End of Month View: If Only…

img_8246… every border was as floriferous at the end of September, or any other month for that matter, as these two cutting beds! Sadly, this is not the case and of course never will be so perhaps I can be forgiven for drooling over their current bounteousness, courtesy of dahlias, cosmos, antirrhinum and rudbeckia, all absolute ‘musts’ for next year. I am now sufficiently confident of cosmos and dahlias, including the ‘bedding’ dahlias I have grown from seed (which I will try retaining for another year, lifting them with the others), but am also thrilled with the performance of Rudbeckia ‘Irish Eyes’ and Antirrhinum ‘Admiral’s Purple’ both of which have flowered non-stop for months. The prominent dahlias seen here are ‘Twyning’s After Eight’ and a red 3rd year seedling from Bishop’s Children, but they are only two of seven of the larger dahlias in these beds.

I took photographs for this post yesterday but have not had time to write an EOMV post until today, a day of nonstop rain and the first completely rainy day for months…seriously. It has not been heavy, just persistent, but we are forecast a dry day tomorrow and generally a dry week, I believe, and it is certainly much cooler, with overnight temperatures in the greenhouses are regularly dropping to single figures – but hopefully frost is still a distant prospect although it has recently been mentioned for some more remote parts of the UK.

Taking stock is now a regular part of my rambles – what to move, remove or take in hand. Three of the main borders had an overhaul last autumn, with plants being temporarily removed, detritus cleared and labels checked before garden-worthy specimens were put back along with a barrowful or two of homemade compost. It will be the turn of the fourth main bed and the three bold borders, the latter in particular needing a big reassessment. I have all but decided to remove the crocosmia from the latter beds as it has consistently underperformed, and underperforming crocosmia is unattractive and a waste of space. I split the clumps a season or two ago but they have not improved so I may now split them again and put them in pots so they can be removed on a whim if they still sulk. I also intend to look at these borders as a whole and actually ‘plan’ some worthwhile additions for next year, rather than continue with the general hotch-potch that they and my other borders have become.

Meanwhile, have a look at the slideshow below to see how the rest of the garden is fairing at this turning point in the year, and do have a look at Helen The Patient Gardener’s blog where you fill find links to other gardens at the end of September. Thank you to Helen for hosting this meme.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in cutting beds, End of Month View, garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to End of Month View: If Only…

  1. karen says:

    Your cutting border is looking very colourful. I must try that dahlia After Eight. I’ve seen it mentioned several times now as a good do-er. What a great idea to do a slide show. I must work harder to improve my woodland edge planting. An area I’ve so far neglected somewhat. Thanks for sharing your photos.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Karen, I am really pleased with them this year and am constantly learning what is or isn’t worth growing in them. The good thing about the woodland edge is that it needs so little attention – just trimming back anything that overhangs the path, occasional chopping back of G phaeums and then cutting The Dragon down in winter

  2. Christina says:

    I’ll come back when the October is on as I can’t see the slide show on my phone. Your assessment of the flowers in the cut flower beds is useful.

  3. Patsi says:

    So full of colorful plants and flowers and lush. I have to admit the hardscape enhances everything.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Patsi – the paths and walls have all been added at different times so there was no overall ‘hardscape’ planning, but I have to say I do like it too and the paths make it so easy to get round in all weathers

  4. smallsunnygarden says:

    That is quite a show for end of season! I think the same could be said for the snowdrop border, looking so lush for an off-season spring border 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you – overall things are lusher than most end of seasons, or so it feels. Most of these summer plants in the snowdrop border will die back or are annuals anyway but I will need to check things haven’t encroached into the lattice pots the snowdrops are in

  5. Pauline says:

    Your garden is looking so green, not the least bit autumnal! Your cutting bed is a delight, I’m assuming it will carry on until the first frosts?

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – there is definitely more going on than most end-of-Septembers I think, but the cutting beds have been a real success, again even more so than previously. They should keep blooming till the frosts, which sadly it was quite close to being last night with temps down to 4C 😦

  6. Chloris says:

    I did enjoy your slideshow. I think that all the sun of this wonderful summer has made the flowers go on and on. Your cutting beds are indeed a treat. I saw Twynings After Eight in a friend’s garden recently. It is never dug up and has been there for years. It is huge and looks spectacular. It’s certainly on my list for next year.

    • Cathy says:

      Thnaks Chloris. Interestingly though, although I had tomatoes in August which I rarely do the bulk of them have been really slow to ripen, despite the sun. I was especially pleased with TA8 because it was a fairly dry tuber from a garden centre and not from a reliable source like Peter Nyssen – I had seen it in a garden too and sought it out. Not sure I want to risk leaving it in the ground though…

  7. Great cutting material indeed. It is a good time to review and assess what needs to be moved. Sulking crocosmia had better buck their ideas up or they’ll be on the compost bin

Something to say after reading this?

