Rock Solid

IMG_7893And that’s just my biceps – but at least my weekly BodyPump sessions stood me in good stead for Stage 2 of the Great Rockery Revamp! Admittedly it was hard going as there were only half as many rocks to choose from, and it involved much lifting, moving, placing, turning, lifting and removing again before a reasonably satisfactory wall was in place – not as satisfactory as Stage 2, however, which used the prime rocks and those with the most regular shape. Far from wondering where I was going to use the excess soil or spare rocks, there are only a handful of rocks left and not enough soil to fill the new bed that replaces this part of the rockery.

This section is still not complete though, as there is a jumble of rocks, couch grass and some all but strangled astilbe at the far side of the bed, surrounding the ‘source’ of the stream. I aim to dig out the couch grass, move the astilbe to the corner of this new bed and grade the streamside grass toward it with some as yet indeterminate but discrete edging between the two. Clearing this jungly corner (from where a large Dryopteris affinis ‘Cristata’ has already been removed) will mean that the stream will once again be open to view from the French windows of the ‘back sitting room’:

IMG_7895Anyway, please excuse me as I’m off to have a long soak in the bath with some relaxing essential oils…

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, projects, rockery. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Rock Solid

  1. Steve says:

    You are lucky to have such large rocks. In my garden I have made extensive use of river cobbles which we find whenever we do deep digging but there are no rocks. Any rocks used in walls etc have to be purchased!

    • Cathy says:

      I did have to top up from our salvage yard when I first created the stream but I have a good relationship with them and I am sure they are very much cheaper there than at a garden centre regardless of any good deal I might have struck! I don’t think the rocks that were here (and there were lots of them) were indigenous to the garden and I strongly suspect that some probably came from the ruins of a local priory (after all, it was a liveable property once!) as some definitely look ‘worked’ – but the house is over 200 years old and I suppose that’s what all the locals did in those days 😉 So yes, we are lucky!

  2. You’ve earned a good soak

  3. johnvic8 says:

    I knew it would turn out to be beautiful. Very, very well done. You deserve a good soak.

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    I’m impressed – that doesn’t look easy! I expect the soak felt good.

  5. Christina says:

    It’s lovely to see your view through the windows. Well done, and you deserve that bath!

  6. Rooms with views are so rewardingly, as is a deeply filled bath tub at the end of a heavy duty gardening session. Are you watering the lovely moss on those handsome rocks?

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you Kate – and I spend a fair amount of time staring contemplatively from this and the kitchen windows… 😉 I hadn’t watered the rocks until you mentioned it – but have now! I had however already realised how much moisture they must retain when they are contact with the soil because some of the tiny ferns that had self-seeded onto them were drying out rapidly. So that was a useful prompt – thank you!

  7. How nice it is to be able to look out the french doors and see this pile of mossy rocks. Knowing you arranged them and only needed a hot soak to get over it should keep you warm this winter when you look at them. Now for a bit of color to spice up this spot. Fun fun….

Something to say after reading this?

