Slings and Arrows

IMG_7505Well, arrows at least!

Apologies for keeping a fairly low blogging profile this week as I have been busy tweaking the garden and making cakes and generally preparing for our informal garden opening tomorrow. Apart from things that have to be done on the day I think we are now pretty much prepared.

The arrows show a suggested route to encourage one-way traffic, and several short but heavy downpours today have shown that the permanent marker the arrows were drawn with is not as permanent as I would have hoped! The weather forecast for tomorrow has changed several times in the last few days and is currently suggesting rain by late afternoon, but we and our visitors will have to take it as it comes, rain or shine.

I am not looking for approbation and praise from visitors, but do hope that they will gain as much pleasure from it as I do and I will be interested to find what aspects they find most appealing and perhaps see what things they have discovered that I might have missed. Today climbing rose ‘New Dawn’ (below left) surprised me with her perfect pale pink blooms; this year, having escaped from the vigorous clutches of ‘dirty lavender’ Clematis jouiniana which has been moved to a different post, she has reached the top of her own post and is revelling in the fresh air and freedom and the looser embrace of the Rector. Elsewhere, several new clematis were added last year, and admittedly the first huge flower on C ‘Franziska Maria’ (below right) didn’t actually creep up on me without any warning but her size is pretty impressive!

slings.arrowsIMG_7508I am still amazed at the height and spread of Delphinium ‘Camelot’ as I have never succeeded with delphinium before and find the scale of this one astonishing, especially as it towers above me; however, something must be going on in this part of the blue & white border as to the left one of the echinops is also towering over my head and to the right there are several Gladiolus colvillii ‘The Bride’ which have been there years but never done anything before now.

IMG_7507Similarly, by the stream Zantedeschia aethiopica ‘Crowborough’  and a clump of iris (possibly Iris ensata) have both taken it upon themselves to flower after several years on strike:

slings.arrows2And I finally have an actual clump of Alstroemeria, Indian Summer I think, although admittedly it was halfway there last year and for some reason must be quite happy to be in this fairly dry and poor soil on the fringe of one of the bold borders:

IMG_7509The final discovery of the week was the start of the raspberry crop, hidden from view from outside the fruit cage, and desperately wanting to be picked…slings and arrows of outrageous fortune? Perhaps…

IMG_7514

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Slings and Arrows

  1. Cathy says:

    All the best for tomorrow Cathy – hope the rain holds off!

  2. rusty duck says:

    Good luck, hope it goes well.

  3. How exciting to have a garden tour. Your garden is perfect for touring in the rain. I love the way your area takes rain as a matter of fact. Here everyone avoids being in the rain. I don’t mean every one but most people would forego a tour due to rain. Like I say…not all of us. Good luck.

  4. Pauline says:

    Everything is looking beautiful for your Open Garden, I hope the rain stays away for you as I know from experience that it does make a difference to numbers visiting. Your visitors will be enchanted with your garden, I hope it is a great success!

  5. Christina says:

    The garden is looking great I hope all goes well.

  6. Chloris says:

    How lovely it all looks, you must have had a lot of dead heading to do after all the rain. I hope the sun will shine for you today, your visitors are in for a treat.

  7. Hope you have a great time, Cathy.

  8. I hope your garden tour went splendidly, Cathy. The garden looks wonderful!

  9. smallsunnygarden says:

    It looks beautiful, and I do so wish I could have been part of the tour, Cathy 🙂 I hope all went very well, and I’m sure you have some recuperating to do! Your New Dawn roses are exquisite – such a dainty, porcelain pink!

  10. Anna says:

    Oh isn’t clematis ‘Franziska Maria’ a rather striking lady. I had similar experience of ‘running notices’ which were made for the allotment gate until I invested in a little laminator. Wilkos do one for about ten pounds and it was well worth the investment. Hope that the rain held off. Looking forward to hearing more about how the day went.

    • Cathy says:

      The clematis was one of the most commented on blooms – a bit of a cheat really, as she has only had this one bud open so far and as the plant was new last year it was its first ever flower 😉 We do have a laminator which I had used for other things but the arrows were drawn on wood – could staple laminated arrows on for another time though so thanks for the suggestion

  11. Linda says:

    I’m getting ready for a tour of my garden in two days, so itwas nice to read about yours. .

  12. rickii says:

    Looking good and “ready for it’s close-up, Mr DeMille”.

  13. johnvic8 says:

    It certainly looks as if you are ready. Hope the visitors will enjoy in real life what I enjoy long distance.

  14. jpstacey says:

    Looks like it went well: you don’t say in your follow-up post, but I hope you have some raspberries left!

    • Cathy says:

      Ahah, thank you for thinking of my raspberries! They are in a fruit cage and I had a plan of what was in the fruit cage hanging on its door, so I suspect no-one went in and I was able to pick the first pound or so of this year’s crop the next day 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

