Back in Our Own Beds

IMG_8013After nearly 1500 miles, two days at my Mum’s and 4 days on the road we are back home again, the Golfer having now seen the very northern parts of Scotland for the first time and me revisiting a route I last travelled alone as a very naive student on my Honda 50 in the early 70s. We were blessed with dry and mild weather but returned yesterday to be met with a thunderstorm minutes after arriving home and to find the garden had enjoyed an inch of rain in our absence. Thank you for comments on the blog while we were away which were read and appreciated whenever a signal permitted – normal service should be resumed as of now.

Thunderstorm over, I was able to ramble round the garden and see what was what and make a mental note of pressing jobs for today – pick tomatoes, deadhead, pick damsons, deadhead, seed sowing, prune wisteria and no doubt more deadheading. The first discovery, originally viewed from the house during the storm, was evidence of the amount of recent rain – the new turf laid by the streamside was vivid green and distinctly longer than when we had last seen it, a definite contrast to the older and now more weedy grass beyond it:

IMG_8058IMG_8055Closer inspection elsewhere showed the exciting presence of a bud on one of my nerines, all of which were lifted earlier in the year and put in pots after I read that this helps new bulbs to establish. Mine were probably a couple of years old and were still alive, but apart from a leaf or two that was about it – so this looks promising, particularly as this Nerine bowdenii ‘Isabel’ is still only a scruffy bulb with a scruffy leaf or two, and now a bud as well! I also have ‘Alba’ and an ordinary N bowdenii so am hopeful of more blooms, perhaps next year if not this.

IMG_8057Exciting too is the appearance of fronds on more of the grasses I added last autumn; they have been slow to start establishing but even just a single frond gives an exciting glimpse of the benefit of grasses to a border and I am very grateful to Kate of Barnhouse Garden and other bloggers for introducing me to the delights of grasses generally. This one is Miscanthus sinensis ‘Flamingo’, tucked into the shrub border and nearly swamped by an overexuberant Lonicera purpusii ‘Winter Beauty’ which was also added last year but needs some subtle pruning to reign it in.

Confirming my suspicions that it wasn’t in fact Clematis heracleifolia ‘Wyevale’ but a C jouiniana of some sort, buds were now opening on the long and lanky stems, quite clearly not the shorter and fairly stiff stems of ‘Wyevale’. I trust that Taylor’s Clematis, where the plant came from last year, will replace it with the correct species and I will then have to find an alterative location for the imposter:

IMG_8056Tomatoes and damsons have been picked, a little deadheading done and solar panels rescued from encroachment by the wisteria with its summer pruning, but it is now raining and I am having a break to write this before I venture out to pick blooms for tomorrow’s vase – really looking forward to seeing all your vases as I missed them last week!

IMG_8060

 

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Visiting gardens & days out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Back in Our Own Beds

  1. Steve says:

    Yes you are correct it is not Clematis heracleifolia ‘Wyevale’. I have Wyevale and the flowers are a pale blue. I stopped using Taylor’s a few years ago when they were very unhelpful with some replacements and now use http://www.thorncroftclematis.co.uk

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Steve, that’s interesting to know. I haven’t had a problem with them before but I know someone who has…I shall see how I get on with them replacing this but as I plan to order several more clematis next year I might look at Thorncroft anyway. I have C her. New Love and it was the laxness of the newer one that first put doubt in my mind so the flowers confirmed it

  2. Christina says:

    Your green grass is amazing, it will be a while before anything looks as green here.

  3. I always learn useful tips from you Cathy. I planted 3 nerines and there are leaves – should I lift them now and pot them, do you think, or wait to see how they are and if they don’t flower lift them in the Spring. They are pink, but I don’t remember the name.

    • Cathy says:

      September is their main flowering month and as this bud took me completely by surprise it’s probably worth waiting a little. They need to ‘bake’ and although I had planted them more or less on the surface they were overshadowed by other things so are probably better off in pots anyway – they are out of the way in the fruit cage just now and I planned to move them when/if they flowered. If it was me, I would pot yours up before the winter so they don’ t risk sitting in the cold and damp

  4. It has sounded and looked like a wonderful trip, plus great weather for it too. Thanks for the kind mention, Cathy. I hope your grasses bring you joy.

  5. What a nice vehicle for touring. Your garden didn’t wait around for you. Everything looks to be growing like wild. It is always nice to go away for a few days but it is great to get back to one’s own bed.

  6. johnvic8 says:

    It’s nice to be tucked in to your own bed. Glad you had a fruitful and safe trip.

  7. Barbara says:

    Home Sweet Home. I love your garden.

  8. Chloris says:

    Welcome home, what a lovely trip. And it has rained in your absence, how satisfying. We had a bit last night, the first in weeks. It is best to keep your Nerine ‘ Alba’ in a pot, I have found it doesn’ t seem to be hardy in the garden.

  9. Brian Skeys says:

    It is annoying when you are supplied the wrong plant from a reputable company, it can spoil a planting plan. Gardens always seem to grow fast when you are away.

    • Cathy says:

      But at least most companies are happy to put things right. I think the rate of growth of the garden perhaps wasn’t as much as when we went away earlier in the year, but of course the mind plays tricks!

  10. Anna says:

    Well done that camper van!

Something to say after reading this?

