That Dierama and Other Newbies

IMG_7580The above rose, Rambler ‘Rose-Marie Viaud’ (and not ‘Veilchenblau’ as I keep trying to call it) is not exactly new as it has been at the back of the shed for perhaps half a dozen years, IMG_7581but it was newly liberated by the cutting down of a cherry and removal of the ivy in the adjacent bed when the pump water feature was created last September, giving it greater freedom to flourish. The flowers are far more mauve than the above picture suggests, but all the new shoots are promising good things for the future although at the moment they are in desperate need of tying in!

The dierama which was exclaimed over in Wednesday’s wordless post is definitely a surprise, as it has existed in the form of a couple of grass stems for several years so why it has suddenly decided to take on a more substantial existence (leaves unfortunately now IMG_7565resembling the rampant montbretia which has long since been removed and for which it could be mistaken!) and flower is anyone’s guess, but is surely to do with that special magic which seems to be working in the garden this year. In the middle of one of the main borders it is currently very much overshadowed but I don’t think I will risk moving it yet! There were at least two others planted at the same time but whether they too will mysteriously burst into life is still an unknown.

This special magic has also produced surprises in the blue & white borders – a lily that I can’t access the label of because of the adjacent prickly echinops and the wonderful sight of  Lilium martagon ‘Alba’, which originated from Peter Nyssen bulbs but not from the previous two year’s orders. The larger lily is a little nibbled, having received a great deal of attention from lily beetles, but the martagon lily has emerged unscathed although a fraction of its potential maximum height. Exciting times!

liliesAnother bulb success story is tritelia (brodiaea), which I have bought bulbs of several times without seeing results – not so this year, as they appearing here and there, to my IMG_7571great delight. Even the Golfer has joined in my excitement at all these new appearances, requesting guidance as to what to look out for when he takes his (relatively) cursory rambles and extends his knowledge of the contents of the garden.

Several clematis were added in spring last year in an attempt to clothe almost every naked post, and several of these, like that show-off Franziska Maria, have settled in well enough to be flowering – but there has been too much excitement for one post so the rest will have to wait!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to That Dierama and Other Newbies

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    I love the white martagon lily! I tried growing them many years ago, but they are quite fussy, it seems.

  2. Anna says:

    What a delicious looking rose Cathy. She is obviously celebrating her new lease of life. My two white Martagon lilies have gone over now but were beautiful when they were in full flower. One was slightly nibbled by the dreaded lily beetle but the other escaped unscathed. I plan to buy more bulbs this year. The Golfer is making good progress with his horticultural education 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna – it’s good when plants reward you for your efforts, although the lilies seem to have flowered with a big dollop of neglect! And yes, the Golfer is quite chuffed with his enhanced knowledge ☺

  3. Barbara says:

    What a beautiful garden you must have. I love looking at your photographs especially as it is winter in Melbourne, although we do have quite a bit of nice colour at the moment.

  4. Catherine Doran says:

    I expect the Dierama has decided to flower as a result of all the rain we have had, it is a plant that likes drainage but plenty of moisture. Your garden is looking lovely this year.
    Cathy (another one ! )

    • Cathy says:

      And all with a ‘C’ too…! Thanks for your kind comment about the garden – the dierama is quite an oddity as it certainly hasn’t been particularly wet here.

  5. joanna says:

    So much going on in your garden. I love surprises and found a few too after a two week absence. But not all surprises were good ones. It must have been very dry in the Midlands. We had it bucket down most days in Devon, so I didn’t think about too much heat and sunshine.
    Still, roses love a non-interference policy and they have done me proud also.
    The reason I’m calling is that I put together some notes for the ikebana post. You have probably sussed it all out yourself already, but just in case there is something useful in there, I’d thought I post early, while people are still putting an ikebana arrangement together.
    And then there is the mystery of the straws of course 🙂

    I am still tired from yesterday’s long journey home – nine hours because of the stupid A303 – never again. People are rubbernecking past StoneHenge and they kept us captive for almost three hours.
    My post address inside my name [ I hope]

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Joanna – sorry you have had such a wet week and then that awful drive home… Hope you gained some pleasure from your time away and managed to feel at least a little rested. I really appreciate the effort you have put into posting notes about ikebana for the benefit of IAVOM participants. Sadly, I am away for a few days so ( but shhh! don’t tell everyone) prepared my vase and scheduled the post in advance but I hope others will get to see what you have posted. Internet access is very limited where we have been so I am just doing what I can, when I can. Thanks again

  6. It is an exciting time in the garden. I love those tall lililes.It is fun when the other half decides to take an interest in the garden. My DB always puffs up when he can relate to someone what plant they want named. This also makes it easier to get help in the garden when needed. 😉

  7. What a lovely garden you have. I love Dierama too! The white lily is stunning.

  8. rickii says:

    The garden is always full of surprises. Nice that yours were pleasant ones.

Something to say after reading this?

