Mixing My Myths

IMG_5595Unfortunately I didn’t take a ‘before’ photo here yesterday – which would have shown the walls to the right smothered in ivy and the patch in the right foreground substantially deeper and thicker. This is what happens when you briefly turn from one task (clearing ivy, clematis and jasmine from the fence) and look over your shoulder to find yourself suddenly gripped by the urge to make a difference somewhere else too – or perhaps it was just those secateurs again, clip clippety clipping on their own…

mixingmythsThe shed extension visible on the left in the top picture was built early in 2012. The ivy covered walls, however, were built to house the compost area behind the shed in 2003, with the section at right angles (with stained glass insets from an old door and a gate retrieved from the hedge) sometime later although unusually I don’t seem to have photographic evidence of the latter. I seem to recall just popping a few young ivy plants in the area in front of them, IMG_5590cleared of scrub prior to wall building, just to make it a little greener for the time being before I decided what to do with it. The ceramic feature was later added to look as if it was lying in a bath of ivy but she seemed to have left the taps running and was now close to drowning. Not content with filling her bath, the ivy had taken over the wall (both sides) and was clambering up the old cherry tree and onto the shed roof.

I began stripping ivy from the walls initially just with the intention of tidying it up, but by this afternoon’s ramble I found myself wondering whether to remove every last scrap, cut down the cherry completely, grow clematis over the stump, partially pave the space, give IMG_5592the ceramic woman a real watery feature, move the water pump languishing on the other side of the shed and turn it into a functioning water feature – or any number of variations or combinations thereof…. But then again, I also liked the dense greenness of this corner, the ivy adding age to my brickwork and twining round the recycled gate, mature ivy hanging in tendrils with those adorable sputnik flowers …

Having already removed the Gorgon’s head I was beginning to think I was working my way through seven Herculean labours and wondering what job I would come up with next, but having inadvertently mixed myths I was reminded that it was instead Perseus who was given this task and thankfully he wasn’t kept quite as busy as Hercules. Whew!

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mixing My Myths

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    Whew! indeed, it makes me tiered just reading the blog!
    I planted three ivy plants two years ago to cover some new fencing panels?

  2. Ivy is an archaic monster good luck with your battle….

  3. Pauline says:

    Ivy is a pain here too! I pull it out by the yard and next year it is just as bad.I suppose it is all the fault of the mature ivy by the front gate which flowers each year and then has berries which the birds enjoy in the winter. The seed is then spread with a nice dollop of fertiliser and before you know it, more ivy to pull out!

  4. Anna says:

    I have more than one ivy which I wish I/himself had never planted Cathy ! However it does have its good points. Should your thoughts of planting a clematis over the stump return to the forefront Aldi had a limited but very nice range of clematis plants this morning all at £4.99 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, it seems ironic to have been responsible for planting much of the ivy – I do love it though. I saw the Clematis but don’t want to rush inti a decision – it’s not a stump yet anyway!

  5. Chloris says:

    It is such fun getting stuck in with the secateurs. Once you start its impossible to stop.The only thing that gives me pause at this time of the year is the fear of wasps’ nests. A friend of mine has just run foul of one in a tangle of ivy. The result – 46 stings! Ouch!

  6. rickii says:

    There are activists here forming brigades to rid the world of English ivy. I’ll stick to praising your writing style, which I enjoy very much.

Something to say after reading this?

