Wordless Wednesday: Surely Not Heralding the Approach to Autumn Already?

IMG_7892

Image | This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Surely Not Heralding the Approach to Autumn Already?

  1. Cathy says:

    Several people have noticed it this week. I am still enjoying summer though, so autumn can wait! 😉

  2. I saw some on Monday, but I never think of autumn until at least after my birthday in mid August!

  3. Kris P says:

    Oh my! Actually, an early fall would be very, very welcome here but I imagine you’d like more time to enjoy the bounty of summer where you are.

    • Cathy says:

      I checked what the books said and they suggest Sept-Nov for these cyclamen to flower. Admittedly they had been hidden under some comfrey that had gone wild and which I had just removed but they went from buds poking out of the ground to this in only a few days

  4. Got down to 8.2 Celsius in my garden the other night, I’m closing my greenhouse up at night.

    • Cathy says:

      Likewise here – so several evenings I have rambled to the bottom of the garden in the dark to close them if I haven’t thought to do it earlier!! Makes it more comfortable for sleeping though…

  5. rickii says:

    Lovely little harbingers, but super-early, surely.

  6. AnnetteM says:

    Definitely Autumnal here. We have had strong winds so the front garden is covered in twigs and leaves. Also I am sure there are signs of the trees turning colour, but that usually starts in August here. Still lots of flowers though – crocosmia, helenium, siddalcea. . . .I love your cyclamen.

    • Cathy says:

      The cyclamen were a real surprise! Certainly cooler nights here and a bit of a breeze, but more of a summer one I think. Certainly haven’t noticed a change in the trees yet. We are off to my Mum’s anf further north next week so will be preparing for less clement weather!

Something to say after reading this?

