Winding Down?

img_8350

Clearing the greenhouse of tomato plants certainly seemed to herald the start of the garden winding down – the photo does not, however, show the piles of green and not-quite-so green tomatoes laid out on the staging on the other side. In the house, though, there are tomatoes in the freezer and plenty of jars of chutney so the green tomatoes may only make it as far as the compost heap.

Elsewhere in the garden, following on from the ‘plans’drawn up of the main herbaceous beds, I have now roughly sketched out the contents of the other beds in preparation for their general overhaul, removal of dross , rearrangement of the keepers and planning of additions. The more often I pass the bold borders with their  crocosmia the more I am determined they will be out on their ears – or at least into pots until they can reprove their worth. And think of the space they will generate when they vacate their current premises!

Three out of the four main herbaceous beds had a partial overhaul last year and it was the turn of the fourth bed last weekend – everything was removed, the bed roughly dug over and compost added before the worthies were replaced in sensible positions. Hopefully they will repay me next year and enjoy the company of new and more  appropriate bedfellows. In the meantime there is a mixed pile of sweepings to deal with – broken stems, tired annuals and far too many defunct plant labels!

Unlike Edinburgh where we currently are for a few days and where I have happily been scuffing my way through piles of dry leaves, leaf sweeping at home has not yet become the demanding task it will undoubtedly be in a few weeks time – so perhaps the garden is not ready to wind down after all… the dahlias and the cosmos in the cutting beds certainly don’t think so:

This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Winding Down?

  1. Christina says:

    I’m glad you think you have a few more weeks of life from the Dahlias and Cosmos. Mine seem to be having a renewed surge of flowering. I cannot begin to tell you how much rain we’ve had!

    • Cathy says:

      Still very little rain here – only 27mm in the last month according to our amateur weather monitor. Plenty of buds on rhe dahlias but of course there could be a frost at any time and there have been a few nights down to 4C recently

  2. Pauline says:

    The leaves are all coming down here in drifts and will soon need sweeping up. But then, other plants are looking quite springlike. The garden as a whole, has a very golden look, I’m sure it won’t be long before all these leaves join the others. Your dahlias are looking as though they could carry on for quite sometime, frost permitting!

  3. sultanabun says:

    I keep forgetting…must grow cosmos!

  4. rusty duck says:

    I love having a good border clear out at this time of year. Makes me think I can sit back now in the knowledge that it will all come up looking brilliant next year, with everything in the right place. I hope..

  5. rickii says:

    I like to saute minced green tomatoes and onions to put in scrambled eggs. You might like to try it before relegating them to the compost bin. We’re close to breaking the record for rain in October but today was glorious. I got a lot of planting done and, like you, looked around with an eye toward next year.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for the sauteed green tomato suggestion – I have to confess that I have never actually cooked green tomatoes in any way, not yet anyway…

  6. Steve says:

    This is an odd year. I would love to clear out the borders in preparation for spring bulbs. There are still far to many blooms to even think about it. So the main job has been sorting out some of the climbing roses. My hand are testimony to it!

  7. I feel better knowing that I’m not the only one that digs up plant labels, it’s like a safety blanket for me knowing I have backup incase I forget what I planted and accidentally dig it up! I’d love to have a cutting bed one day, seeing yours makes me want one even more.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh but mine are not accidentally dug up – sadly they are labels for plants that no longer exist! 😉 Having decided you want a cutting bed it will hover in your mind till the time is right or until you suddenly realise where you could put one – it doesn’t have to be large, and of course can be out of the way of the rest of the garden. One day…!

Something to say after reading this?

