In a Vase on Monday: Fiery Spirit

IMG_7298With The Wedding flowers and a wild flower vase at my Mum’s it seems some time since I have put together a ‘proper’ vase so was delighted to have the opportunity again this Monday.

The tulips I showed yesterday are past their peak and were unlikely to last long in a vase, but I couldn’t resist including a single ‘Irene Parrot’ and a clutch of ‘National Velvet’, all part of Peter Nyssen’s Harlequin Mixture. Other fiery contributors were Tulip batalini IMG_7303‘Bronze Charm’, Geum ‘Totally Tangerine’, Cheiranthus allionii and a red/orange aquilegia (grown from seed), Anemone ‘Hollandia’ and foliage of Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ and fresh bronze leaves of Epimedium. They were placed in a dull grey Prinknash Pottery jug and accompanied by a large piece of locally mined coal and a hand polished carnelian. That parrot tulip is really something, isn’t it?

What box of delights will you share be sharing with us today? Just pick from your garden or forage locally and pop it in a vase or other container and provide links to and from your blog post. See you soon!

IMG_7300

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

85 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: Fiery Spirit

  1. Pingback: May 16th 2016 In a vase on Monday – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  2. Christina says:

    Exotic colours and a fabulous tulip = a beautiful vase. Lovely Cathy, here’s my link: https://myhesperidesgarden.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/may-16th-2016-in-a-vase-on-monday/

  3. Phowar! Fiery indeed. Wonderful mix, hot summery colours.
    Did I mention I am going to Chelsea next week – very excited! I went about 30 years ago and since have enjoyed catching every minute on the BBC, but it will be fun to go again.

    • Cathy says:

      Whoohoo again! More like 40 years since the only time I went… 😉 I shall be watching it on television during much needed breaks from test marking!

  4. Chloris says:

    Ilove the fiery colour scheme of your vase this week Cathy. That Parrot tulip is sumptuous. I have contributed my vase bright and early this week, to be honest, I cheated and did it yesterday. https://thebloominggarden.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-mon…uds-while-ye-may/

    • Cathy says:

      Is doing it on Sunday cheating? If so then I am the biggest cheat of all as I always do it on Sunday these days – with swimming and Pilates on Monday morning it would otherwise be lunchtime when I posted and everyone would be champing at the bit waiting to add their links!! The parrot tulip had been open for several days and therfore past its best but it made a perfect basis for the vase

  5. Sam says:

    A gorgeous combination of colours here Cathy. Like Liz, I also did mine yesterday 🙂 I should be hard at work at this very minute! Here’s my link: https://acoastalplot.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-distracted/
    Thank you x

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sam – increasingly people seem to be putting their vases together on a Sunday, but why not as it is a sensible option for those who are busy elsewhere than their gardens on a Monday

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: distracted | acoastalplot

  7. Cathy says:

    That Peter Nyssen Harlequin mix looks lovely! A great vase, beautifully presented, Cathy. Especially loved that touch of epimedium foliage. I’ve actually managed to do one myself this week, and here’s my link: https://gardendreamingatchatillon.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-3/

  8. pbmgarden says:

    The parrot tulip is amazing and suggests a great color palette for your arrangement. I love the beautiful reds throughout the vase. Red found its way into my vase today also. Thanks for hosting Cathy.
    https://pbmgarden.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-cherished-red/

  9. Hannah says:

    Exotic bright colors, Cathy, I would love to be able to grow parrot tulips, perhaps I should try in a pot. The red and orange Aquilegias I started were all too demure and don’t show themselves, or quietly faded away. I like all the intense Red Dragon foliage, and the black jug brings out all the bright colors.

    My link today has some seasonable and unseasonable elements-

    http://weedingonthewildside.blogspot.com/2016/05/perks-of-procrastination-may-16-2016.html

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Hannah. The aquilegia are meant (I thought) to have bigger flowers than they seem to do, but I suppose that is the unknown thrill of growing from seed…

  10. I love the bold colors of your vase today. A great start for the week.

  11. What jolly colours, just lovely Cathy.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kate. With wedding things and being away I thought I might miss most of the tulips – although the T batalini have only just come into flower

  12. I agree that parrot tulip is gorgeous. I also have a tulip surprise this week. I can tell you had fun picking all those fiery colors Cathy. And I liked the pale peachy colors that offset the reds and oranges too. Great black jug as if fire were rising from coals.

    Here is my link this week:

    http://gardenseyeview.com/2016/05/16/simply-the-best-natives-dutchmans-breeches/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Donna – and ironically I had chosen the jug as a suitable size/shape before I made the connection with the ‘coal’ effect. Serendipity yet again!!

  13. Gillian says:

    That’s a lovely vibrant vase today Cathy. I’ve gone for chalky pale pastels for a change!
    https://countrygardenuk.com/2016/05/16/may-delights/

  14. Pingback: May Delights | Country Garden UK

  15. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: The Can-can Girls | Words and Herbs

  16. Cathy says:

    I just adore that parrot tulip Cathy! In fact those colours are all lovely, especially with the tangerine Geum. I have just opened an account at Peter Nyssens (I hadn’t realised they have a German website too) and put the Harlequin mix on my wish list, so thanks for telling us which collection it was. Here is my own collection for today: https://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-can-can-girls/

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – I checked back on the website before I posted to see if it listed which varieties were in there, which it did. When I ordered, I think I was dithering about what to choose but liked the look of everything in that collection so had that (plus others!!). I am pleased you are able to order from PN – I have always been very pleased with what they sell

  17. That Harlequin mixture is wonderful, especially with your additions. So velvety. My contribution is here: http://eachlittleworld.typepad.com/each_little_world/2016/05/in-vases-on-monday-the-lusty-month-of-may.html

  18. I love Parrot Tulips and the colors and contrast with the grey vase is wonderful. Here is my vase this Monday. https://theshrubqueen.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-frangipani-and-fennel-failure
    Thank you for hosting, Cathy. This is such fun.

  19. Pingback: Berries & Birdcages | Petal & Pins

  20. petal & pins says:

    Beautiful Cathy! I think it’s actually Tuesday morning here – but this is my effort from Monday afternoon! https://blog.petalandpins.com/2016/05/17/berries-birdcages/

  21. Pingback: in a vase on monday | sprig to twig

  22. rickii says:

    This arrangement may flame out quickly, but in the meantime, what a show! Here’s mine: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5436

  23. Well Cathy I have got something similar to join you today. I love your parrots! https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com

  24. Anca Tîrcă says:

    A great combination of colours, as if created by a painter!
    My vase is also with tulips, the last ones: http://timpingradina.blogspot.ro/2016/05/in-vase-on-mnday-good-bye-tulips.html

  25. Loree Bohl says:

    Oh that is just gorgeous! Beautiful elements that come together to create a fabulous whole. Today I’m showcasing the beauty of Peonies…
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/05/in-vase-on-monday-power-of-peonies.html

  26. Kris P says:

    Tulips in general make me sigh but parrot tulips make me green with envy. You picked a perfect set of companions for your ‘Irene’ too. While, sadly, I have no tulips to share, I do have a few exotic choices of my own this week: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/05/in-vase-on-monday-more-renga-lilies.html

    Thanks for hosting!

  27. susurrus says:

    Very painterly – I love it!

  28. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – The Meadow | Frogend dweller's Blog

  29. Oh, what great colours. The reds are lovely, but I love the tangerine geum. You always find interesting foliage to set your arrangements apart. (It made me go out and check whether my Red Dragon is still alive – yeay, it is).

    My vase is completely naturalistic this week, picked from a meadow on the morning walk: https://frogenddweller.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-the-meadow/

  30. Pingback: In A Vase On Monday – Sweet Pea Success & A Winner – Peonies & Posies

  31. Julie says:

    You got to my post before I had chance to add a link here – sorry for the delay but I wanted to watch the Great British Sewing Bee! It is so sad to see all the tulips going over isn’t it – we wait so long for the season and it is over so quickly! Well done for making the most of them and t is good to see the wedding flowers are still in use. It is good to have you back from your travels Cathy – enjoy the delights of your May garden!
    My vase is at::http://peoniesandposies.com/2016/05/16/in-a-vase-on-monday-sweet-pea-success-a-winner/

    • Cathy says:

      Because there are so many comments and other vases on a Monday I try to keep on top of them and noticed you had posted so had a look there and then – I am saving GBSB for Tuesday! Thanks for your kind comments

  32. Eliza Waters says:

    I love parrot tulips and yours is like swirled marble – gorgeous! Love the apricot geum, too.
    I’m wondering why my pingbacks aren’t working? Are you receiving them?
    Here’s my vase this week in any case: http://wp.me/p3O3z4-14U

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Eliza – and it stuck me how similar it was to the carnelian too, although I didn’t mention it at the time. As far as I know your pingbacks are working – I can click on your link and get to your post. Should it be doing more than that?

      • Eliza Waters says:

        It doesn’t show up in your comments like others’ do, so I was wondering why and if you had to do something on your end? I’m not all that IT savvy. 😉 As I am 6 hours behind you, by the time I get to comment with my link, it is at the end of your day.

  33. Elizabeth says:

    Stunning combination of blooms in your vase today and the black vase is the perfect container. I love the parrot tulip, it is so exotic looking. You’ll find my vase couldn’t be more of a contrast – http://silverscrappers.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/in-vase-on-monday-wildflowers-and-apple.html

  34. Anna says:

    That’s a most cheerful assembly Cathy. The markings on your Parrot tulip are rather special. I came across black as well as blue Parrots at our local garden centre this weekend. I was rather smitten by them especially the blue which of course isn’t blue but mauve. No vase from me today as I didn’t have the energy to walk round the garden and snip after a seven hour allotment stint. I was ok until I sat down. I will enjoy other folk’s vases instead 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna – I wonder if your allotment is fit for purpose again after your 7 hour stint… I have Victoria’s Secret which is a dark purple parrot, but I suppose the single colours are not as obviously striking as these straeked ones

  35. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Lovely vase, so colourful and almost reminiscent of late summer with its hot colours. This year I tried my first parrot tulips and I’m undecided; they’re beautiful but also… Odd. I’m not sure. But I do think I’ll have them again next year.

    Nice to see totally tangerine; I lost both of mine this winter oddly enough, but not to worry I’ve already replaced them. There was no way I was going without them.

    • Cathy says:

      I recall you being the first blogger who mentioned TT… hope your new ones establish more quickly than mine has 😉 Are you not blogging yourself these days, Liz?

  36. Hi, Cathy, You have so much more in bloom than we do, but I do have parrot tulips. This is my first visit (sent here by Loree’s post), and while I haven’t posted on my bouquet – having just blogged about tulips – I do have an Instagram shot of the bouquet I made before reading about your meme. Let’s see if I can share it: https://www.instagram.com/p/BFe4ylHxKtm/

    • Cathy says:

      Oh welcome Helen – you certainly have more extremes of weather in Canada than the UK does. It is always interesting to hear about the weather and seasonal differences on other garden blogs! I am off to look at your Instagram shot now…

  37. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Sunny spring colors are such a delight and you’ve used them artfully in your arrangement! I cheated a bit with my contribution this week: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/05/in-vase-on-monday-foliage-follow-up.html

  38. Amy Myers says:

    The parrot tulip is fabulous – such a luscious blend of colous; it looks edible 😉 Which could also be said of the geum! Having seen so many lovely pictures of Totally Tangerine last summer and now, I would certainly have added it to my to-grow list if it grew here (it doesn’t; I checked X) Love the effect of the fiery hues with the dark pitcher…
    My vase this week comes from the nooks and crannies of the garden: https://smallsunnygarden.blogspot.com/2016/05/garden-bloom-in-may.html

  39. Annette says:

    Gosh, this certainly made my blood pressure go up. Pure gorgeous, love the colours and delicate flowers. Couldn’t join in this time as I had lots to prepare for our open garden day…several vases were put in place though 😉

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette, and even though the tulips are now over the rest is still looking pretty. I am pleased you were still able to find the time to display some vases for your special day – always makes a nice touch – and I am glad it went well

Something to say after reading this?

