Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Still a Veritable Feast

IMG_7925Although the cutting beds have made a huge contribution to August’s blooms and reminded me how planting seed sown annual fillers in the other beds will extend this colour to the rest of the garden, they are not confined exclusively to this sunny enclave at the bottom of the garden. Roses and sedum and persicaria and a host of other blooms are strutting their stuff elsewhere, bringing joy to every ramble and deep pollen filled sacs to the bees. Please share some of them with me by looking at the slideshow below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for hosting a monthly Blooms Day meme.

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Still a Veritable Feast

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    It’s amazing how many plants you have in your garden! The ‘Ivory White’ California poppy has caught my eye. And I really need to get a yellow rose, ‘Poet’s Wife’ is so lovely. I think I need to start a list for next year!

    • Cathy says:

      I first saw Ivory White on someone’s blog – I keep hoping it will seed itself but if it trails over the little wall it won’t be seeding itself in the bed!

  2. Anca Tîrcă says:

    So many and so beautiful!

  3. Pauline says:

    You have such a wonderful assortment of beautiful blooms, your garden is so colourful!

  4. Heyjude says:

    You have a lot of plants in your garden – I’m not sure I can resist one called “Stewed Rhubarb Mountain” and that climbing rose ‘Dance du Feu’ certainly looks as though she is dancing! The Poet’s Wife is such a lovely name, I saw that one in a huge pot at David Austin’s garden last year and quite fancied one. My favourite roses are the scented ones, but the names do attract my attention.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Jude – I am always intrigued by the names of things too. David Austin often says where the names of the roses come from but didn’t say with The Poet’s Wife – although he has written a book of poems so I wondered if it was for his own wife…

  5. Love all the blooms in your garden and the asters are magnificent!

  6. Quite the assortment of blooms. I like those echinops. A flower I have never grown and I think I might have to try it. Happy GBBD.

  7. Chloris says:

    I love your slideshow, what wonderful August blooms. I particularly love your sedum collection and the gorgeous Echinops.

Something to say after reading this?

