On the Road Again

Main stop today was Inverewe Gardens, a mere stone’s throw (if you were superhuman) from our campsite with its wonderful view (above). I have been there twice before, both in the 70s and recall nothing other than the general ambience and trying to shake off a young accountant in the Monty Python era on my first visit. The Golfer’s company was far more amenable though and we spent a good couple of hours in this almost subtropical garden, warmed by the Gulf Stream and invariably frost free.

The inevitable very limited wifi access in this far northern corner of Scotland means I am posting as and when I can, keeping posts brief and uploading photos when opportunities arise. Likewise, comments are read when possible but it is unlikely I will be able to reply to most of them – but please do keep them coming!

Please enjoy some of Inverewe’s highlights:

This entry was posted in Gardens, Visiting gardens & days out and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On the Road Again

  1. AnnetteM says:

    We went to Inverewe in May last year. Although the wooded area was lovely I was a bit disappointed as there wasn’t much out of course in the main herbaceous beds. You are certainly camping in a lovely part of Scotland, but I hope you haven’t had too much rain? Is there any chance you are going home via Aberdeen? It would be lovely to see you.

    • Cathy says:

      Weather is gorgeous Annette and we are in the dry in our little campervan anyway! Not Aberdeen this time but that’s an area we do want to visit in due course and it would definitely involve popping in to see you ☺

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    Looks amazing – I love the gate!

  3. Chris k says:

    What a lovely place. I love the delicate flowers in the meadow grass

  4. rusty duck says:

    So lovely to see it in summer. The only time I visited (when it was officially closed) was Christmas Day a few years ago. Talk about reducing a garden to its structural bones. But it was part of the best Christmas I have had in recent years. Sunny, but very very cold. -24 some places inland. Half the hotel guests couldn’t get there at all!!

  5. AWEsome gardens. Unfortunately, I never visited in my time in Scotland. Will put it on my list. Thank you for sharing.

  6. What gorgeous pictures. I am sure this place is soothing for the soul.

  7. [J] I vaguely recollect Inverewe from a 3-week holiday touring N Scotland in a make-shift campervan, back when I was a child in 1969. Your photos show somewhere much more actively managed than I recall … but memory is a tricky thing at that distance. Perhaps one day we might do a round trip via Harris, Lewis, across to the NW Highlands, and tour our way back to Uist via Oban. And we’d make a point of visiting Inverewe.

  8. Sam says:

    That looks like my kind of garden. Love the wildflower meadowy bit. Glad you’re having a good trip.

  9. Oh yes I enjoyed your pictures.

  10. Anna says:

    Great photos Cathy. Inverewe has long been on my wish list of gardens to visit. Will be contacting you for the name of that campsite 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

