Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: a New Bloom Every Day

IMG_7088… or so it seems, so the tulips that appeared in a recent vase are now joined in their tank by the pretty pink ones, leaving me even more puzzled by what they are. A named mix of pink varieties from Aldi two or three years ago, they seem to be doing better each year, but despite the names and original illustrations am not certain what varieties they are – they might be Ollioulies and Van Eijk, or they might not.

As Christina has recently been describing on her blog each day, every walk round the garden, brings a new discovery but today I shall just focus on the ones making the greatest impact, most of which at this time of the year are bulbs. So in the woodland we have the most floriferous ever Rhododendron ‘Cheers’ with wood anemones and fritillaries, and bluebells coming into flower across the bark path:

IMG_7089 IMG_7098In the bold borders species tulips Linifolia and T vvedenski ‘Henry Hudson’ are looking joyfully bold:

IMG_7090 IMG_7091In the hedge border, increasingly referred to by the Golfer as ‘the owl border’, Anemone blanda looks stunning, even with their heads hung low to shrug off the rain. Already increasing well, these will be added to for next season:

IMG_7087On the eight pillars of the clematis colonnade Clematis alpina is in bud, half of them now opening. All but ‘Constance’ were newly planted two years ago and make me realise how long it can take for clematis to fully establish. Clockwise from top left: Pamela Jackman, Ocean Pearl (don’t you just love that huge pearly central boss?), Constance and Rosy Pagoda:

ClematisApril16

Blown in from outside the garden there are clumps of cowslips in the streamside grass, first overlapping the yellow of the ‘Tete a Tete’ but now providing sunniness on their own with the last of the narcissi having been deadheaded:

IMG_7099There are many more joys to discover on my April rambles, many more on the point of bursting into bloom, but I hope you have enjoyed sharing at least some of them with me on this Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, kindly hosted by Carol of May Dreams Garden

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: a New Bloom Every Day

  1. johnvic8 says:

    Your tulips and clematis are lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pauline says:

    Your wood anemones have spread wonderfully, they are amazing!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – they just get better! And I can be generous in sharing them or establishing other little colonies, like under the holly tree. They sem to take a few years to establish but then away they go and the obviouly like the conditions. I am sure I only started with 100 twiggy bits in 2000

  3. rickii says:

    Your tulips needn’t have names to be wonderful. I’m trying to be less hung up on knowing the names of everything.

  4. Christina says:

    you have a lot of success with clematis; even in my English garden they struggles because it was so dry and free draining. I don’t really think of clematis and tulips flowering at the same time, but of course these pretty early do and they make a lovely combination.

    • Cathy says:

      Now that I have cut out all the montanas I have none that are really extensive but there are several new ones in waiting. Constance is the oldest but sulked for a few years after I moved her so we could build the clematis colonnade so it is good to see her looking happy again. I am trying hard to remember to feed and water them all during the year!

  5. Tulips are just starting to bloom here – I don’t think of them blooming with rhodies so I am just enjoying that combination. Happy GBBD from upstate New York!

  6. Chloris says:

    Clematis in bloom already, how lovely. I love them all. What an amazing time of year when there are ever more beautiful flowers to enjoy. It makes the daily ramble so exciting.

  7. Your garden seems way ahead of mine on the Welsh borders … Lovely to see the clematis coming on so well and your drifts of woodland anemones are beautiful Cathy.

  8. Eliza Waters says:

    Your garden is just bursting with new life!

  9. Linnae says:

    I like the color combinations you have going here. Happy Bloom Day!

  10. Sam says:

    Whatever the tulips are they’re lovely. It’s all looking great.

  11. Cathy the tall white trunk of your birch with the rhododendron looks beautiful, I envisaged I would have tall white trunks on mine, oh well, I like your hot tulips, bright red tulips bring a certain zing to the garden, beautiful clematis too, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Frances – I don’t know why some are more silver than others, do you? Where I have the trio of them in the woodland edge border two are silver and the third isn’t!

      • oh mine are white Cathy, they just aren’t Tall!!!!!!!

        mine start off, young growth a nice warm golden brown then as they mature turn a beautiful (imo) creamy white and they peel in both stages, mine are Downy Birch which are slightly different to Silver Birch, Frances

        • Cathy says:

          Yes, I forgot yours were the downy birch. They will obviously get much more wind than mine do, and in my little woodland they have had to grow taller to find some light!

  12. Seeing your tulips makes me realize I need to plant some more of them. I love the reds. Happy GBBD.

  13. Steve Jones says:

    I love cowslips, remind me of my younger days.

  14. rusty duck says:

    Clematis alpina do seem particularly slow to establish. I’ve just bought ‘Frances Rivis’ to cover a wall and I’m already thinking a second purchase might be prudent.

    • Cathy says:

      That’s interesting Jessica – I have tried hard to nurture my new ones! I also have an established FR on a pergola with some roses but I find the fairly small flowers don’t stand out very well against their feathery leaves. Many others have bigger flowers – Constance’s lovely pink flowers certainly make a statement – so choose wisely if you go for a second one

  15. Anna says:

    Most pretty tulips whatever their name. ‘Ocean Pearl’ looks rather tempting Cathy. I must investigate forthwith 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

