In a Vase on Monday: Precious Gems

img_8579Since last Monday I had spotted some new treasures, having been taken by surprise by the flash of yellow of a few sprigs of winter jasmine, Jasminum nudiflorum, and a blush white single bloom of Viburnum tinus, both begging to be included in a Monday vase.

The viburnum was planted in what became the hedge border in the autumn of 2013 following removal of the D****’* P****, along with a white camellia and relocated sarcococca and Hydrangea ‘Annabelle’, but has steadfastly sulked ever since – so to find this lonely bloom was a huge surprise. The sunny jasmine was more obvious, but still a surprise, as the plant was effectively killed off after threatening to dominate the clematis colonnade. Its sinuous stems were retained as part of the ‘Spirit of the Garden’ artwork (the ribbons of which have taken on a greenish tinge and need sprucing up) but its tufted fringe shows that it still clings to life, as do those vibrant sprigs of yellow:

precious-gemComplementing these December gems were other equally welcome but more generous seasonal contributions – Sarcococca humilis, in bud but not quite open yet and with a hint of shiny black berries, and seemingly perpetual flowering Clematis cirrhosa ‘Freckles’, a stem artfully draped around the green ikebana vase in which they were inserted. With its integral metal frog this is the only vase of this sort that I have, but it is ideal for the combination of short stemmed and spiky contents that make up today’s Vase on Monday.

img_8581Accompanying the floral gems were tiny semi-precious gemstones: aqua aura quartz, watermelon tourmaline, apophyllite and a tiny garnet nugget. What gems will you find for your Monday vase today? Please share them with us by leaving the usual links to and from this post.

This entry was posted in art in the garden, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Precious Gems

  1. Pingback: Black {Spot} Monday – The Warwickshire Gardener

  2. Hello Cathy, what a lovely range of colours for this time of year. I love the dainty Viburnum flower. I overlooked a Clematis ‘Freckles’ on my recent bargain-hunt at B&Q and am sorely regretting it now. Definitely one to invest in next year. Here’s my contribution this week: https://warwickshiregardener.wordpress.com/2016/12/12/black-spot-monday/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Eleanor – Freckles may be demure and hang her head (s) down, but she makes up for it by her longevity…I am very fond of her. Hope you find anotherbargain one on due course

  3. I LOVE this – my favourite style of arrangement. Gems indeed.

  4. Cath says:

    What a pretty Viburnum, and Sarcococca, does it have a scent yet? I keep trying to grow it, but it seems to be the slowest growing thing in the places I’ve tried it. One day I hope to have flowers.
    Here’s my vase : https://absentgardener.com/2016/12/12/in-a-vase-on-monday-just-joey-and-bridal-bouquet

  5. I consider anything worthy of a vase this time of year to be precious gems. I always enjoy the various accents you put with your arrangements. So very creative.
    http://greenbowgardens.blogspot.com/2016/12/in-vase-on-monday-outside.html

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Nice one Cathy! I like the shape of this arrangement and the determination of those blooms deserved to be featured. As Cath mentioned above, Sarcococca is teasingly slow. Someone gave me a small one a few years ago that I waiting on to “leap.” As you might imagine, I love your Ikebana vase.
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2016/12/12/in-a-vase-on-monday-december-sugar-rush/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – and I had forgotten how slow Sarcococca was to get going, but that’s what people are saying. When I bought this vase I had no idea what ikebana was and bought it (from eBay) because of the integral frog – must look out for some more

  7. You are so lucky to actually be able to find things in your garden. Mine is buried under a winter snow storm over the weekend. Don’t you just love watermelon tourmaline?! My post is here: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/2016/12/in-a-bowl-on-monday-holiday-decor.html

    • Cathy says:

      Oh I wonder what you have found for your bowl then, Linda, with all that snow?! I love all tourmaline, especially black; I only have tiny pieces of watermelon tourmaline and the colouring is not especially marked, but the better pieces were far more expensive

  8. The Winter Jasmine gives a wonderful flow to the arrangement and adds to the Ikebana feel. Love those crystals! I have a small watermelon tourmaline that is cut. Here is my holiday vase: http://theshrubqueen.com/2016/12/12/in-a-vase-on-monday-bus-redux

  9. Peter Herpst says:

    You are so clever! Blooms this time of year are precious gems and pairing them with some of your gemstone collection is inspired. My contribution this week was seen at a local nursery and not my own creation. http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/12/in-vase-on-monday_12.html

  10. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Angelic | Words and Herbs

  11. Patsi says:

    Oh, this is a keeper ! Very creative thinking produced a really cool arrangement. This is my current post. http://www.pseewald.com/2016/12/in-vase-monday.html

  12. Cathy says:

    The yellow jasmine flowers are real gems Cathy, and that clematis never ceases to amaze me… does anything faze that plant?! As always you have the perfect prop too. 🙂 Here are my somewhat less dazzling gems, but gems nonetheless: https://wordsandherbs.com/2016/12/12/in-a-vase-on-monday-angelic/

  13. A perpetually flowering Clematis is a marvelous thing! I love the ribbons of color you’ve woven through your lattice structures too. Thanks for hosting, Cathy! Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/12/in-vase-on-monday-oops-i-did-it-again.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kris – I am not sure of the best way to rejuvenate ‘The Spirit of the Garden’ as it would be impractical to wash the ribbons in situ and it may be easier just to buy new ones…

  14. Your Jasminum nudiflorum buds and blooms look so much larger than mine, or maybe my idea of the scale of the entire arrangement is off. Either way how lovely that you found floral surprises.

    I’m afraid I’m (once again) trying your patience and pushing the boundaries of what constitutes a IAVOM post, but there’s a great gift idea included! http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/12/in-vase-on-monday-gift-idea-and-some.html

    • Cathy says:

      These are about 1″ from the base of the calyx and about 1″ across. The maximum height of the arrangement is about 13″ from the base of the vase

  15. Pingback: Vase on Monday: love-rocks.org | Wild Daffodil

  16. Phew! I made it – busy day and watching 4 grandchildren in the Xmas School Play – one of the highlights of my year. Yer tiz : https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2016/12/12/vase-on-monday-love-rocks-org/

  17. Ooh, I like the ribbons draped up the skeleton of the jasmine! And I especially love that clematis, so graceful. It trails beautifully. Mine is here: https://edinburghgardendiary.com/2016/12/12/inkpots/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Joanna – I often think the idea was better than the execution, so perhaps replacing the algaed ribbons would give me the opportunity to improve on the original?

  18. johnvic8 says:

    Treasures to find at this time of year are a real blessing. I’ve got to look for ‘Freckles.”
    https://johnsviccellio.com/2016/12/12/in-a-vase-on-monday-frost-free/

  19. Eliza Waters says:

    The jasmine must smell heavenly! Any jasmine I grow must be indoor and they never live very long. A bit late (it is probably already Tues. there), I forgot to post my link: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-1Bz

  20. Blimey, you look ahead of the season. Love the spirit of the garden artwork too.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Allison – I must say I have no idea when a winter jasmine would normally flower as It was never one of my favourite plants (it’s that ‘yellow’ business again!), and this clematis invariably has at least one flower

  21. smallsunnygarden says:

    It’s lovely seeing blooms from your winter shrubs 🙂 not to mention the Clematis! At first glance of those nodding heads I wondered whether you had hellebores already… And I love all those winding stems springing from that low, ikebana vase!
    My vase is a result of wandering around with clippers in hand to see what I could see 😉 http://www.smallsunnygarden.com/2016/12/12/in-a-vase-snippets-of-sunshine/

  22. Alison C says:

    Snap, I have Jasmine too. Your posy looks so pretty arranged like that. It’s amazing what you can find if you look hard and have the imangination. Here is my vase: http://ablogaboutcompost.blogspot.co.uk/2016/12/in-vase-on-monday-winter-green.html

  23. Annette says:

    Precious indeed, Cathy, so pretty! Mind you, I’m all excited because I’ve spotted some humble buds on my Clematis cirrhosa which was planted only this year. 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

