A Rumbling Tummy

IMG_7423The sky was hungry. The pressure had been slowly and steadily dropping for 24 hours and the humidity was rising. It began as a low rumble, indistinct at first, but becoming louder and more continuous as the minutes passed. Humidity reached 98% and the switch was flicked, unleashing huge drops which fell vertically as if the sky was pouring a bucket of water through a sieve. I watched in awe, knowing the garden was relishing this release from dry captivity, and enjoyed several wet-legged rambles throughout the course of the evening as the garden was inspected and thanks received from grateful plants.

Today has stayed largely dry but with a constant threat of showers; not surprisingly the garden has lapped up the warm dampness and looks positively spruce after its long awaited ‘wash and brush up’. The contrast of greens against the damp dark brown of the soil is most pleasing and even though the roses are bowing their heads a little…

IMG_7430and losing a few petals…

IMG_7431they are nevertheless looking even more vibrant than before without the sun to bleach their velvety beauty…

IMG_7426The cutting beds, shown last week, were especially grateful for a proper watering which soaked the bare soil around them instead of just their immediate surroundings and I look forward to a good growth spurt in the coming weeks.

IMG_7428I had staked the sunflowers in the cutting beds only that morning, otherwise their 18″ (45cm) might have been at risk, and the larkspur in the above bed must have needed a rest as they were lying down, but have since been staked. It looked as if someone had run a giant comb through the wisteria  as the long racemes, opening from the top downwards, had taken on a rather unusual appearance:

IMG_7425The difference the rain has made is palpable, as if the inherent energy of the garden is vibrating at a different frequency. It is at times like this, more than any other, that the urge to share the garden with others is at its greatest – it brings me so much pleasure that it would be selfish to keep such joys to myself. I have not mentioned it before, but I am in fact opening the garden in an informal way for a local charity I am involved with in a fortnight’s time, on Sunday 26th June. To this end I have been tying up the proverbial loose ends and tidying away the detritus, as well as keeping on top of weeding and staking and deadheading and all the other seasonal necessities. Any blogging friends living within travelling distance would be made most welcome, as they would at any time of course. It looks as if the Rector will paying us a visit too:

IMG_7427

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Visiting gardens & days out, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Rumbling Tummy

  1. Anna says:

    It was fairly dry here yesterday despite torrential rain and thunder just down the road. The heavens really opened late this morning when I was at the allotment and it has been raining since. I think that there will be a torchlit mollusc patrol later. Your rose pergola is beginning to look fully clothed Cathy and the scent must be a treat. Hope that they hold on for your open garden event. Maybe I can persuade himself to point the camper van in your direction that Sunday.

    • Cathy says:

      It can be frustrating if it has been really dry and then localised rain passes by and leaves you unscathed but that has been made up for by the sound of it! The Rector will be at his peak and elsewhere there seem to be lots of buds to come, so hopefully… Of course if the campervan was pointed in this direction at a different time you would be guaranteed a personal ‘tour’…! 😉

  2. Ah, that rose-strewn path is delightful! There’s nothing like a good rain after a dry spell. Good luck for your opening… I’d be there in a flash but suspect too far for me. Sometimes when I am tidying the garden, I pretend I have lots of visitors coming…!

  3. homeslip says:

    I would love to ramble round your garden Cathy We’ve had several torrential downpours lately in the south east so both the garden and allotment (especially the weeds) are burgeoning. Our allotments are taking part in an Open Gardens Day next weekend so that is always a good spur to get weeding.

    • Cathy says:

      You are most welcome to visit at any time… Elder Daughter lives in Surrey and was telling me about localised flooding and rainless thunder this last week. Hope the allotments opening goes well too

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Nothing like a deep, soaking rain to keep the garden happy. We received one today as well. As you wrote, a good ‘wash and brush up!’

  5. Oh my goodness your garden looks pretty!

  6. Pauline says:

    Lucky you to get the promised rain, we have only had a couple of misty showers that lasted 5 minutes! The poor garden really needs some proper rain but it keeps missing us! Your roses are beautiful and I’m sure your open day will go well.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – we had near misses with the rain too so this was most welcome. We have had 2 or 3 decent sharp showers since then too so the water butts are filing up again nicely! Hope you get yours soon…

  7. AnnetteM says:

    We had a day of rain yesterday too. The garden really needed it. We didn’t get the heavy rain that you did, just drizzle all day. It is quite unusual to have such a dry spell just after the poppies opened. Usually they are flattened by wind and rain and get spoilt, but this year they have been magnificent. Well done for opening your garden. I am too next month. It is quite scary isn’t it wondering what is going to be out and how on earth you are going to tidy the whole garden at once. I feel the same as you though, we put so much work (and money) into it and it does at times look rather good, so it seems a real shame to keep it to ourselves. Look forward to hearing how you get on and to have any tips passed on about running a successful day.

    • Cathy says:

      Ours were shortish and heavy, making Saturday quite a pleasant day in between – but it’s lovely to be out there in the rain when it has been so dry for ages so I had some wet rambles too! Well done for opening yours too – mine is only publicised in a limited way so it won’t be just any Tom, Dick or Harry turning up this time. That would be the next step… It will indeed be useful to compare notes

      • AnnetteM says:

        Yes I am only sending round mailing lists of groups I belong to and friends and neighbours. So I have no idea of numbers, though I have asked for a RSVP the week before. I am doing coffee and cakes and a plant sale. I do hope I haven’t taken on too much. I do have a couple of friends helping though.

  8. [D] Oh, the joy of long-awaited rain!

  9. Chloris says:

    We got the rain last night. What a relief. But it is forecast for the whole week, which is perhaps more than we need. Good luck with the garden opening, I wish I could come. Your visitors will love it. My garden was open last week and it really does concentrate the mind. And afterwards you can look round and relish the fact that it looks so cared for. And for a short while all you need to do is enjoy it.

    • Cathy says:

      Glad you got some rain too – mixed week forecast here too and yesterday was pleasant with only a sudden very sharp shower in the evening, when I was at the furthermost part of the garden! 😉 Look forward to hearing about your garden opening – I know there is a post of yours awaiting my attention so I wonder if you have written about it there?

  10. Cathy says:

    Glad your garden finally got a good drink Cathy. We have had even more heavy downpours today and there seems no end to it. The peonies have suffered and now the roses will too. June will be a real washout at this rate!

    • Cathy says:

      So sorry your rain has been TOO prolific and your plants have suffered – not halfway through the month yet so hopefully it will pick up for you soon

  11. Annette says:

    Your garden is really looking fresh and vibrant, Cathy. Didn’t realise you’ve had a drought. My pastel-coloured roses didn’t look great after 1 week of rain but I’ve since dead-headed and things look better again. Mind you, the new borders are enjoying the English summer we have so far. 😉 Regards from the dragon who loves it too!

    • Cathy says:

      I am glad your borders and the dragon are enjoying the summer, Annette. I dead headed earlier on the day it rained but need to do it again – lots more buds to come, I am pleased to say! Yes, definitely fresh and vibrant – me and the garden!

  12. Christina says:

    The showers continue here too. If if remains warm for you I’m sure that everything will grow really quickly for you as it dies here.

  13. G.F. says:

    What romantic nooks and crannies. I reckon petals on the ground add to the riches – at least for a little while.
    joanna

  14. I’m glad you got rain if it was needed Cathy, my garden is also being replenished, with dry sunshine, Frances

  15. Good luck with your open day, Cathy. I’m sure it will be a huge success. Fingers crossed for some good weather for us both, ours is open that day too.

Something to say after reading this?

