End of Month View: In the Blink of an Eye…

…another month is over and we are taking photographs to show what our gardens are like at the end of July and linking in to Helen the Patient Gardener’s meme. Do check out her blog in due course to find links to other blogs and see what is happening in other gardens at this time of year.

Once again, I am using the WordPress slideshow feature.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in End of Month View, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to End of Month View: In the Blink of an Eye…

  1. Your garden looks quite lush. i like the way you can get a view of part of your garden from up high. It puts a different perspective on the garden.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Lisa – it has been a fairly dry month although we are expecting rain later today but not so dry that the garden suffered. I just watered pots and cutting beds – and I have tried to remember to feed and water the clematis too. I built the bothy specially so I could get a higher view as you can’t get one from the house – eye view for me from here will only be about 10 feet from the ground but it makes such a difference

  2. Love the slideshow…it makes viewing the garden even more fun!

  3. Brian Skeys says:

    The garden is looking very verdant Cathy, how do you keep your hostas slug free?

    • Cathy says:

      Slugs really haven’t been a problem at all this year, Brian, but I don’t know why – it has been relatively dry though and we have definitely got a resident hedgehog so perhaps he/she/they are very fat! Lots of birdlife too of course

  4. Heyjude says:

    You have such a lovely garden, I really like the paved area with the seating and all the planters.

  5. Chloris says:

    Your garden looks fabulous and I love the slideshow; very impressive.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – it is certainly giving me a huge amount of pleasure, noticeably more so than other years. The slideshow is an inbuilt WordPress feature – you upload your pictures, create a gallery and then choose the slideshow format. I have realised how effective it is for something like EOMV and it saves time too

  6. Pingback: End of Month View | Wild Daffodil

  7. Your garden is looking good with lots of colour and interest especially given the lack of rain and time of year. We have our fingers crossed for a good soaking here later today, the young trees and shrubs are looking parched.

  8. rusty duck says:

    It’s all looking fabulous. My roses are quietly budding up for a second flush, fingers crossed. I may have seriously underestimated the size of the Red Dragon.. eeep.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Jessica – some of my roses are similarly quietly budding up again 😉 You can keep your dragon in check by cutting it back – and the crown is certainly nowhere near the extent of the spread so it depends what you have got growing next to him. Mine is fine flopping over the rhododendrons and geraniums – I am very much in love with him (and could have saved you a few pounds in buying yours as I would willingly have sent you some…)

  9. glebehouse says:

    Like the slide show and just seen how this is done in wordpress. Will try the same on my blog. I guess we are all waiting for some rain.. Have just notice one of my planters is almost bone dry but as it was against a north wall I guess it would not have dried out…how wrong can you be!

    • Cathy says:

      It’s empowering to try something you haven’t done before and it is straightforward to do – just Preview it before you Publish it as you can’t see it as a slideshow in your draft. I am not a fan of the black background but I don’t think there are any alternatives. With pots, I have noticed where I have used different composts and some dry out more quickly than others

Something to say after reading this?

