Outa Space

IMG_6771…well, not quite yet, but I am anticipating that in a couple of month’s time I might be! The staging of the larger greenhouse is full of overwintering sweet peas, fuchsia, pelargonium and chrysanthemum, with late summer sown cerinthe, poppy and cornflower on the upper level – hmm, it might have helped if the latter three had been planted out in autumn…

IMG_6772Winter Sunshine sweet peas, as described by Julie at Peonies and Posies earlier in the week, are doing well in the greenhouse border, and across the path from them are pots of narcissi, hyacinth and Anemone de Caen. I now know from Julie’s advice that it is worth feeding these sweet peas before flowering, as well as other seedlings kept in pots or trays for any length of time – do have a look at her post for other helpful hints and a free giveaway!

It has been largely dry this week after local flooding but cold with a chilly breeze, and I don’t envisage being able to plant out the summer sown seedlings for several weeks, which may leave a space issue once this year’s seedlings are potted on…

IMG_6770Sowing began in earnest again at the beginning of February, with my ‘contraption’ brought into use again beside the ever present warmth of the Aga. As soon as seedlings germinate inside their individual plastic bag propagators they are moved out to the smaller greenhouse which is kept just about frost free – still risking a big drop in temperature but increasing the light levels. So far all have survived the transition.

As in previous years I find this process so exciting – the joy of tiny seeds bursting into growth within days and changing from white to green as they absorb more light, producing their own distinctive and recognisable true leaves in no time at all. Such magic!

So far there is no pressure for space in the smaller greenhouse, even though autumn sown stock and Californian poppy (top photo below), nigella and linum (middle) and others have been joined by this year’s seedlings (bottom) at various stages. Once pricking out and potting on stages are reached and seedlings transferred into cells from their current quarter trays, however, it won’t be long before it is bursting at the seams – and with no overflow space available in its larger neighbour!

IMG_6775

IMG_6774IMG_6773

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse, seed sowing. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Outa Space

  1. thatssojacob says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day! In honor of Valentine’s Day 2K16, I challenge you to send 16 comments of LOVE to blogs you like (and then come visit me at http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com and leave a love note for me). Much love to you!

  2. rusty duck says:

    You are ahead of me, as ever, but I can see in a few weeks I’ll have the same problem. Could there be ‘contraptions’ in the greenhouse to increase staging space? With seedlings burgeoning it’s a nice problem to have.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I imagine there will be some sort of contraption in due course! I blame the chrysanthemums – and it’s not as if they flowered anyway…so are they worth keeping…?!

  3. I wish I had your greenhouse. It would be crammed full. It is snowing like crazy here now. It will be awhile before I can get anything going outside. Mmmmm sweet peas.

  4. johnvic8 says:

    My, what you can do with a greenhouse. Perhaps in my next life I will have the resources…and the space…to have one. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Anna says:

    Oh exciting times 🙂

  6. homeslip says:

    You are so industrious Cathy. 2k16 is going to be a good year for you I think! I haven’t sown anything yet although today I bought packet of white sweet peas (Julie’s influence I’m sure) as well as some wildflower mix to scatter and a tiny quince tree to plant at the cottage.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Sarah – and I learned from my industriousness last year, so hopefully I can build on that. Still need to work on trusting in the earlier planting out of summer sown plants!

  7. Renee says:

    I’m always so impressed by everything you can grow from seeds. I definitely do not have that part of a green thumb. But maybe if I had a lovely greenhouse like that? I hope you find space for everyone!

    • Cathy says:

      And my greenhouses are fairly small – I can see now why some people have much larger ones! The last couple of years has reminded me that so many things are very easy to grow from seed

  8. Christina says:

    The perennial greenhouse dilemma! I will need to move another stand into the greenhouse as soon as some of the tulips pots are finished. I have grown too much already.

  9. Wow, do your photos ever bring back memories! 😉 I had a greenhouse back in the late 1980s, thereby proving for myself that nature abhors a vacuum (vacuum in that case meaning “empty bench space”, lol)!

    • Cathy says:

      Well yes, although the greenhouse that was here when we came was huge (but in the wrong place – too shady) and while I was working I didn’t have time to do the space justice anyway. I could easily fill one that size now!

  10. I love this time of the winter when you start to see the promise of the coming gardening year.

  11. I love to see a burgeoning greenhouse at this time of year, so full of promise. The challenge reminds me of one of those word square games where you shunt letters back and forth …. Have fun!

  12. I’ve not started sowing yet, do plenty of room, but I know it won’t last!

Something to say after reading this?

