Wordless Wednesday: Reached its Peak

img_8496

Image | This entry was posted in fruit, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Reached its Peak

  1. Christina says:

    Fabulous shiny fruit.

  2. karen says:

    One of my favourites. They look like Christmas baubles. So beautiful. I’m designing a garden where the customer is having an avenue of crab apples. Just imagine! x

    • Cathy says:

      A crab apple avenue sounds wonderful – you must be thrilled to be designing a garden that includes that brief 🙂 It took me ages to decide which variety to choose – it was to replace the magnolia which we cut down last year, and I also spent a little more to get a slightly bigger tree. It is still small though, no more than 6 feet or so, and the side branches are still short, but it has been well covered in crab apples

  3. Anna says:

    Such glowing colour. Fingers crossed that the birds resist them for some time to come.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I chose this variety in the end because the fruits were not a solid colour. They are certainly more attractive than Golden Hornet whose apples are now rotting on the tree, as they do 😦

  4. Jackie says:

    Wonderful !

  5. They almost look like marzipan fruits to me. Lovely.

  6. A glowing example! I love crab apples. Do you use them?

    • Cathy says:

      I am so glad I chose this variety, Allison. I am so yearning to use them but it is still a young tree and there are perhaps not enough to make it worthwhile picking any without stripping it – hmm, perhaps I shall weigh one and estimate how many I would need for a single jar of jelly… 😉

  7. smallsunnygarden says:

    Lovely! It must be wonderful to stand under a treeful eventually.

  8. A beautiful picture of these stunning crab apples, I love the colour and blossom too, we have lots still on ours that we planted last autumn, same variety as yours too. Have you kept it as a tree or trained it against a wall?

Something to say after reading this?

