Wordless Wednesday: Most Striking, But Still Don’t Like Them

img_8564

Image | This entry was posted in Gardening, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Most Striking, But Still Don’t Like Them

  1. Alison C says:

    But they smell so sweet!

  2. Cathy says:

    I don’t like that sort either Cathy – the less showy ones that grow wild here (M. aquifolium) are much less offensive, and smell so lovely too when they flower in late winter/early spring. The bees adore them, but the main disadvantage is that they are very prickly!

  3. Christina says:

    Really? I wish I could grow them!

  4. susurrus says:

    I know how you feel but watch out – it’s a slippery slope. I’ve recently fallen for red hot pokers after years of having them as one of the few flowers on my don’t like list. It’s the trendy, small, orangey red hot pokers I like – the big ones still seem a little suspect.

  5. rickii says:

    Kinda looks like a rally squad shaking their pom poms.

  6. Heyjude says:

    I love their scent too and this is a perfect example of a floral display in an urban space which is my theme this month – if you’d like to link to it – https://smallbluegreenflowers.wordpress.com/2016/12/04/garden-photography-urban-spaces/

  7. When I see them grown well in a mass like this, I like them for their structure and citrus scent. My sole ‘specimen’ that came with the garden looks like a gangly teenager ….

  8. Chloris says:

    I love anything that blooms in December, has fragrant flowers and architectural, evergreen leaves. What’ s not to like? Unlike Cathy, I loathe Mahonia aquifolium; a weedy thing that seeds everywhere and is impossible to eradicate. Thank goodness we all like different things, so boring if we all agree on everything.

  9. I agree, but like marmite! I don’t like that either😉

  10. Kalamain says:

    I’ve always liked Mahonia. It’s a standard feature in many council parks as it’s spiky so I acts as a barrier, it attracts bees and pollinators and the berries feed the wildlife and it can handle shade fairly well.

    The only problem is that is throws out suckers faster than anything! B-D

  11. I love them but that is because they don’t grow where I live so I don’t know about their downsides!

  12. Brian Skeys says:

    I like it for its scent , the time of year it flowers and for the bees. One garden I use to help in had one planted too close to the lawn, I use to curse it every time I mowed the lawn. For those who have a straggly one they responded well to hard pruning.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, people insist they respond to hard pruning, but ours which had probably been in the garden for 20 years before we were was in a completely inappropriate place and it was only a matter of time before it came out!

Something to say after reading this?

