Flitting Like a Bee

There were two or three gardens a manageable distance away that were open for the NGS today and I originally intended to visit at least a couple of them, but having resisted the call of the garden for all but essential tasks whilst decorating in recent weeks, the lure of a rare ’empty’ day was too great and I stayed at home.

Like a bee on a warm sunny day I found myself ridiculously excited at the prospect of tackling all those early spring tasks, and like a bee collecting pollen I flitted from task to task on a whim, from pricking out…

img_8922…to potting on…

img_8921…to moving autumn sown seedlings (most, but not all, annuals) outside whilst the forecast is largely mild for at least the next week, to give greater space in the greenhouse for newer seedlings …

img_8920…tying up the Winter Sunshine sweet peas, potting up or planting out some 99p Aldi bargains, cleaning out the chicken coop, pruning a forgotten climbing rose and generally creating additional tasks in my mind as fast as I completed the original ones, until I finally managed to tackle a general tidying of the main borders…

img_8923I would need to pick every leaf or stray stem off the borders for them to even begin to look tidy in a photograph, but I personally know I have cut enough dead material to fill a large trug, removed spent annuals, pulled out a few weeds and  removed redundant labels and a few handfuls of those untidy leaves, and that’s what matters. I have not cut penstemons or any surviving salvias back yet, as these are tasks I am not yet confident of the timing of, but overall a good few hours of honest labour have been achieved and I now have the required dirt under my nails again although clearly did not labour hard enough because (as yet) I failed to feel the comforting ache despite tasks well done… 😉

And incidentally I saw my first bee of the year, a buff tailed bumbebee, flitting through the shrub border earlier this week, his legs covered in early spring pollen.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Flitting Like a Bee

  1. It’s great to get back in the garden, isn’t it? It’s been warm here but we hovered just above freezing last night and next weekend looks bad. I’m afraid a lot of early blooms and foliage will be lost, but I guess we have to deal with whatever comes.

  2. Christina says:

    I’ve been tidying the woodland walk beds to today, like you I have left a fair amount of leaves but also removed quite a lot. It is a great feeling to achieve one border at a time; having done the the Left hand border earlier in the week.

  3. jolanda says:

    You are so industrious. You deserve the fortuitous outcome of sticking to your tasks. Are you well on your way to getting ready for your first grand opening this summer?

    I have finally managed to get my pc to allow me into your comment box. I am not too swift computerwise these days.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Jolanda – and I am so sorry you had a problem commenting. If you were able to leave a comment somewhere else other bloggers will always try and help with technical issues like this and make suggestions of how to do it, so please don’t be afraid to ask. As for the opening, I did as much as I could over autumn and winter, potting up divisions and taking cuttings, writing labels and printing photographs and descriptions of plants, plus sorting out things for refreshments, to leave as much time as possible for tasks that can only be done in the weeks immediately preceding it

  4. Doesn’t it feel great to get out and get some spring chores accomplished? Love that feeling of satisfaction. I know your garden appreciates all your attention.A bumble already! Lucky you.

  5. Brian Skeys says:

    I don’t know about flitting like a bee more like busy like a 🐝

  6. So nice to get in the garden after decorating, cathy. I too have resisted cutting back those borderline hardy perennials. Too early I think. How lovely to c the b

    • Cathy says:

      I am really unsure about how best to cut them back anyway, especially the salvia (Neon) as the stems are really woody and yet they are all last season’s growth

  7. Jane Brewer says:

    I love those “flitting about” days, where you gets little things done here, there and everywhere. Very satisfying and meditative.

  8. I would have thought three open gardens in one day would have been quite a task, but seeing what you achieved at home instead, makes it seem like a dawdle! Busy as your bee! 😉

  9. Just noticed that you’re planning your open day this year. I’ll be keeping an eye out. Hope to see you there!

Something to say after reading this?

