Hare Today, Gone Tomorrow – an Overall Overhaul

I didn’t deliberately knock down part of the wall I showed yesterday just for the pleasure of rebuilding it, and it was definitely a coincidence that I mentioned to the Golfer earlier in the week that I needed a new bricklaying project – honest….! I blame Monday’s vase – and shoddy workmanship… πŸ˜‰

Looking for decent little bunches of grapes on the ornamental vine (climbing over an arch between the two main bold borders) for Monday’s vase, I was struck with the sudden desire to remove the whole vine. It no longer served its original purpose and keeping it in check meant it was not the most attractive of shapes either – and tended to shade the corner of the right hand border as well as scrambling onto the netting of the fruit cage on the other side of the wall. No sooner said than done, and it quickly became a heap on the path – but not before standing on the little retaining wall to reach one of the higher stems dislodged a brick and then another…. and yet another. Not only that, but my lovely hare, only recently relocated here so he could be seen better and hanging on two screws on these bricks, suffered appalling injuries and needs an urgent appointment with the vet or perhapsΒ  a superglue surgeon…

IMG_5649Not letting these accidents get me down and neglecting a continuation of the weekend’s ivy clearing I launched instead into the start of a major overhaul of some of the borders. Having noted whilst clearing ivy from the fence how dry the back of the herbaceous borders were, IΒ  decided there would be some merit in removing all the plants and digging in more organic matter before replacing them, taking the opportunity to thin out the largest clumps and remove redundant labels. The bold border where the vine was removed was full of uninvited clumps of Croscosmia ‘Lucifer’ and a graveyard of redundant labels so what better place to start. It doesn’t seem long since a similar exercise was carried out and I am beginning to be of the opinion that the aforesaid Lucifer, although making a fiery impact in a good year, is a bit of a thug on the quiet – he was therefore reduced to a few corms in one corner and other crocosmia and hemerocallis taken in hand too and moved to the back, allowing space at the front for shorter plants and next year’s annuals. Soil conditioning will come later, once I have decided what to use, but already the bed looks less of a cluttered shambles – see below, and below that for the same border (full of sword like leaves) at the end of last month:

IMG_5648IMG_5499IMG_5650Oh – and overalls were involved too, as alongside cutting the devil down to size I was applying quick coats of Wild Thyme to some of our recently revamped benches, just in case we ever decide to sit on any of them!

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, projects. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Hare Today, Gone Tomorrow – an Overall Overhaul

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    Over all a hair raising post!

  2. homeslip says:

    There must be something in the air, I’ve had a similarly productive day! This is when it must be so nice to have an under-gardener to do the clearing up. Your hare is so stylish and almost sinuous. Could you make the repair into a virtue by making it obvious I wonder. Have a nice relaxing evening Cathy.

  3. A classic case of “no good deed goes unpunished”? πŸ˜‰

    Hare’s hoping that your sculpture can be rabbitly repaired!

  4. Here’s to a speedy diagnosis and recovery for your beautiful hare. πŸ™‚ I had two grape vines for several years on an arbor. It started out being pretty. It ended up being an ugly mess than was pulling the arbor down. So, I tore mine down, gave the plants to a friend who had a good home for them and hauled all the vines to the brush pile. I stabilized the arbor and planted two clematis on it. Ah, looks so much better. I hope your garden renovating goes well also. πŸ™‚

  5. Christina says:

    We gardeners just can’t leave things alone can we?

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    Pretty impressive changes, Cathy! Want to come over an do my garden next? πŸ˜‰

  7. croftgarden says:

    I knew that once you started you wouldn’t be able to stop! A major revamp is definitely therapeutic – but for you or the garden?

  8. Noelle says:

    This is the way that gardening goes….its amazing how our gardens can look different with only two or three years growth. I had to get rid of two very large Wisterias which almost took over both sides of the garden. leaving so much more room and time for other lovely plants. What plants are you thinking of putting back here?

    • Cathy says:

      Hmm, I would have to think more than twice about cutting a wisteria out, but I know what you mean. Here, there will be clematis climbing over the arch and I shall be considering possible annuals/perennials for the front of the bed.

  9. Helen says:

    So sad to see your hare has suffered, he is very beautiful though so I hope the superglue surgeon is first rate.
    I am glad that you are sorting out your borders as I am doing the same but there is a nightly voice in my head saying “are you mad, it’s August, the plants won’t survive a move now, wait until the Autumn”. The other voice in my head says it’s cool and damp with more rain on the way so why not!!!

    • Cathy says:

      I have been spared that nightly voice in my head, but I am glad we are of the same mind with the borders Helen. Even without being restricted by having to go out to work I do like to get on with things once I have an idea in my head – and as you say with cool and damp weather plants should resettle quickly. Unless the rain passes us by, which it often does… ps I have a plan for the hare once he comes out of surgery

  10. wellywoman says:

    There must be something in the air. Although I have yet to start I think an overhaul of my back garden is in the offing. Hope you can fix your hare. I grew up in a house where everything was superglued – my mum is very clumsy. Once saw something on the Antiques Roadshow that we had on a shelf. We rushed to check it was the same thing. It was but the ratio of superglue to ceramic was pretty high. πŸ˜‰

    • Cathy says:

      I am still happy with the layout but there are various plants that have just been plugging a gap for too long. Shame about your Mum’s antique whatsit – the valuation would have to be pretty huge for the amount of superglue not to have made much of a dent in it … πŸ™‚

  11. If it stays cool a few days I will be out there too. Ripping and tearing out a bittersweet. Your project has inspired me to get busy.

  12. One thing most definitely leads to another!
    Now as soon as I read “home slips” comment , an idea immediately came into my mind , too! I’m keen to watch for what you’re planning! And, I too, am in “rethink” mode. Can’t decide if I like the idea or not!

  13. Sam says:

    Sorry about your hare but hopefully it’s not terminal. I love to create big heaps of garden rubbish but I’m not very good at clearing them up (my husband heaves a big sigh when I get going with the loppers!).

    • Cathy says:

      I know what you mean, but in fact it is quite therapeutic to see a large pile of prunings being clipped into smaller pieces that will fit neatly in a bag to go to the skip… I can recommend the bags that Aldi currently has on offer – they are self supporting and have useful handles for emptying them out. Β£3.99 for a pack of 2 of the most useful size. Much easier than a random selection of plastic bags…

      • Sam says:

        Ooh, they sound very useful. I’ll see if I can get hold of some. We’ve been using big, 1-tonne builders sacks but they’re so heavy when they’re full. Thanks for the tip.

        • Cathy says:

          The Aldi bags really are ideal – we have just bought more while they have had them in so don’t leave it too long as they will only be there while stocks last

  14. Anna says:

    Hope that the hare can be given a new lease of life Cathy. It’s a fabulous ornament. You have done a great job on freeing up some space in that border. I have clumps of ‘Lucifer’ to tackle too and have been putting it off for way too long. Will have to follow your example and gird my loins.

    • Cathy says:

      The hare will survive, despite surgery… I love to see a healthy Lucifer in flower but he can outstay his welcome, can’t he? Get those loins girded!

  15. Annette says:

    You’re suffering from too much energy, my dear – poor little chap. My hubby says you can send him over for an operation, he’ll sort him out. πŸ˜‰ Looking forward to your new projects…and can you send me some energy, pleeease πŸ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Annette – do remember to nurture your body and soul as well as your garden… I shall indeed send healing your way so you can build up your energy reserves again… Oh and thanks for the offer of surgery – I fear the hare would not survive the journey so he he will have to take pot luck here instead

  16. Crikey, now lie down. Felt exhausted just reading this. That’s the thing with gardening, once started so many other things need to be done. I often get called in because “it’s getting dark” and realise nearly 5 hours have passed. That’s what I miss in the depth of Winter, light and you will be getting more of that now the vine is gone. Well done you!

Something to say after reading this?

