Oddments

IMG_6752Having written a list of  ‘jobs’ that needed to be done in the garden, mostly of the ‘move this’, ‘tidy that’ type, I didn’t let yesterday’s rain get in the way – it was never heavy here, just persistent, but the saturation was worth it to cross all those things off the list, some outstanding for just too long.

As well as the tidying tasks, the timber for replacing these steps (below left) had been waiting for a few months and it took less than an hour to do the job, including digging up and splitting some primroses and ferns to add to those already bordering them. These steps lead from the right hand end of the snowdrop border, behind a dead tree covered in ivy and into the woodland. Another job quickly done was adding vine eyes to all the posts with climbing roses, spaced at regular intervals so that when tied into the posts the roses will look less of a shambles than they do now – a new supply of this soft flexible wire is needed before the job can be finished and they are all tied in neatly and consistently.

oddmentsAlongside these odd jobs, have a look at these oddments as well – Hamamelis ‘Ruby Glow’ in the top picture, clearly NOT red this year as it should be, something I have never come across before, and a fused flower on snowdrop Galanthus ‘Mrs Thompson’ (a frequent occurrence in this variety) and the distinctive twin spathes of  donkey-eared Galanthus nivalis ‘Scharlockii’:

oddments2

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Oddments

  1. rickii says:

    I’ve been doing indoor jobs today and don’t know why…the sun is shining for once. Oh well, there’s still time but so many chores I don’t know where to begin.

    • Cathy says:

      Ah, that’s why I like a list – and something physical to cross off! Only a bit of painting left on the list now – but too damp for that still

  2. Renee says:

    It’s always nice to get those little tasks crossed of the list. I hope you can figure out what’s up with your Hamaelis!

  3. Working in the rain. You were very determined. It does feel good to cross off on the chore list.

    • Cathy says:

      Today was better though Lisa – the steps and the vine eyes were done today, and all the tidying jobs in the rain yesterday. None of them were very big jobs so I got lots done which is why it was worth doing despite the weather!

  4. Anna says:

    I imagine that it might have been windy as well as wet Cathy. I was not that far from you at one point on the way down to visit my Mum. It’s always a good feeling when you can tick off jobs on the to do list. I’ve had a thought about your witch hazel and will email you on my return home.

    • Cathy says:

      Windyish yesterday before the rain – pleasant day today but a bit colder. I will be interested to hear your witch hazel theory… Will you be home by Weds as I aim to post things on Tuesday?

  5. Christina says:

    Today was horrible here; strong wind and grey skies meant that I spent my time in the greenhouse rather than in the garden. After many of the previous seeds germinating leaving space on the hot propagation trays I succumbed and sowed tomato seeds.

    • Cathy says:

      After yesterday it was dry again today but our local roads are flooded and more rain is due this week… It can be quite a cosy feeling pottering in the greenhouse when it it is wild outside, can’t it? When do you usually start sowing your tomatoes? I have been sowing as well which I meant to mention but forgot…

      • Christina says:

        I usually sow tomatoes in January but in reality that is a bit soon, I was going to wait another week but with all the flowers still left to sow I thought it would be best to get on with the tomatoes, they can be potted on and allowed to get larger before being planted out.

  6. A little nudge to get out into the garden is greatly appreciated. I have had a chance to do a few tasks to tidy in the garden, but the soil here is still so wet it is hard to get around to do much.

  7. Chloris says:

    Well done, Imogen kept me inside yesterday. I am itching to get on. I am mystified about your Ruby Glow, I have never heard of that happening before. I have heard of Mrs Thompson doing this double- head trick, so far it has never happened to mine. How interesting.

  8. Its really nice to get some of those smallish jobs done, isn’t it. I managed to bodge my wooden greenhouse so that it is watertight again today, before heading off to watch the rugby. So very nice to have decent weather for a change too. My witch hazel is flowering very badly this year, I think it just didn’t get cold enough for it. At least the flowers that are there are the right colour though…

    • Cathy says:

      I will let people know if I find out what the witch hazel colour problem is… Glad you have some flowers on yours though, even if not as many as you would have liked!

Something to say after reading this?

