Wordless Wednesday: Half Cut

IMG_7747

Image | This entry was posted in Gardens, roses, Wildlife, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Half Cut

  1. Cathy says:

    Looks like a leafcutter bee has visited. Or have you seen the culprit?

    • Cathy says:

      I am sure it is a leaf cutter bee although I haven’t seen it in action. Fascinates me that it sticks just to the same rose, coming back for more. Last year it was Harlow Carr 😉

      • Cathy says:

        It must be nesting nearby then. I had one cutting up a peony for a few years in a row, but they have never touched the roses! (Didn’t spot mine in action either.)

  2. Kalamain says:

    I had Leaf cutter bees visit me last year… Not seen any so far this year. B-(

  3. Christina says:

    Have you ever found the leaves with the young bees inside?

    • Cathy says:

      I haven’t Christina – and I believe they often nest in cracks in masonry or other tight spaces so I should keep my eyes open. They (it) seemed to cut this rose in two definite stages

  4. Your bees do a neater, more symmetrical job than mine. You have artistic leafcutter bees – mine are slobs.

  5. [J] They look like jigsaw pieces!

Something to say after reading this?

