The Future is Sunny

IMG_5327The blooms that you can see here are on two plants of ‘Ruby Eclipse’ sunflowers, grown from seed saved last year – I envisage a Van Gogh vase coming up! For the first time, I pinched out the top of the sunflowers, so all these flowers are from side branches. The downside is that they don’t show the typical dark red band on the petals that gives the variety its name – I checked back on my blog from last year to compare the flowers, and reminded myself that not all the flowers last year exhibited this annular ring. Hmm… did I save seed from a solely yellow flower?…or not?….and would it have mattered which it was…?

Also vying for a position in future vases are various dahlias – nearly all of those planted are thriving and in bud, not just one or two buds but several, a real accomplishment for me. Below are buds on Karma Serena and flowers on a Bishop’s Child, grown from seed last year – exciting times, and further evidence of the magic that’s working in the garden this year…

dahlias

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Future is Sunny

  1. Pauline says:

    Your sunflowers are super, such a good idea to pinch them out, they are much nicer than one huge one way up in the air!

  2. rickii says:

    You never know what you will get, growing from seed…but that’s half the fun.

  3. johnvic8 says:

    Cathy, This is the first year I have tried dahlias. I potted about a dozen tubers and have had mixed results. A few have bloomed, a few are just green, and a few have never shown their faces. I do wish I had better luck…they are such beautiful plants.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh do keep trying, John – it was support from other bloggers that encouraged me to persist. I am really thrilled with how they are doing – the buds on the left are all but open today 🙂

  4. Gina says:

    Love your sunflowers. I didn’t have any success with them this year. Hopefully next year I’ll have better luck

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Gina – mine are invariably destroyed by slugs whilst young, but using a plastic bottle collar seems to have done the trick. Do try it.

  5. I am intrigued by Bishop’s Child, and may well try that as a foray into the world of dahlias perhaps next year….

    • Cathy says:

      Did you see my comment about it being a seedling from a packet of ‘Bishops’ Children?’ dahlia seeds. I did have another that developed into a tuber but it is not doing as well, a pink one. It’s hard knowing what to call them when you grow them like this, hence Bishop’s Child! 😉

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    Looking forward to the Van Gogh arrangement! 🙂

  7. Chloris says:

    A lovely sunflower and great about your dahlias. They are late summer flowers in my mind and I wish the garden would slow down a bit. Do sunflowers come true from seed? I’ m not sure about that.

    • Cathy says:

      I am thrilled with the dahlias – and yes, I thought they were perhaps a bit early but I am not complaining! Now, you are the Wise Woman of the plant world, so I am relying on you for accurate info about the sunflower… 😉

Something to say after reading this?

