful time of year it is at the moment with so much colour to enjoy in the garden!

  13. Christina says:

    I’m not sure why, but I’m enjoying spring this year more than ever before. All your plants are looking wonderfully floriferous.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – and I wonder if it’s because we are even more involved in our gardens than previously, putting more of ourselves in them as each year goes by…

  14. Cecilia says:

    Just reminds me how much I wait for summer!

Something to say after reading this?

