Wordless Wednesday: Casting a Spell

spell(for those viewing on a tablet who can’t hover over the picture for details the witch hazels are as follows (clockwise from top left): Hamamelis Jelena, Zuccariniana, Ruby Glow, Amethyst, Harry, Magic Fire, Diane, Orange Peel)

Image | This entry was posted in Gardens, Winter, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Casting a Spell

  1. Wow, you have a nice collection of witch hazels.

  2. Christina says:

    I can see why you are fascinated by them.

    • Cathy says:

      What’s not to like, except that they will grow bigger, albeit very slowly?! They can be pruned to keep them compact though, but mine have some way to go before then

  3. Chloris says:

    Goodness what can I say, my dear Queen of the Witch hazels? Your Hamamelis Heaven is just so beautifully bewitching.

    • Cathy says:

      And most can be seen from the kitchen windows so can be admired frequently. I shall perhaps start an active search for Strawberries and Cream shortly, as I was smitten ever since you first mentioned it – only one lead to go on though, although I might ask the nice man at Bluebell Arboretum if he could source one for me…

  4. Beautiful images, what a fun presentation.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kate – and in the course of creating it I found I could move the images around on the grid (in PicMonkey), which I never knew before but am very glad I do now!

  5. Is Amethyst in the upper left corner? Is Harry the middle right? Thanks!!!

  6. Heyjude says:

    [Breathe in deeply…] are these all yours?

  7. Anna says:

    Magic! I know it’s ‘Wordless Wednesday’ but can we have names please? 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      If you hover over the picture with a mouse Anna it would tell you, but sadly I don’t think that works with a finger on a tablet or smart phone. I will go back and add it below the picture…

      • Anna says:

        Thanks Cathy. The perils of using a tablet but no excuse I should have cottoned on and got out of my chair to use the bigger version. I am particularly taken by ‘Amethyst’ 🙂

  8. Alison C says:

    Such vibrant colours.

  9. Brian Skeys says:

    All you need now is the broom. 😀

  10. They are a magical collection. Are they spread around your garden or close for comparison?

    • Cathy says:

      Harry is down the side of the house, but the others shown are all in streamside are or under the apple trees (see map). There are two more in the woodland edge border but they are not flowering yet

  11. Witch is your favourite Cathy? If you only have one, witch one? Spell worked

  12. Pingback: January Blooms and Thoughts of Compost | Rambling in the Garden

  13. Ian Lumsden says:

    Witch hazels are stunning in close-up and from afar. Delicious blog.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Ian. My ‘collection’ started when I visited a local(ish) garden in 2003 that had a national collection (but has since closed down) and I bought 3 – although I had bought and lost one before then because it was planted in too shady a spot. I have 11 now but feel I have space for just ONE more!

  14. Super cool, Cathy! How great that you grow them all. If I were to grow Harry and Amethyst together, do you think they would look good together? I read your comment above that Amethyst is not too vigorous.

    • Cathy says:

      Too early to say whether Amethyst is vigorous but the flowers are very much smaller than most of the others. Because of the colour of the flowers I wouldn’t choose to have her next to Harry – better to have a complementary orange or coppery one next to him whilst Amethyst would possibly be better on her own

Something to say after reading this?

