Wordless Wednesday: Just Another Prickle in the Wall

IMG_8074

Image | This entry was posted in Gardens, Wildlife, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Just Another Prickle in the Wall

  1. Barbara says:

    I just love these little critters.

  2. Jackie says:

    How fabulous, it was worth moving all those rocks just for that wonderful shot!

  3. Pauline says:

    Fantastic! It is a while since I’ve seen one here.

    • Cathy says:

      I have seen or heard the parent a few times this year, but haven’t seen a young hedgehog for a while. I am sure the family is doing a good job with the slugs 🙂

  4. Chloris says:

    You are lucky, I haven’ t seen one for years. I always love your titles

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – I hear them more than see them, but I knew we had at least one although this was only a young ‘un and still naive enough not to be bothered by an approachng human. I found him down by the gate the day after so moved him to the woodland just in case he was thinking of leaving…!

  5. What a surprise! Very cute, but I don’t think I would want to get too close.

    • Cathy says:

      They are harmless to us, Marion, although they might carry fleas. I picked this ine up with a towel the day after and moved him into the woodland as he was wandering away from the garden

  6. Christina says:

    That’s a nice sight to have!

    • Cathy says:

      It is indeed – I don’t know how many there are in a typical hedgehog ‘litter’, or how long they stay around the area they were born in, but I have been aware of the presence of hedgehogs in the garden for a few years although I haven’t seen a young one for a while

  7. Such fun, such a cute little guy.

  8. Kris P says:

    So cute! You don’t find these in California!

  9. What a cute creature. I have always wanted to see one in person.

  10. rickii says:

    Is it a hedgehog or a porcupine. Oops…my ignorance is showing. Mighty cute, whatever.

  11. Exciting! What a welcome visitor – and you managed to get a great photo.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sandra – this one was actually through the window but I went outside and took some more closer up, but he had moved away from the wall and I would have lost my title…!

  12. Brian Skeys says:

    Great to see one in the garden.

  13. Debra says:

    I’m sure they can do some damage in a garden but I can’t help but feel I’d like to find one residing in mine! I know nothing of their habits. But sure is cute! 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Oh no damage at all, Debra – and they eat slugs so on the contrary are very welcome in our gardens. Numbers have dropped in the UK so they are to be encouraged

  14. sultanabun says:

    Aaaaw! I haven’t seen one in years!

  15. Anna says:

    What a fine hedgie pig – it’s been a while since we’ve seen on in the garden 😦

  16. Oh look at that cutey! Adorable. Great shot.

Something to say after reading this?

