Looking Good and Giving Me Pleasure Today…

… are the roses, both blooms and quantity of buds, like ‘Madam Alfred Carrière’:

IMG_7352(and look at that sky…!) … ‘Zephirine Drouhin’:

IMG_7353and ‘Munstead Wood’, so much happier now she is out of her pot, albeit a large one:

IMG_7359… the Winter Sunshine sweet peas in the greenhouse and the first outdoor sweet pea:

IMG_7349 IMG_7350…the cutting beds filling up (and the greenhouses emptying!):

IMG_7351

… the only delphinium (‘Camelot’) I have ever got as far as flowering, now in its third year and even bigger and sturdier:

IMG_7354…popular Geum ‘Totally Tangerine’ strutting its stuff next to one of the many alliums that are bursting into bloom:

IMG_7355… a single ranunculus in bloom, my success rate over the years being about 0.1%:

IMG_7356… that glorious patchwork of rhododendrons, epimedium, Geranium phaeum and Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ in the woodland edge border:

IMG_7358… our pink hawthorn flowering properly for the first time:

IMG_7360… and lastly the wisteria, well on the way to making its annual floral statement (and yes, Christina, it does have a fragrance – how could I have doubted it?!):

IMG_7361I had taken these photographs of what has been giving me the greatest pleasure on recent rambles (not forgetting Wednesday’s aquilegias too), then saw that Christina of My Hesperides Garden has linked a similar post to Gillian’s on her Country Garden blog, so I have decided to do the same. Do check out their blogs to see what is looking good in their gardens today.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Looking Good and Giving Me Pleasure Today…

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    The wisteria is stunning – perfect above the lavender painted wall.

  2. AnnetteM says:

    Your garden is looking wonderful. I bought a Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ after first seeing it on your blog. It goes wonderfully well with lots of plant doesn’t it? I currently have mine with a pinkish geum. Can anyone grow Ranunculus? I have about the same success rate as you and believe I also have 1 plant about to flower this year. I am somewhat envious of your sweet peas. I got mine going so early this year, but they have done very little since I planted them out a few weeks ago. (I even warmed the soil with wool pads first and still have it all around them to keep off the slugs!) I think I would have been better to keep them in the greenhouse a bit longer. Oh well maybe they will take off soon.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – I adore my Dragon! The Winter Sunshine sweet peas have been brilliant but I was a bit surprised to have this outdoor one flowering yet, although it was Oct sown and we have been having a warm month. I shall try ranunculus in pots for next year

  3. Sam says:

    Gorgeous abundance, Cathy. The wisteria is magnificent. Our roses are covered with buds but none flowering yet. It’s a great feeling, getting the plants out of the greenhouse and into the ground, isn’t it? We have a hiatus at the moment as I’ve raised loads of cosmos from seed for an area that still needs to be cleared. I potted them all on last week to keep them going a bit longer. Ideally, I’d like to get them in the ground this weekend – fingers crossed for the weather. Have a lovely weekend.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sam – this week’s sunshine has really brought the roses on. Hope you got your cosmos planted – but if you potted them on they will have been OK waiting a bit. Dare I say we could do with a bit of rain to help settle things in…? 😉

  4. johnvic8 says:

    Marvelous…both color and promise for what is coming.

  5. Gillian says:

    Your garden is looking lovely Cathy. I love your Wisteria especially. It looks very well trained unlike ours which is allowed to run riot. Looking forward to seeing your cutting bed develop over the next few weeks. Thanks very much for joining in with my blog event Looking Good’. You and everyone else are most welcome each Friday.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Gillian – we put the wisteria in about 16 years ago and as the first stems got longer we put the first supporting wire in against the gable, then added the others when there was enough growth. Once the framework was in it was quite straight forward to do the twice a year pruning – and as you can see it rewards for me for the effort!

  6. Renee says:

    Lovely! I always love the patchwork effect, and can’t wait to see how your cutting beds grow this year!

  7. Brian Skeys says:

    I have always had a weakness for Wisteria and red Hawthorn. I grew up next door to my Grandparents in Wisteria Cottage and there was a large beautiful red Hawthorn in the garden.

  8. Chloris says:

    I love your red hawthorn and how beautifully you have trained your wisteria. Gorgeous roses and your border with the rhododendrons is stunning. By the way, the Red Dragon you sent me is flourishing.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – and trained like this the wisteria looks good as a bare skeleton too. The roses are even further on after this weekend’s warmth and sunshine – the fragrance was becoming more apparent too. Good to know the Dragon has settled in happily

  9. rickii says:

    Love that dark rose…such an unusual color…and the wisteria, of course. Thanks for sharing your pleasure.

  10. That is a wonderful wisteria so artfully framing your house. I love your woodland border too!

  11. Cathy says:

    The hawthorn and wisteria in particular are superb (but everything is!) Looking forward to seeing the cutting borders later on.

  12. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: By the Hedge | Rambling in the Garden

  13. That Munstead Wood is such a sumptuously and complexly rich colour – I yearn to get a scent of that. Alas the only roses that we can, realistically, grow are varieties of rosa rugosa.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks – and it really does seem to be happier out of the pot. I know from Frances of Island Threads that rugosas do well, but at least there are a few varieties to choose from. I have added 3 rugosas here, but they are only just establishing although flowering looks more promising for this year

Something to say after reading this?

