Too Busy to Blog?

I am well aware that posts have been appearing less frequently on this blog recently, which can be put down purely to the weather being more conducive to outdoor gardening jobs. Although indoor seed sowing has continued at great pace, the ‘production line’ that starts with the ‘contraption’ next to the Aga necessitates speedy removal from house to greenhouse as soon as germination takes place, with pricking out of seedlings once the first true leaves appear. Space being at a premium in this bumper sowing month, seeds sown directly into cells are now being nurtured in the back sitting room which, with the French windows, gets more light than the kitchen. With the exciting process of seeds popping up at differing intervals, vigilance is critical!

Having planted out all recent plant acquisitions, when not required for seed monitoring duties, my attention has instead turned to those ‘little jobs’ in the garden which were now a pleasure to do, particularly given the glorious day we had on Thursday when warmth from the sun was distinctly detectable. Along with tidying away spent pots and grubbing out some of the most glaringly obvious weeds, a further tiled edging was added to the back of the bronze heuchera bed to enable membrane and slate chippings to be added which, apart from neatening what currently looks like a scrubby collection of heuchera, will have the added advantage of helping to retain moisture in the bed which has a tendency to dry out as it slopes ever-so-slightly:

Little jobs, however, have a tendency to beget more little jobs, and as the tiles used for the above project had been cut in half I decided to use the remaining halves, with their ‘nibs’, for a decorative feature, replacing the slate chippings in this triangular gap with tiles on edge – which necessitates purchasing more tiles…and so it goes on. So if you don’t hear much from me this coming week, I shall be ‘In the Garden’.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, projects, seed sowing. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Too Busy to Blog?

  1. carolee says:

    The very best place to be….I wish I could join you!

  2. Emma@ Misfit Gardening says:

    Oooh it’s looking good!

  3. Tiz the season to be busy outside. When the weather cooperates you have to take advantage of it. Fun to get a glimpse of what is going on.

  4. G.F. says:

    https://june–2016.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/intro.html

    I am ever so in awe of your diligence and not a little envious of your stamina. And it is lovely to be allowed to follow your garden exploits here.

    • Cathy says:

      Well, when no longer working it is easier to to pop out in the garden as and when, and between other commitments – and of course it is a labour of love, bringing me so much pleasure

  5. Linda B. says:

    Can’t wait to get out in my garden again. Looks like you had a very productive day.

  6. Alison C says:

    Hopefully we will all be too busy to notice your lack of posts! I love to see other people’s seedlings. I am nealy overrun here already. The more I am outside, the more jobs I see which need doing. And again I say what have I been doing all winter?

    • Cathy says:

      I only showed you one side of one greenhouse! This 6 x 4 one is full (and I mean full) of seedlings, whereas the 6 x 8 one is full of bulbs and young plants and potted up dahlia corms – I need to find more space… 😉 It’s reassuring to know that your jobs multiply too once you get outside!

  7. Brian Skeys says:

    The production line looks into full swing, Cathy. It is difficult to find time for anything else when we have such good gardening weather.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh indeed – I am nearly up to date with March sowings now, and just have sunflowers to sow and possibly some 2nd sowings, leaving zinnias till early April. I love it 🙂

  8. rusty duck says:

    Looks like a relatively dry week ahead.. enjoy!

  9. I love how your seeds like mine start to take over ever more space in the house as the month goes on! When do you plant your seedlings outside? I think I always do this a little early and will try and hold off as long as I can this year.

    • Cathy says:

      Like you, mine are moved to the greenhouse as soon as they germinate. I sow mostly in quarter size trays, but prick out into cells which then doubles the space needed and this year I am getting close to bursting point already! Last year, after a mild spring, I did start planting out at the end of April – intuitively, I suppose, although the garden is quite sheltered

Something to say after reading this?

