An Old Gate Post

IMG_6949Solid as a rock
Class act on an old gate post
Firm until it falls

Solid as a rock, class act on an old gate post
Class act on an old gate post, firm until it falls

Today I am joining Ronovan Writes for his haiku challenge (challenge words firm and class) and Wild Daffodil‘s photo challenge (challenge word solid). Thanks to both of them for hosting.

This entry was posted in Gardens, haiku, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to An Old Gate Post

  1. I do like your garden sculpture. I see a chorister carrying a candle.

  2. I had to laugh , Cathy, I had such a lot of fun trying to format a poem on WP yesterday. So, I shall appreciate your’s all the more. I especially like the pairing of your haiku with the sculpture, even the seam above the lynch pin is evocative.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Kate – and if it’s any consolation I wrestled with formatting when I first posted poems but then found the solution within the WordPress ‘help’ topics – as you may have discovered by now you need to press the ‘shift’ and ‘return’ keys at the same time to get the text on the next line. I always double check by previewing before I post these days. It was an interesting exercise taking the photo for the haiku as the post came from my Mum’s house and has been weathering here for a few years now so the ‘seam’ is become more pronounced and the stone is sitting more solidly on the post as the innards begin to disintegrate and form a hollow

  3. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round Up: SOLID | Wild Daffodil

  4. love your gate post. I always admire the grooves in old posts. Nowt so queer as folk?

Something to say after reading this?

