Bringing Me Pleasure: Roses

IMG_7401It was barely a fortnight ago that the first few rose buds were starting to open but now, only the first week in June, they are romping away and filling the warm afternoons with glorious fragrance. Above are ‘Zéphirine Drouhin’ and ‘Guinée’ in the rose garden, and below is ‘Madame Alfred Carrière’, clambering over the ‘bus shelter’ to the right of the first photo:

IMG_7400Nearby is dog rose, Rosa canina, in the hedge that splits the woodland edge border:

IMG_7402The pergola next to the paved area is clothed in ‘Danse de Feu’, which opens scarlet but fades to this dark pink:

IMG_7398The pergola continues down the side of the sitooterie, providing structure for repeat flowering rambler ‘Rural England’:

IMG_7399

‘Sweet Dreams’ is in a pot on the paved area…

IMG_7406…whilst in the shrub border ‘Munstead Wood’ continues to thank me for allowing it to break out of its original pot…

IMG_7404…Rosa rugosa ‘Hansa’ is flowering for the first time…

IMG_7403… and the first of this season’s blooms has opened on ‘The Poet’s’ Wife:

IMG_7405Meanwhile, outside the front door ‘Pink Perpetueé’ and Clematis viticella ‘Étoile Violette’ always make a pleasing combination and add to the joy that roses have been bringing me over the last week along, of course, with the wisteria which continues to impress. The cloudless blue sky makes a great backdrop – but has also resulted in my rambles often having to include watering cans and detours from my usual route to take in the various water butts!

front.back

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, roses. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Bringing Me Pleasure: Roses

  1. johnvic8 says:

    You are fortunate to have such beautiful roses in your garden…and now in bloom.

  2. Gorgeous. I can almost smell them from here … mmmmmmmmm!

  3. AnnetteM says:

    Lovely selection of roses. I think Sweet Dreams is my favourite.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette; these blooms were smaller than many roses last year but are definitely bigger this year which is a bit of a surprise. I am certainly pleased I have branched out and allowed more apricot and yellows into the garden!

  4. rusty duck says:

    Bootiful. We’re a couple of weeks behind you then. First buds just opening here.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Jessica – we had a very sunny May and so far a sunny June so I suppose this has brought them on as I would have expected yours to be earlier

  5. Your garden is so lush now. Those roses are delicious.

  6. Renee says:

    Beautiful! Your roses are gorgeous, I can see why they bring you joy. I really like the ‘Poet’s Wife’s color.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Renee, this is only its second season but the blooms were gorgeous last year and it has filled out nicely so I expect it to be even more gorgeous!

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Wow, so many roses! I think I know what your IAVOM is going to have. 😉

  8. Christina says:

    You do have a lot of lovely roses and their perfume must be divine if it hangs in the air; the most amazing thing though is that BLUE sky, wow!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – and I am stunned by the number of buds on them all, even the newer ones like The Poet’s Wife. I have to confess I hadn’t realised how completely cloudless the sky was until I saw the photo as I had my head down when I was in the garden, planting out, picking for my vase or just admiring the blooms!

  9. Noelle says:

    Ah roses….summer is here. So many will be flowering for months and even just one will do for a vase. Thanks for showing us yours, the climbers give so many blooms.

    • Cathy says:

      Ah indeed, and it now seems strange to think that it wasn’t very long ago that I didn’t have any roses apart from the Rambling Rector which was here when we came – now I am having to think out of the box to find places for more and more!

  10. G.F. says:

    You are a true Rosarian!
    Brilliant collection. I envy you the R. Perpetue most of all. I had it for years, and loved the way raindrops on the petals made it look like a water colour painting.

  11. Anna says:

    No doubt you’re lapping up all that scent Cathy. The wisteria looks fabulous too!

  12. Cathy says:

    Your garden must smell ravishing at the moment, Cathy. Poet’s Wife is my kind of rose and I do like your new ‘Hansa’. Perhaps, later, a close-up of that lovely C. viticella and ‘Pink Perpetue’?

    • Cathy says:

      It does indeed smell lovely – and sometimes I catch fragrance in an unexpected place too. It was me that got the labels mixed on the rugosas – that pale yellow one is Agnes whereas Hansa is a magenta pink and is also now flowering. They were new 18 months ago but neither flowered last year

  13. [J] Roses make me think of childhood.

Something to say after reading this?

