Wordless Wednesday: Katharine Springs a Surprise

IMG_6424 IMG_6428 IMG_6427

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardens, Wordless Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Katharine Springs a Surprise

  1. Whaaaat! They are lovely but……. what time of year do they usually flower? Turvy-topsy!

  2. Wel jel (!) I have never managed to get these to flower, what is your secret?

  3. Oh no! your little iris are up and BLOOMING!! Don’t you wonder what will happen when winter finally arrives…then what will spring be like?

    • Cathy says:

      It was amazing to see them and they really did take me by surprise. We had a frost last night, one of only a very few this winter, so we shall see what happens…

  4. Chloris says:

    On my goodness, what a lovely surprise indeed. I’ m going straighg out to check up on mine.

  5. Cathy says:

    Wow, that IS early! Aren’t they lovely!

  6. homeslip says:

    Lovely surprise, I love the markings on this Iris. I spotted anemone blanda in flower today but snowdrops, crocus and Iris are just green shoots in my garden.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, the markings are really striking. I noticed the common snowdrops are just beginning to poke through here, which is fairly normal as far as timing goes. My crocus are planted under grass so always take me surprise – must go and check them out though!

  7. rusty duck says:

    Whoa! No sign here… I hope she hasn’t deserted me.

  8. FlowerAlley says:

    Wow. These surprises scare me.

  9. Anna says:

    !!! What a surprise to come home to Cathy. No sign of mine yet but I see that yours are nestled in the shelter of a wall which must provide some extra central heating.

    • Cathy says:

      I have no idea when they started pushing through, Anna, as they were hidden by the grass – it is only their second year so I don’t really know how fussy they are and perhaps the nearby fence does make a difference

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    A new year’s holiday surprise. I think Kathleen’s been tricked into giving her treat!

  11. rickii says:

    I am left speechless.

  12. Cathy says:

    She’s just beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Oh my goodness what a fabulous surprise….mine have stayed hidden below ground…they knew it was going to get cold and snowy!

Something to say after reading this?

