In a Vase on Monday: the Domino Effect

IMG_7864Today’s vase took its name from the favourite of the new persicarias I indulged in last autumn, before my embargo came into force – ‘Fat Domino’ – whose flowering spires are fatter and bushier than any other persicaria I have ever seen. It is now making a stunning display at the back of the shrub border, whilst Persicaria ‘Blackfield’, the persicaria I was planning to buy before being swept away by several other striking varieties, is only slowly bulking up in one of the bold borders.

IMG_7867As it turns out, Fat Domino is not as dominant in the vase as I thought it would be, being joined by various other dazzling vase-fellows that I succumbed to when cutting for the vase, one bright bloom leading to another – a bit like the domino effect. Thus we have spikes of Larkspur ‘Sublime Deep Blue’, Rudbeckia ‘Goldilocks’, Salvia ‘Neon’, darker specimens of Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’, a single pink zinnia, Phlox ‘Pink Eye Flame’, Crocosmia ‘George Davison’, Clematis heraclifolia ‘New Love’ and red and russet blooms of Bishop’s Children Dahlias, whilst sprigs of clary sage ‘Oxford Blue’ and Salvia ‘Fairy Queen play but a small role. Rudbeckia ‘Goldilocks’ is quickly becoming a favourite, forming bushy plants with numerous blooms and, thrilled by already raising three perfect blooms (it’s a start!), I am also optimistic about the zinnias, having pinched out the top of all the plants to encourage greater flowering.

I formed  a posy in my hand in an effort to attain a pleasing distribution of blooms and plonked the bunch in the vase after cutting the stems level but without tying them, the indented edge of the green glass vase allowing the stems to splay out attractively. Props for this week – the ‘domino effect’ – were easy but are not obligatory – so what will you find to put in your vase today, with or without props? My vase, as always, was bringing me pleasure from the moment of its creation and I trust yours will too – so please leave links to and from this post so we can share yourIMG_7866 joy.

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: the Domino Effect

  1. What a great colourful display – I love it.

  2. Pingback: IaVoM | Wild Daffodil

  3. What a wonderful variety of colours you have in your vase – very cheerful! Here’s mine: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/iavom/

  4. Pingback: Spring flowers in a Vase on a chilly Monday – Absent Gardener

  5. Cath says:

    I love the larkspur- I’m keen to find out if I can grow these. Bishops Chidren is beautiful as well. You can cool off at my place today. https://absentgardener.com/2016/08/08/spring-flowers-in-a-vase-on-a-chilly-monday/

    • Cathy says:

      This is the first year I have successfully grown larkspur – last year’s was not a success! This dark blue is gorgeous and the plants have been flowering for ages but just haven’t made it to a vase up till now! I am sure the bronze dahlia was pink last year! It and the red one were grown from seed about 3 years ago but have made sizeable tubers – it’s amazing really, isn’t it?

      • Cath says:

        It is amazing, I’m finding that the ones that go well really reproduce quickly. Luckily they are edible so if I think I’m getting too many of one type I can leave a few out for the pheasants ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Noelle says:

    Love the bright colours, and the fuchsia pink backdrop…I wish I had such a riot of colours to show off. As a contrast I have roses again…and a little extra from my little apprentice: http://noellemace.blogspot.co.uk/2016/08/in-vase-on-monday-grace.html

    • Cathy says:

      Would you believe the backdrop was a piece of RED felt?! Next year you will have a riot of colours again and in the meantime you have the roses – my second flushes are only just becoming evident

  7. Oh I love the blue, especially with the pink backdrop! It’s very artistic and inspiring. I am slowly beginning to learn tricks of displaying flowers, thank you to you and the other bloggers who post on this meme. This is my contribution, without props. https://hurtledto60.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-cheerful-cosmos/

    • Cathy says:

      You are so welcome, Ronnie, and I am sure most of us don’t employ any tricks – just pick and plonk, but with enthusiasm!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. All summer colours in a vase and they look perfect together despite any chromatic rules! Beautiful! My vase is here:http://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2016/08/in-vase-on-monday-showy-phlox.html

  9. Is that a yellow crocosmia? I didn’t know there was a yellow one. This is a colorful vase. Love it.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, and some are clearer yellows than others. In fact I think this one might be ‘Canary Bird’ and not George Davison – definitely a canary sort of yellow!

  10. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful colors, especially the play between the delphiniums and all the yellows. I love that you said it brought “pleasure from the moment of its creation.” Goal achieved. Thanks for hosting Cathy and have a wonderful week. Susie
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-choices/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susie – have a good week yourself. In fact the pleasure really begins with the seeking… then the cutting… then the plonking, then… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Annette says:

    Blimey, Cathy, I definitely need my sunglasses to look at this beaming creation of yours! It has such a jolly feel to it, just like summer should be. I’ve planted Blackfield too this spring in my new tropical border and it’s very vigorous and beautiful. Favourite though is P. orientalis, such a star plant. Happy Monday to you and the Golfer ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s my vase: https://personaleden.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-a-monday-happy-birthday/

    • Cathy says:

      Happy times to you too Annette! They had a useful article in The Garden last year about persicaria and that’s where I met Fat Domino – I love them all too and bought about half a dozen different ones (nb that was last year)!

  12. Pingback: Sowing Biennials | Country Garden UK

  13. Another knockout display as usual. Unlike you, my garden is offering a much quieter mode: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/2016/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-morning-after.html

  14. Gillian says:

    A lovely bright vase from you today Cathy. I think they are very fitting for the height of summer. Rudbeckias are absolutely gorgeous aren’t they? But then as always I’m bowled over by your combination of blooms. I hope you don’t mind but my vase is full of Biennials from earlier this year… I’ve been sowing them today so they’re on my mind. https://countrygardenuk.com/2016/08/08/sowing-biennials/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Gillian – and yes, this rudbeckia and also Irish Eyes have been brilliant, but Ruby Eclipse less so this year. Look forward to seeing your biennials as I still need to get my act together and get some sown for next year!

  15. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: What I Call Summer | Words and Herbs

  16. Cathy says:

    Gorgeous colours Cathy! That Dahlia is lovely…. it’s all lovely! I had no idea there are so many different Persicarias. Mine are all doing well, so perhaps I will look around for Fat Domino too this autumn. Here are my flowers for today. Thank you!
    https://wordsandherbs.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-what-i-call-summer/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy. There was a good article in the RHS magazine The Garden last year which featured several I had not heard of and, although I had been trying to source Blackfield of and on for a little while, when I found it on Claire Austin’s website I couldn’t resist the others as well ๐Ÿ˜‰ The spikes of FD are up to about 3/4″ in diameter, so very much bigger than the others – makes great impact! I have grown some smaller ‘annual’ dahlias from seed this year and wonder if it is worth trying to keep some of those for future years too…

  17. Now, that is a hot August vase! Have you heard of Fats Domino? American Rock n Roller from the 1950s. I had to look up Persicarias, Knotweed came up as one, this I am familiar with! Love the Dahilia again. Here is my vase:https://theshrubqueen.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-pina-coladas

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, Amy, and I guess that’s why it was given this name. The spikes are so much chunkier than the other persicarias, which as you have discovered, is a cultivated form of knotweed. They are really dependable shrubs here and although they can make a big clump they are gernerally not invasive in the way knotweed can be

  18. Eliza Waters says:

    Wow, I need sunglasses for this one – it’s beautiful!
    My vase this week: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-1es

  19. Kris P says:

    That punch of color woke me up! Your garden must be positively glowing right now, Cathy. With the return of cooler temperatures (unusual in August here) and an uptick in my irrigation, I’ve got more flowers than I’d have expected too, even a few roses. Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/08/in-vase-on-monday-fragrant-flowers.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kris and yes, the cutting beds in particular have really come into their own now and I need to make sure I have annuals ready to fill gaps in the borders next year too. It has been relatively dry in this part of the UK this summer, but more of a breeze recently so some pleasant gardening days

  20. WOW! It’s a grey morning here in Portland, Oregon…your bouquet is the brightest thing I’ve seen today. Thank you for the non-caffeinated jolt. Here’s my vase for the week: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/08/in-vase-on-monday-channeling-my-inner.html

  21. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Antique pink | sweet peas & savory

  22. I really love Persicarias, too! “Blackfield” ist often used for public gardening displays in Berlin and Brandenburg, so I’m fortunate to enjoy it rather often, although I can’t really grow it on my balcony. Your vase rocks! The contrast between the delphinium and the coral-ly coloured Zinnia in the last picture iselectric. It’s Zinnia time for me again, too. I grow more muted colours: https://sweetpeasandsavory.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-antique-pink/

    • Cathy says:

      Oh, that’s interesting about persicarias being used for public planting – not sure that I have seem them used in the UK and yet they are tough enough. I am thrilled with the few zinnias I have had so far ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Hello Dahlias – Peonies & Posies

  24. Julie says:

    Hi Cathy – I am back at last!! Sorry I have been missing out recently but I have had my head down working in the garden till late most days. I love your colourful vase this week – isn’t it great to have such a wide choice of material. I have been enjoying reading about your rockery plans – that was dismantled so quickly! I read your blog on my phone via Bloglovin but find it hard to comment from there – another tech issue I should ask a teenager about. I hope you are both well and enjoying the summer.

    My vase is at: http://peoniesandposies.com/2016/08/08/in-a-vase-on-monday-hello-dahlias/

    • Cathy says:

      Good to have you back Julie – I am sure we will all enjoy catching up with you. If you have email notifications of posts from the blogs you follow it is easy enough to link to the post from your email and then comment. If you have the WordPress app on your phone it is also really easy to view and respond to any notifications on your blog. I must admit I never use the Reader on my blog or use things like Bloglovin

  25. Percy may be fat but compared to your dazzling companions he does look a bit lost. I love these jewel colours, really cheerful. I have a row tonight to join you. https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

  26. Beautiful flowers, do come and have a look at our French Garden here in South West France
    https://ourfrenchoasis.com/2016/08/04/french-gardening-and-summer-rain/

  27. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Weedy Things! | Cosmos and Cleome

  28. Pingback: Com-pewter says no | Edinburgh Garden Diary

  29. smallsunnygarden says:

    I love what the blue of the larkspur does to round out the zing of all those wonderful colors ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a good many of the bright and beautiful sorts, Cathy – how perfect for August! My own vase is pretty bright too, though I’ve relied on the old workhorse here: https://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2016/08/in-vase-largely-lantana.html

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, the larkspur is even better with other blooms – definitely one to grow again next year! Your lantana really does a great job and I am off to see how you have used it this week

  30. Pingback: In a Vase on Mon…er, Tues…day |

  31. rickii says:

    This is a bouquet that dazzles with POW! factor. Mine is quite a bit more subdued: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5549

  32. Chloris says:

    A lovely cheerful vase today. Once you have larkspur, it comes up all over the place. The Persicaria is a new one to me, I will look out for it.

    • Cathy says:

      Thnaks Chloris, but larkspur self seeding? That would be lovely if it did… Once my FD has established I can see it splitting itself up and heading in different directions like the Red Dragon did… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  33. Pingback: In a vase on – eh! Thursday! – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

Something to say after reading this?

