Pièce de Résistance…?

img_8439The weather has not been especially conducive to tasks in the garden this week. Temperatures have remained low, giving our first proper frost on Monday night which immediately put paid to the dahlias; fortunately I had brought the pelargoniums, fuchsias and nerines inside earlier that day. Then today, nearly but not quite thwarting my plans to lift the dahlias, there have been a series of short and very heavy showers; the job was done, however, and seeing bare soil in much of the cutting beds has brought on the urge for some major clearing – weather permitting of course!

img_8435The weather was a little better last weekend, however,  when the peace pole was finally erected in the woodland.

The first ‘peace pole’ I ever came across was the particularly  loquacious example at Waterperry Gardens, but it wasn’t till Sandra included a small version in an IAVOM post in August that I considered creating one in our own garden. The basic concept of the pole is to promote peace by displaying  the message ‘May peace prevail on earth’ in a different language on each face of the pole, usually but not always a four sided one. With a translation into every language under the sun readily available on the internet, there was much dithering before the project could actually start.

My first decision was to shorten the phrase so less lettering would be involved – and in an ideal situation peace would prevail not just on earth but on a personal level in our hearts and minds too. I chose my four languages – you can see English and Latin here – but  I img_8435-001wrestled for quite some time with a decision between the alternatives of carving the text, or painting it. Carving would bring with it the possibility of unrecoverable mistakes (and would take much longer), whilst mistakes in painting could be painted out and this is the option I went for. Having decided that an irregular mix of upper and lower case would look less formal, the letters were spaced and marked out in a very soft pencil  so they could be easily erased after painting. Once painted, it was erected in the woodland where it can be seen from different sides depending on which path was traversed – and all we need now is for that ever-elusive Peace to prevail…

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Pièce de Résistance…?

  1. Beautiful!! May peace prevail. ❤ Perfect timing with Armistice tomorrow.

  2. These have been very popular here in the States too. They are usually painted all different colors. Yours looks great!

  3. rickii says:

    I guess this idea has been around but this is my first exposure to it. It’s a sentiment almost anyone could get behind but at the same time easier said than done.

  4. Barbara says:

    I’ve never seen this before and I love the concept. Wondering how to achieve it at my place. Your’s looks amazing.

  5. johnvic8 says:

    I do wish you peace….

  6. Christina says:

    Peace – yes, that is what I hope for. Peace on earth and of course peace of mind, a lovely concept.

    • Cathy says:

      Indeed Christina – and I need to go back and add that to the post as it is something I feel strongly about and was in my thoughts when I shortened the phrase in the first place

  7. Bill says:

    I love this. I’ve never seen a peace pole before but now I want one.

  8. Steve says:

    Very appropriate with the world intent on putting up walls to cooperation everywhere. Well done.

  9. Chloris says:

    And how timely this is on Armistice day and with the events of last week taking us all closer to the abyss.
    You have had a keen frost, my dahlias are hardly tinged.

    • Cathy says:

      Indeed, Dorris. Temperatures had dipped close to freezing a couple of times in the last week or so, but Monday night went down to -2.6C and that was it, no ifs or buts, gone… 😦

  10. If only it were that simple Cathy. I like your lettering, very neat.

  11. what a lovely idea Cathy, I already have a thick round pole in my garden doing nothing surrounded by heather, hmm think I will have to consider this idea for it, Frances

  12. Pingback: Magic, Serendipity and Remembrance | Wild Daffodil

Something to say after reading this?

