Garden Bloggers Bloooms Day: Promises and Apologies

apologies-promisesYesterday passed me by without any awareness that it was the 15th of the month, the day traditionally chosen as GBBD, the meme hosted by Carol of May Dreams Gardens.When I went out with my camera today I was fully expecting any mid-December blooms to be merely apologies like battered and damp half-formed roses and the primroses shown above, or the not-quite-there promises of sarcococca, camellia and winter flowering honeysuckle (and photo shy buds of Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’) as shown below:

aologies-promises2There was Monday vase’s jasmine, of course…

img_8597…and daily inspection of my special snowdrop border (see under The Garden tab above) has shown me that over 20 different varieties are already pushing their green noses up and that Reverend Hailstone and Faringdon Double have blooms are on the point of opening (oh, joy!):

promises-apologies-3

I knew there were tiny spicks and specks of colour on a few of the witch hazels but I was completely unprepared for what I found today

img_8605 img_8609 img_8599SO hard (for me, that is) to photograph successfully because the camera struggles to choose what to focus on, please share my surprise at early blooming Hamamelis ‘Jelena’, ‘Orange Peel’ and ‘Magic Fire’, above. Have they really opened since yesterday, or did I somehow miss them on my frequent rambles? Oh what pleasure they will bring in the next couple of months as they are joined by my other winter flowering treasures, not forgetting my freckly friend either who will never outstay his welcome!

img_8613

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloooms Day: Promises and Apologies

  1. johnvic8 says:

    A day late is all right for your garden…always.

  2. rickii says:

    The intrepid December bloomers are always a startling treat.

  3. bettyl - NZ says:

    How great to have things still working in your garden. Witch hazel fascinates me whenever I see it.

    • Cathy says:

      It is indeed, Bettyl, and I have several plants of winter interest plus all my snowdrops and hellebores so there should be something going on every month

  4. Barbara says:

    Snowdrops, and such wonderful names. I have killed my share of Clematis, so I do envy yours.

    • Cathy says:

      There are so many different named varieties of snowdrops, often named after the person who found them or where they were found or their particular characteristics

  5. What fun having even anything to apologize for. No apology needed. Your garden is never a disappointment. Happy GBBD.

  6. Chloris says:

    I forgot all about GBBD too Cathy. It’s this time of year, so busy, busy, that blogging has to take a back seat. But I share your delight in your blooming witch hazels. I must go and check mine.

  7. Oh how lovely Cathy, I love freckles, marmalade fronds and the promise of snow (drops).

  8. karen says:

    How lovely. I must dash out tomorrow and look to see if mine are flowering. I love scented flowers in the winter. So cheerful. Thanks for sharing .

    • Cathy says:

      What witch hazels do you have? Do let us know if any have started flowering yet. In recent years I too have come to appreciate scented winter flowers

Something to say after reading this?

