Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Unblemished

GBFD.hostasMay16Please visit Christina’s blog at My Hesperides Garden for more foliage day posts – thank you for hosting, Christina.

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Foliage day, Gardening, Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Unblemished

  1. What a beautiful collection of hostas. Perfect foliage.

  2. johnvic8 says:

    Hostas. Hostas. Hostas. Lovely.

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    Wow, a white hosta – I’ve never seen one like that. Are these in your garden?
    I like the title of the post. That’s what I love about this time of year – all the new leaves are whole and perfect!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, all in my garden Eliza. Some of the ones I showed are miniatures, which I am particularly fond of – but the jury is still out on White Feather!

      • Eliza Waters says:

        Such an unusual cultivar. The slugs around here would make mincemeat of those lovelies. I can only grow the very large ones like Sum and Substance, with a minimum of damage. I think their leaves get too hard.

  4. Nothing like raindrops on Hostas! Alas the bunnies have been chewing mine so a number of them are definitely blemished.

  5. Amy Myers says:

    They look wonderful 🙂 Like Eliza, I’m intrigued by that white one at centre…

  6. Peter/Outlaw says:

    So beautiful! I wish for you that deer, slugs, and snails will leave them alone and that they’ll look this pristine until your first frost!

  7. Pauline says:

    Perfect, I hope they stay that way!

  8. The Battle of Life : Hostas v Slugs. No doubting which side you’re on!

  9. Christina says:

    Do you do anything to protect them Cathy? I too am intrigued by the completely white leaves, surely that means the plant can’t photosynthesise at all? Thanks for your contribution to this months GBFD.

    • Cathy says:

      After trying several alternatives I am thinking of reverting to minimal use of pellets but am undecided yet. Gardeners Question Time has suggested upside down carpet tiles, under which slugs will collect. White Feather came as part of a collection and I am not sue I would have chosen it. Apparently it will develop green streaks later in the season and maybe fully green leaves

    • Cathy says:

      After trying several alternatives I am thinking of reverting to minimal use of pellets but am undecided yet. Gardeners Question Time has suggested upside down carpet tiles, under which slugs will collect. White Feather came as part of a collection and I am not sure I would have chosen it. Apparently it will develop green streaks later in the season and maybe fully green leaves

  10. Kalamain says:

    Wow… Hostas that are not half eaten by slugs and snails… Well done you!

    This year I’m going to try ground up egg shells to protect mine. Others have suggested it worked for them. We shall see!

    • Cathy says:

      Tried that…. didn’t work…

      • Kalamain says:

        really? did anything actually work? because standing outside all night and day with a torch and slug sized shotgun is really all that appealing! >.>

        • Cathy says:

          Coffee grounds…no, beer…not cheap beer. Currently I am trying to ask them nicely to find somewhere else to dine 😉

          • Kalamain says:

            I know slug pellets work… But they have so many issues.
            I have tried hard to get the birds in, and they do work to a degree… Its just that slugs come out when the birds are snoring.
            I’d love to do nematodes but they are out of my price range. B-(

            I need *something*. B-)

          • Cathy says:

            It’s life though – and slugs need to eat … Makes you feel sorry for the poor unloved creatures though 😉

  11. They’re perfect! How did you manage it? I’m considering copper tape. I tried some several years ago, but wasn’t convinced – and it was quite expensive. The roll didn’t cover many pots. However, I noticed last year, that the one remaining hosta pot with tape, did seem to have fared much better than the others. As I only have a couple of hosta pots, it will be worth trying again. I’ll keep you posted!

Something to say after reading this?

