Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Bloomin’ Dahlias and the Rest

bloomingdahlias‘Bedding dahlias’ grown from seed have supplemented those grown from tubers and together they dominate the October garden; these supposedly annual dahlias were an absolute cinch to grow and now having formed tubers can and will be lifted and retained for another year, some for my own borders and some for the open day, and other mixes to grow from seed will be sought. The white one with the flush of pink in the bottom left corner is the prettiest to emerge from the mixes I grew this year, which tend to be dominated by yellows and oranges.

Dahlias are not the only things blooming on GBBD this month, the meme hosted by Carol of May Dreams Gardens, and the selection shown in the slideshow below is not comprehensive as there are still odd blooms on other roses and clematis and a range of other plants too, enjoying the autumn sunshine and cocking a snook at the shorter days and cooler temperatures, as I am too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, cutting beds, Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Bloomin’ Dahlias and the Rest

  1. We have one dahlia given to me by a co worker, now long deceased – we dig it up every fall and I feel like I’m honoring her memory by keeping it going. We got seedlings of three others – thank you for the tip that we may want to look for tubers. Happy GBBD!

    • Cathy says:

      It”s lovely to have a plant to nurture that reminds us of someone, isn’t it? I must remember to label the colours of the seed grown dahlias before it us too late!

  2. Kris P says:

    I LOVE that ‘Crown Princess Margarita’ rose! Your dahlias seem to be a little like my Eustoma grandiflorum – they’re the plants that keep on giving. Happy GBBD!

    • Cathy says:

      CPM was new to me last autumn so still not at her (their, as there are two of them to go over an arch) best, but yes, such full blooms. They are actually more apricot than the photo suggests too

  3. Linnae says:

    You do have a lot still in bloom! I have decided I need to grow some dahlias in pots first–go easy on myself with the “bringing them in” bit that way. Then I may move on to planting them in the garden and digging them up in the fall. Perhaps. I think the real problem is I’m just lazy, and the thought of digging out a whole bunch of tubers every fall doesn’t appeal to me at all. Anyway, yours are lovely! 🙂
    Happy Bloom Day!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Linnae – I used to think that about dahlias too but in fact it isn’t too much of a faff. Next year I shall grow some of them in pots rather than trying to squeeze them into the borders ☺

  4. Dahlias are slowly but surely growing on me for their late autumn colour, I like the look of the peachy orange one with the bronze foliage. Do you know what it might be?

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, took a long time for me to appreciate them but I certainly do now – and I realise there isn’t really any mystery to growing them! Those two dahlias on the middle row are both seedlings from a Bishop’Children mix, now in their third year. The paler one was pink the first year and the other starts as scarlet but fades to a similar peachy colour. I love the dark foliage too

  5. Cathy says:

    Especially love the Salvia/Crocosmia combination!

  6. Steve says:

    Great you have also found the delight of ‘Crown Princess Margarita’. This has to be one of the best David Austin roses. Mine is planted next to Delphinium ‘Black Knight’ which is a complementary colour and looks fantastic together.

    • Cathy says:

      Sounds a lovely combination – mine (there is a pair, planted to form an arch) could not take anything large next to them but they have the advantage of being directly outside the kitchen windows and thus readily visible

  7. I enjoy your bloom presentation. Happy GBBD.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lisa – I used to think a slideshow was a bit of a lazy way to do it, but now realise how much sense it makes as you can fairly quickly load a lot of pictures

  8. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Your Dahlia are great, I should ask for a piece of advice on how to grow them in my garden, too!

    • Cathy says:

      Start them off as tubers in pots in the spring and plant them out once you be sure of the last frost – then watch out for slugs! You would probably need to lift them in the winter and let them dry out. Or grow them seed – even the larger varieties should flower in the first year

  9. Your Dahlias are so beautiful! I have always admired them, especially in some of the botanical gardens I have visited, and have been wanting to grow them…well, maybe next year! Happy Bloom Day!

  10. annamadeit says:

    Oh – I SO wish I had room for Dahlias… They are gorgeous!

  11. Pauline says:

    Your dahlias are lovely, I especially like the single ones as they are so wildlife friendly!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – and I am pleased to have discovered the ‘bedding’ dahlias which were so easy to grow from seed and which I will grow more of next year for my borders

  12. bettyl - NZ says:

    These are really great colors. Mine are just starting to break through the ground and I am anxious to see them. Some of them started as tubers and some started as seeds and I replanted the tubers. I am so excited to see what comes up 🙂

  13. rusty duck says:

    For some reason it had never occurred to me that ‘annual’ dahlias could be grown on. The plants bought as tubers are so unpredictable (i.e. expensive) here, not just the winter wet but their role as slug fodder as well, raising them from seed may be the only realistic way to get them in any numbers.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh do give them a try Jessica – even the B.Children flowered their first year, albeit not brilliantly, but these ‘bedding’ ones have flowered prolifically since the end of June. I have only seen mixed seed so far, but will look around more widely this winter for other options. Germination was really good too ps bloomin slugs!

  14. Loved the Dahlia show and the slide show. I tried to grow the Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ for years and never understood its appeal – til I saw yours!

  15. Your slide show is wonderful and inspiring, your collection of roses are stunning, which has the best fragrance? I’m not a seed sower but you have fired me up to give it a try! Where do you buy the seeds from and what would you recommend for a beginner? Thanks ☺️

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you 😊 My newest favourite is the Poet’s Wife which has a sweet citrus fragrance but Munstead Wood is another deep rich smell. It may not be too late to direct sow some hardy annuals even now, like cornflowers otherwise leave it till early spring if you don’t have a greenhouse. Most annuals are pretty easy to grow from seed so just go with what you fancy and enjoy the voyage of discovery. Most of my seed comes from eBay but It’s good to browse lots of catalogues to see what is available. The garden blogging community is really helpful so do ask if there is anything you want to know more about

Something to say after reading this?

