Wordless Wednesday: June Blooms – Still Rosy

IMG_7455 IMG_7457 IMG_7440 IMG_7442 IMG_7441 IMG_7448 IMG_7449 IMG_7453 IMG_7454 IMG_7451 IMG_7450 IMG_7445Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for hosting Garden Bloggers Blooms Day on the 15th of every month

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: June Blooms – Still Rosy

  1. Christina says:

    The greenhouse sweet peas look really productive; I’m thinking that if I can sow the seed early enough I could have them flowering very early. I am beginning to realise that I love roses that grow up into trees or over structures and then drape down more than any others.

    • Cathy says:

      I look forward to seeing how you get on with them Christina – and I shall try them in pots next year to gain some more height by having them down the centre of the greenhouse, although I have just realised I will lose height by planting in pots and not in the ground so perhaps it would balance out! I know what you mean about the roses as I too prefer climbing ones and last year was the first time I have added anything other than climbing ones – there is more scope with the latter as you can plant other things at the base

  2. garden337 says:

    I love how you have used the brick walls. Lovely.

  3. rusty duck says:

    Ooh…. marvellous!

  4. AnnetteM says:

    Wonderful roses – and everything else!

  5. rickii says:

    I need to rethink June so it looks more like this.

  6. johnvic8 says:

    Your garden is absolutely lovely. Thanks for sharing with us.

  7. Roses, peonies AND delphiniums – my idea of the perfect garden!

    • Cathy says:

      First peony blooms for a few years – but that delphinium! I still can’t believe it and don’t think I have ever grown anything as tall before 😀

  8. [D] I love the petal-strewn paths. Makes me think of a piece by Liz Story ‘Wedding Rain’!

  9. Your garden takes my breath away – it must be such a joy to greet it each morning – the colours, the scents – mmmmmmmm!

  10. Pauline says:

    Beautiful blooms everywhere in your lovely garden!

  11. So many lovely places to look and sit in your garden Cathy. The frame work is already looking quite settled in with all those roses. Beautiful.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you Dorris. Things really have settled down well this year and several things are looking happy for the first time – it’s as if magic is afoot…

  12. Wordless, but the flowers speak volumes!

  13. Linnae says:

    Oh, those roses! With so many flowers climbing around and over, your place looks so alive and so inviting at the same time. Wonderful!

  14. Chloris says:

    Your garden looks gorgeous Cathy. I agree wifh Chritina about roses and lots of my trees now have roses set to clamber up them. The thing about gardens is, you work so hard to bring your vision to life and after several years you look around and find it has happened. It looks like magic, but in fact it is the result of hard work and night after night spent dreaming about it and planning it.
    It is all lovely, and I love the primulas too.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – yes I am sure you are right even though it seems like a happy accident sometimes ☺ I am sure that once this year is out I shall be looking for more places for roses, and suspect that the only way is UP! These primulas are a real success and even more so because I removed some tiny offshoots earlier this year and most of those are coming into flower too

  15. Such beautiful roses, Cathy! Do you find they bloom more profusely/for longer when their stems drape downwards?

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kate – the roses just seem to be getting better, even the few I have had for a relatively long time. So much for replacing them every 10 years as David Austin suggested! Not sure about the draping downwards and will have to monitor that, but certainly ZD seems to flower more profusely once it stretches across the horizontal in the rose garden

  16. Anna says:

    Everything is looking rather rosy indeed Cathy. Those primulas are most appealing and must glow more when night falls. When did you sow them? I like the cracked ice effect on the solar light globes.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna – I still find myself surprised by their brightness too. They were sown as soon as my RHS allocation arrived I expect, which was probably Feb or so, but I honestly can’t remember how long they took to germinate. I suspect it might have been a matter of months but not having had success with other primula since I could do with checking what the sowing wisdom is. I am really pleased with the lights, a recent Aldi bargain, and the first style of solar light I have found acceptable. The crackle effect casts interesting patterns on nearby foliage but I am now having to watch out that foliage doesn’t stop them recharging… Definitely more late evening rambles going on now!

  17. Your garden is so beautiful and inviting! Thank you for sharing this with us!

Something to say after reading this?

