Countdown

Thank you for all the kind comments about our acceptance for the National Garden Scheme – even though I knew in my own mind that if not accepted I would be disappointed but would still open informally on a local basis and with no regrets, I am of course thrilled that the garden was considered suitable for inclusion in the Yellow Book. It will nevertheless be a challenge, with more tweaking and tidying and cake baking than this year’s ‘soft’ opening, not to mention strangers rambling round the garden – and I will of course need to draft in additional support. However, although still almost twelve months away, and just like last year when the tweaking began immediately after the initial NGS visit, I have already been jotting down ‘things to do’, ranging from seeking out a batch of pretty and perhaps even matching mugs to noting gaps in the borders that can be filled once the Plant Embargo is over. As most of you know, I enjoy a challenge and a target to work towards, and I definitely now have both of these! Let the countdown begin…

IMG_7685Meanwhile, our few days away inevitably left me with deadheading and trimming and tying back to get on with, but after catching up with raspberry and loganberry picking the first priority was to cut down the remains of the Winter Sunshine sweet peas and restore the tomatoes to their rightful places – once potted up into their final pots some had been temporarily moved out of the greenhouse but order has now nearly been restored although some still require full length canes and all need to be tied in. I rescued as many flowers as possible before composting the rest so now have a vase of motley blooms as well as an overflowing compost heap!

JUly16

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Countdown

  1. Many congrats….we gardeners do know that our hard work feels good. Wish I was there to lend a hand!

  2. Brian Skeys says:

    Congratulations, welcome to the club! Our crockery collection is eclectic, they all came from charity shops.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Brian – it has really helped hearing about other bloggers’ experiences of opening for the NGS. And yes, mugs will be on our list for car boots as well for the next few months!

  3. Christina says:

    Again, many congratulations; definitely call in favours to help with teas and serving cakes (and making them). You need to be available to answer questions and you can’t be in two places at once.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – I have certainly learned from my ‘soft’ opening about the importance of mingling outside and have already had offers of help for serving teas for next year! I shall stubborning be sticking to making my own cakes though 😀

  4. AnnetteM says:

    So pleased to hear that Cathy. You certainly deserve a place in The Book. I haven’t been blogging much lately as I have been so busy tidying the garden. There are so many bits that I don’t usually get round to! I have also been practicing making cakes and though I say it myself I have got a very nice bunch of Brownies in the freezer. I am not sure I could do this every year, but really pleased that you are going to!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – and it’s getting excitingly (?!) close to yours now. How many people have replied to say they are coming? Well done for the brownies – it’s good to have recipes you are confident with and can rely on

      • AnnetteM says:

        Hi Cathy, Unfortunately despite inviting loads of people very few have confirmed as coming. Most people who have bothered to RSVP cannot manage. It is a bit disappointing at the moment, but maybe things will change next week. The garden, though, is doing its best and it looks as if there will be plenty to look at.

        • Cathy says:

          I am so glad your garden is working up to its best and hope that your disappointment proves groundless and you have lots of visitors after all

          • AnnetteM says:

            Numbers are creeping up slowly so not feeling quite so bad now. How was the weather on your day?

          • Cathy says:

            And I am sure there will be people who haven’t replied. Here, it was mild with sunny periods and then a light shower about 5ish at the tail end of the afternoon

  5. johnvic8 says:

    Congratulations. Obviously you have been recognized for beautiful work in your garden…lots of work. Well done.

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Wonderful Cathy! Congratulations.

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Very exciting – I admire your energy. It is a big commitment.
    Your sweet peas are finished and mine are just gathering a head of steam! I’m really enjoying vases of them around the house.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Eliza – and I am pleased to say it is just the greenhouse sweet peas that have finished and those outdoors are still in their ascendancy, like yours, so we can both still have vases of them ☺

  8. homeslip says:

    Definitely mugs for tea Cathy. We usually visit NGS gardens as part of an all day walk or cycle and a teacup doesn’t quite cut the mustard. A mug on the other hand sets me up nicely for the onward journey.

    • Cathy says:

      I am glad we are in agreement about the mugs – cups and saucers may be traditional, but I am sure most of us prefer drinking out of mugs

  9. Anna says:

    I’ve lots of experience of helping on plant sales tables if you are going to have one Cathy 🙂 Those tomatoes must be smiling.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, the tomatoes will be a lot happier now although I broke the stems of two of them in the process of tidying up – I had ‘too many’ ofvthem anyway but I am going to keep those ones outside and see how they do. Are you offering to help, Anna…? You would be very very welcome if you were…

Something to say after reading this?

