In a Vase on Monday: Nice With Rice

img_8210With such a big bunch of blooms today I thought it might be a struggle to find a suitable vase for them, but this vintage pottery Kleen Ware canister from the 1950s fitted the bill perfectly, and was accompanied by other contemporary kitchenalia in a similar colour.

Shunning the brightest blooms, there was more than enough material in a range of pink shades, mostly from the cutting beds. The starting point were 3 stems each of Dahlias ‘Karma Fuchsiniana’ and ‘Karma Naomi’, with my two solitary flowering stems of zinnia – one from ‘Sprite Mixed’ and the other ‘Luminosa’. Perhaps now these are plucked the buds on the side shoots will get a move on and provide more of these blooms that lots of bloggers are raving about this summer! Mind you, I can rave about Antirrhinum ‘Admiral’s Purple’ and Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’ instead which have been flowering for nearly 3 months. Cosmos ‘Purity’ was later to begin flowering but this is my best year so far for cosmos and I am well pleased with them all, other than ‘Xanthos’ (not used today) which flowered well but was an insipid colour and will not be grown again.

img_8212What else was included? Amaranthus caudatus in both red and ‘green’ versions, the latter slightly stunted this year, Aster ‘Milady’, a pink grown-from-seed Dahlia ‘Figaro’ and  Ammi visnaga, the latter also slightly stunted and barely used in vases because the stems are so short. Not from the cutting beds were flowering stems of Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ and a stem of a fuchsia from one of the big pots on the paved area, plucked on impulse on the way back to the house with my booty.

I don’t often have such a bountiful vase and am therefore appreciating the denseness of colour in this one. Not that a vase (or other receptacle) has to be crammed this full to bring pleasure, so why don’t you join us in picking either a few stems or a big bunch of material from your garden or forage them locally and pop them into a vase to bring you pleasure during the week? Even a solitary stem would be acceptable. If you post a picture on your blog and provide links to and from this post we can all share in that pleasure too – see you soon!

img_8213

This entry was posted in cutting beds, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Nice With Rice

  1. Christina says:

    Why do you think your plants are small this year, is it because it has been so cold? Btw, do your Ami visnaga have a slightly strange smell? I’m not sure if I dislike it enough not to grow them next year. The colurs are rich in your vase today and your colour palette is very similar to mine today. Here’s my link. https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-shades-of-pink-take-the-stage/ Thanks for hosting.

    • Cathy says:

      Not been cold here though! I wondered if it was old seed as it was from the same packet as last year, possibly even the year before 😉 It definitely grew well when it was fresh so I shall continue next year but with new seed! Same with the green anaranthus. Not at home at the moment but will smell the Ammi when I get back – cant’t say I have noticed before…

  2. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Shades of Pink take the stage – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  3. Chloris says:

    More lovely blooms from your cutting garden. What a cornucopia it is turning out to be.Beautiful!

  4. Cath says:

    Gorgeous rice jar, and I love those Karma Dahlias. I have found a couple here but not Naomi yet.
    Here is my vase: https://absentgardener.com/2016/09/19/scent-in-a-vase-on-monday

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cath; Peter Nyssen where I get all my bulbs from has several. Are they unable to supple to NZ? My favourite and the first to bloom last year, Serena, has not bloomed this year yet!!

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Your vase has great Karma Cathy! (Sorry, had to say it.) Great choice of container. The dahlias truly are lovely and make me wish I’d planted some this year as those that came back have not done well. Cosmos bloom time is just getting underway here. I wonder if Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’ might bloom early here as yours has done. Thanks for inspiring us each Monday. My contribution is https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-in-a-basket/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – I am so pleased I have discovered the benfits of dahlias in the last few years!! Candy Stripe was sown in mid March and has been flowering since the end of May – not bad, is it?!

  6. Your vase says bounty and beauty from the garden. I really love the Dahlias, like white on rice! Old southern saying. Here is my vase:https://theshrubqueen.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-floridas-fall-berries Happy Monday

  7. Beautiful, Cathy. Dahlias, Zinnias, Roses – these were the most popular flowers when I was a small child. Every serious gardener grew them. How lovely to see them back in favour, and in your interesting vase.

  8. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Love your Dahlias, Cathy!And they look well in that pretty rice vase. This is my vase:http://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2016/09/in-vase-on-monday-unusual-colour-combo.htm

  9. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: A Happy Anniversary! | Words and Herbs

  10. Cathy says:

    I love your dahlias Cathy. That paler one shimmers beautifully and the dark one has such depth of colour. Luscious!
    I am also in th pink today: https://wordsandherbs.com/2016/09/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-a-happy-anniversary/
    Thank you for hosting!

  11. Eliza Waters says:

    What a happy bouquet! I esp. love your top view today. Dahlias are wowing us all over these days. There is such magic in their beauty. Here is my vase: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-1p8

  12. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Fading | acoastalplot

  13. Sam says:

    Gosh, this is lovely Cathy. Really pretty. My slightly dishevelled offering is here: https://acoastalplot.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/in-a-vase-on-monday-fading/
    Thank you, as ever, for hosting. Sam x

  14. Elizabeth says:

    Lovely big bunch of flowers, Cathy. I love all the rich pink/purple shades you’ve found in your garden. Sadly, my garden is lacking colour at the moment but I see the rosebuds noted last week are now starting to open so maybe next week there will be more pinks to pick. The container you chose is fun. Here’s my link for this week: http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2016/09/in-vase-on-monday-nasturtiums.html

  15. Peter Herpst says:

    Such beautiful abundance! I’ve far fewer floral fireworks in my garden at this time of year so have used foliage this week. Happy autumnal equinox on Thursday! http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/09/in-vase-on-monday_19.html

  16. Kris P says:

    I think I admired that Dahlia ‘Karma Fuchsiana’ last year – the color is spectacular. And you have real fuchsias too! While they were a regular feature of my former garden, I’ve given up trying to grow them in my current garden but I do miss them. Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/09/in-vase-on-monday-berry-good.html

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, the dahlia is so different from others I have seen. This fuchsia is not a hardy one but could be overwintered in a fairly frost free place – I am glad I picked it though as it fits in well with the other blooms

  17. The floral bounty contrasts nicely with the simple (yet sturdy) container…beautiful Cathy! I’m afraid my vase this week doesn’t contain a single flower….http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/09/in-vase-on-monday-foraging-for-silver.html

  18. Pingback: Slightly Foxed | Edinburgh Garden Diary

  19. Wow, you certainly get plenty of bang for your buck with those incredible dahlias, Cathy. This is such an upbeat arrangement, it must give you great cheer every time you look at it. And I do love any use of non-vase vessels for flowers. Here is mine this week: https://edinburghgardendiary.com/2016/09/19/slightly-foxed/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks – I had a good look round for alternatives as I was pretty sure I didn’t have a vase the right sort of size, not too tall but with a wide neck. This was perfect – and yes, it certainly fits the ethos of the meme and brings me pleasure!

  20. You always have such lovely combinations of blooms from your garden. Thanks so much for sharing and hosting!

  21. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – A Pistou Soup | Frogend dweller's Blog

  22. I am so jealous of your beautiful dahlias. I love the glow of dahlia ‘Karma Fuchsiniana’. What a great vase.
    Here is my arrangement for this week: http://wp.me/pM8Y1-33x

  23. Anna says:

    A most attractive arrangement Cathy which sits so well in its ‘vase’. I’ve added ‘Karma Naomi’ to my wish list for next year after buying tubers earlier this year for my sister whose daughter is a Naomi. Photos of ‘Naomi’ in flower were sent to me and she does look most attractive. Interesting to read that your cosmos ‘Purity’ were late into flower. I ended up with just the one plant this year at the allotment and the first flower opened today! I’ve grown it for some time now and they are usually in flower from July onwards. Cosmos ‘Xanthos’ has not impressed me at all but ‘Cranberry Click’ which also grew for the first time this year has been fabulous.

  24. It is gray and overcast here so your gorgeous colors are so greatly appreciated.

  25. smallsunnygarden says:

    A beautiful abundance 🙂 It is too late here for me to leave much of a comment, but here is my Monday Vase: https://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2016/09/in-vase-two-seasons.html
    Have a great week 😀

  26. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – keep calm and carry on | Views from my garden bench

  27. Bec says:

    this vase looks glorious – late summer, rich colours – I love dahlias but mine have had a mashing this ‘summer’ – I’m ridiculously late with my Vase – far too much going on but I’m carrying on – hoping to photograph and ‘actually’ write some blog posts… I so love looking at everyone elses. Have a lovely week
    love bec
    https://viewsfrommygardenbench.wordpress.com/2016/09/22/in-a-vase-on-monday-keep-calm-and-carry-on/

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Bec – I am so good at responding to comments on a onday, but sadly later ones I can be a little more tardy with. Sorry! Sorry your dahlias have notr been good this year – mine are certainly a bit later and not all have started flowering yet

      • Bec says:

        Hi Cathy – I usually so late with posting vases, comments are always welcome 🙂 hope your other dahlias flower soon – I’ve had some fuschias that haven’t flowered at all this year – despite TLC – new spot for the pot next year. have a lovely week love bec x

Something to say after reading this?

