End of Year View, the Paved Area

Here we are at the end of another month and even the end of another year – hardly bears thinking about! As in previous years I have changed tack for my EOMV and am posting monthly views of just one part of the garden, this time ‘the paved area’. I have resolutely called this section at the back of the house and immediately in front of the kitchen windows the ‘paved area’ ever since its inception in the summer of 2000. Determined that it was not ‘a patio’, this unimaginative title has stuck but I would rather it was called something less banal – I suppose it is nominally ‘a terrace’ but that is too similar to the concept of a patio and both smack of sitting down and eating or entertaining both of which would be rare occurrences on our (ahem!) paved area. Any suggestions?

2000 was the year that work on the garden really began, albeit in an uncoordinated way, and this was the first hard landscaping that took place, with paths leading to the house and round the back of the old greenhouse which is where the sitooterie now is. The latter was built in 2010 (and a new greenhouse added in a sunnier spot) allowing for a small square of grass in front which is the Tai Chi lawn. Both the pergola on the right with the Danse de Feu roses and the rose arbour with Rambling Rector which creeps into the picture on the left have had at least one rebuild in their lifetimes, but the originals date back to 2000. These are just a few of the many photographs which chart the progress of the garden since we came here in 1996, showing how the paved area came about:

paved-1 paved-2

Little change has happened in the last 12 months though, other than the subtle changes of nature – just the ebb and flow of the pots and the roses and especially the gradual greening of the surroundings as they envelope this part of the garden in a green shroud, a very special transformation that never ceases to fill me with wonder:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to Helen the Patient Gardener for providing a place for us to link our end of month views and do visit her blog to see how other bloggers have been cataloguing the changes in their garden. Thanks also go to all who read my blog on a regular or occasional basis for your interest and support over the months and years – I look forward to you joining me on my rambles in 2017.

This entry was posted in End of Month View, garden structure, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to End of Year View, the Paved Area

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    ‘Patio’ is down to all these Spanish holidays Cathy, we use to have back yards beforehand.
    You will need a spacious patio for all your garden visitors to sit and enjoy their refreshments even if the gardener doesn’t have time to do so!

  2. Helen Johnstone says:

    What about the pot garden? Thanks for being a stalwart supporter of the meme and I look forward to seeing you next year

    • Cathy says:

      Hmm, one to consider, Helen… And I do find the meme useful, as there have been many occasions I have looked back to check something, and I can easily search by month or EOMV

  3. Diana Studer says:

    If it’s not a ‘sit and eat’ then
    a passing thru courtyard?

  4. Kris P says:

    I think your paved area is bigger than either of the 2 areas I refer to as patios. It’s funny how areas get named and funnier still how those names stick – I still have an area I refer to in my planting charts as the front garden’s south lawn, even though the lawn is long gone there (and everywhere else in my garden). Best wishes for a happy new year, Cathy!

    • Cathy says:

      And in the house we have a cupboard we call ‘the cupboard under the stairs that isn’t under the stairs’ and a room we call ‘the dining room that will never be the dining room’. Happy New Year to you too Kris

  5. Heyjude says:

    I would call it a courtyard. I look forward to following the progress of your garden through another year. Happy 2017 Cathy πŸ™‚

  6. I suspect a lot of pottering about goes on in the paved area? And given the containers, you could call it the pottery? – lol

  7. Steve says:

    Hi Cathy, I would call it by a name unique to your garden. We have called a number of areas after the immediate neighbours eg Ivy’s bed or Elsie’s border. I am sure that even if the moved away we will still call it by that name.

    Happy New year

  8. Anna says:

    It’s somewhat magical to watch the slideshow showing the month by month growth Cathy. Are those pelargoniums in the big pots? How about a Millennium related name for your paved area?

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, those are pelargoniums in about their 3rd or 4th year – I too was intrigued to watch them ebbing and flowing over the summer. I think I must have trimmed them before the second and later flush. The plants in the outer two pots were rooted pieces I had pulled off the original plants when I first put them back outside in teh spring, so I was amazed at how much they filled out in the season – perhaps with a bit of TLC they will do even better! πŸ˜‰ Interesting thought about a Millenium name for this area as it made me realise that at the time we were so engrossed in the house renovation/extension and beginning on the garden that the rest of the world more or less passd us by that year – and yet much of the early work in the garden dates from 2000 so the date is clearly imprinted on my mind πŸ˜‰

  9. Annette says:

    a beautiful spot and the slide show is nice to illustrate the change throughout the year, bravo for all the work too

  10. I think with your creative mind you could come up with a name for your Paved Area. Paved Area doesn’t really do it justice. It is so much more than that. I hope something comes to you. if it has always been Paved Area I wouldn’t worry about it though. If something new comes to mind it will surely stick.Happy New Year.

    • Cathy says:

      You are quite right Lisa – it has been the ‘paved area’ for so long but if a spot-on alternative manifests itself I will know immediately that it is right πŸ˜‰

Something to say after reading this?

