Tree Update: a Moment of Unseasonal Joy

IMG_5992There is little to report on the witch hazel that I am watching for the meme hosted by Lucy of Loose and Leafy. Hamamelis vernalis ‘Amethyst’ has grown another 3 cm since last month and now reaches 142 cm so will undoubtedly have caught me up by some time next year. Unlike some of the witch hazels there no sign of leaf loss yet, and only a couple of leaves have even started to change colour:

IMG_5993

Hamamelis ‘Zuccariniana’ (below left) and ‘Arnold Promise’ both lost all their leaves a week or two ago whereas ‘Ruby Glow’ is, well, just glowing (below right):

w.hazelsI regularly inspect all of the witch hazels to see if their seedpods have ‘exploded’ yet, but those on ‘Amethyst’ and the others are still intact (below left). A moment of seasonal joy was, however, experienced three weeks ago when I caught sight of an extremely early flower on H ‘Jelena’ (below right). Witch hazel flowers in September? Whatever next!

w.hazel2

This entry was posted in Gardens, monthly tree post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Tree Update: a Moment of Unseasonal Joy

  1. Sam says:

    Gosh that ‘Ruby Glow’ does glow, doesn’t it?! And is there a delicious scent coming from that witch hazel flower? I adore their citrusy smell. I’m definitely going to have to put one on my wish list…

    • Cathy says:

      Contrary to popular belief most don’t have a noticeable fragrance (it helps if there is some warmth) – so no, not from these couple of flowers 😉

  2. Amy says:

    “Amethyst” is wonderful, holding that deep, rich green so long! Of course, it must be hard to compete with “Ruby Glow”!

  3. Christina says:

    ‘Ruby Glow’ is amazing, what a gorgeous colour. It is growing very fast isn’t it?

  4. rusty duck says:

    I’ve had a few blooms too, on ‘Diane’. I hope they don’t weaken the display next year.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh that’s interesting Jessica, although I am confident it won’t weaken the display as there have been odd flowers on all sorts of things this year (like a single apple blossom today)!

  5. My witch hazel is blooming up a storm now. It still has leaves too. I enjoy seeing those pretty wirey looking blooms. They are small but there are many. This has been it’s best year. It was supposed to be a hybrid, I forget which one but it reverted to the natural state. I like it just as well or better. Yours will bloom some day when you least expect it.

  6. Stella Etherton says:

    It’s very comforting to hear that some of your witch hazels have lost their leaves . My 2 year old Pallida , grown in a pot as we are on heavy clay has lost its leaves and I was a bit worried , although there are plenty of buds ! Hope to find a place for it in the garden eventually !

    • Cathy says:

      It concerned me last year too when one of mine lost all its leaves weeks before the others – but it has been fine this year, and again lost its leaves before most of the others

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Love that Ruby Glow!

  8. Brian Skeys says:

    It is strange but interesting the different ways trees/shrubs of the same species change leaf colour along with the different time they loose them.

  9. Pauline says:

    Mine are still green, no change yet, Ruby Glow is stunning!

  10. croftgarden says:

    Lovely plant with a good form. Do I spy a little pink seed bag?

  11. Chloris says:

    Your Amethyst is doing well. I wonder whether you will be adding any more?

    • Cathy says:

      I am still holding out for ‘Strawberries and Cream’ Chloris – so I can definitely blame (or thank) you for the static nature of my collection… 😉

  12. My witch hazel is now naked, save for some very promisingly fat buds, and is surrounded by beautiful leaf litter. I agree with Pauline, Ruby Glow is a real stunner, and well named.

  13. rickii says:

    Looks like the fruit of a medlar…smaller, I’m sure.

  14. Chris k says:

    I haven’t any witch hazel in the garden ….. but I must get that Ruby Glow

  15. Helen Johnstone says:

    I am quietly excited as my Arnold Promise has quite a lot of flower buds this year, in spring I think it had two flowers.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh that is most exciting Helen, after only 2 flowers this year. All mine are pretty well budded except Zuccariniana which is the one that only had 2 or 3 flowers this year and now has a similarly sparse number of buds…no idea why

      • Helen Johnstone says:

        Hi Cathy
        I was told it might be because it was too dry. So this spring I heavily mulched around the tree, of course it has also been very mild this year so I’m not sure which, if any, have helped

        • Cathy says:

          That’s interesting advice – I wonder what the thinking behind the mulching might have been? I might mulch round H Zuccariniana in any case as it flowered poorly this last year and has few buds for next season – it won’t do it any harm, I am sure!

          • Helen Johnstone says:

            Hi Cathy
            If you mulch in spring when the ground is damp it helps to keep the moisture in

          • Cathy says:

            And as the budless one is the oldest of mine I am wondering if it has suffered from soil erosion over the years so I will give mulching this one a go

        • Cathy says:

          Sorry – you did say because it was too dry…

  16. Pingback: Good Grief! | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

