End of Month View: Getting Bolder

The greens and whites of winter and the pinks of early spring have gradually given away to a broader colour spectrum as brighter and bolder blooms increasingly show themselves in the garden as the months roll by towards summer. Pastels still predominate in the view from the kitchen windows, although the first red  Danse de Feu roses are now appearing on the pergola to the right. The strangely placed bench is undergoing some maintenance in one of the few ‘open’ parts of the garden.

IMG_5078The grass in the streamside area was roughly trimmed with shears yesterday, leaving the narcissi foliage for a little longer. In the shrub border the two new yellow roses bought in the autumn are in bud and the flowers are awaited with mixed feelings. The new rugosa roses here are less advanced.

IMG_5079As the wood anemones, wild garlic (desperately needing to be deadheaded before they seed) and bluebells go over in turn the woodland will become increasingly shady, except for the far end near the Bothy where the two trees were removed.

IMG_5080There is a good view of the herbaceous borders from my vantage point in the bothy chimney, all filling up nicely but still largely on the green side apart from aquilegia, ‘Purple Sensation’ alliums and obliging Astrantia ‘Buckland’.

IMG_5081Here they are from ground level, with the hostas in the foreground still largely untouched:

IMG_5082On the clematis colonnade the geraniums are showing colour and the later and larger clematis are now taking over from the alpinas. First to flower are Josephine, Vagabond and Rebecca:EMOVboldIMG_5084The woodland edge borders are a delight, as always:

IMG_5088 IMG_5089The bold borders are beginning to live up to their optimistic name but are still some way off  full boldness, particularly due to the range of geum – Mrs Bradshaw, Tequila Sunrise, Totally Tangerine, Prince of Orange and what I am sure will become a new favourite, Prinses Juliana (no doubt all featuring in a Blooms Day post soon). Purple Sensation are indeed a sensation and the baskets of nasturtium make a great splash.

IMG_5090 IMG_5091A packed blue & white border currently features aquilegia and the annual centaurea:

IMG_5092The rose garden is building up to a June crescendo, with Zéphirine Drouhin just coming into flower and Madame Alfred Carrière looking absolutely stunning. The non-climbing roses are benefiting from an unexpectedly thorough pruning and looking healthier than ever before.

IMG_5093IMG_5094

 

 

Back towards the house, the species snowdrop border is now full of green and white alternatives and definitely appreciating its elevated position:

IMG_5095Capturing End of Month Views like this, a meme facilitated by Helen the Patient Gardener, is a monthly routine that I really look forward to and the record that has been built up from it is both useful and fascinating – good to compare monthly views from year to year as well as reminding me when various plants are generally at their best. Do have a look at Helen’s blog to see what’s happening at the end of May in other people’s gardens but before you do just take a look at May’s final masterpiece, always worth waiting for:

IMG_5096

This entry was posted in End of Month View, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to End of Month View: Getting Bolder

  1. What a completely charming space you have! What climbing white roses do you prefer? It’s often hard to find a white with fragrance, and that’s what I’m looking for…

    • Cathy says:

      Mme Alfred Carriere is definitely a good do-er and has a lovely perfume – does well in shade too. I also have a young ‘Snow Goose’ which I Know performs well for Pauline at Lead Up The Garden Path

  2. Thank you for the tour, I really loved it!

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Cathy your views are charming in every direction. Purple Sensation makes a great accent.

    • Cathy says:

      Thank you so much. I planted more Purple Sensation in the autumn as the ones I already had seemed to have dwindled over the years…

  4. AnnetteM says:

    What a lot you have going on already. It is so nice to see what I have to come in a few weeks. Your clematis’s look wonderful and your woodland edge border has such wonderful ferns and other foliage. I love the idea of hanging baskets of nasturtiums on a wall. I love your wisteria – is the pruning a lot of work?

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – I am really pleased with the nasturtiums this year, even though they were meant to be a single colour and a couple of red have crept in amongst the yellow. They were sown at the beginning of February. There is a certain knack to pruning wisteria, but once you are confident with it it’s easy – and it’s one of the twice yearly rituals I enjoy! It brought tears to me eyes when it first flowered – about 6 years after I planted it!

  5. Sarah says:

    Wow, the wisteria is perfection and the scent through the windows must be sublime. I don’t think I’ve seen this view of your garden before, definitely worth waiting for. Your climbing roses and clematis are gorgeous too. No roses in my garden yet but this afternoon I spotted one flower on C. Marie Boisselot in the sunnier front garden.

    • Cathy says:

      I tend to only show this view when the wisteria is flowering, or maybe after its winter prune, as the gable end of our extension does not have a lot to commend it otherwise (apart from it being pink…)! I have been doing special daily inspections of the roses waiting for their first flower – Rambling Rector is in full view of the kitchen windows and covered in buds, so watching for the first one to show white is an annual ritual!

  6. I could sit in your garden for hours and not grow one bit tired of the gorgeous view! It must smell amazing, too! 🙂

  7. Annette says:

    Charming is just the right word to describe your garden, Cathy! It looks great and so lush. As usual I love your woodland borders and the sitooterie as well as the pink house – well, they just make my heart jump (with delight that is!). What is the pink plant in the first picture?

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Annette – it is not easy for me to look at it objectively. The ‘pink plant’ will be the Clematis montana ‘Warwickshire Rose’, climbing through the magnolia.

  8. Cathy says:

    The planting (particularly the woodland border) is so special – but the structure you’ve given your garden is absolutely delightful. I remember admiring those little cones with the nasturtiums in them earlier – they are coming into their own!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – it is really coming together. I had a revamp of part of it about three years but the woodland edge border has kept almost the same format since its inception in 2001 but of course things have been added to it and it is maturing nicely.

  9. Love that last image. Just a perfect garden moment. I am a bit behind doing my end of month views. Maybe tomorrow!

  10. Anna says:

    I was about to read your EOMV earlier Cathy when himself called me away to dine so have returned to linger over your May with a cup of coffee. It’s all looking most fresh and lush. The bold borders are certainly coming together now. Have you found the odd lighter coloured flowers amongst your ‘Purple Sensation” bulbs? This has happened to me this year which is slightly irksome.

    • Cathy says:

      ‘Called you away to dine’? Is that a regular occurrence? It only happens to me on Saturday but I don’t mind…! Yes, I did get lighter ones too which puzzled me when they first opened – and I planted more A sphaerocephalum too of which there is no sign at all (yet) 😦 Oh, and thanks for your kind comments about the borders Anna!

  11. Pauline says:

    Your Wisteria is magnificent! Everything has come on so much this month, especially your woodland borders and your bold border, that is looking really good. What a wonderful month May is!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline – things almost seem to grow overnight, don’t they? I direct sowed some ‘Sea of Blue’ and ‘Sea of White’ annuals where the ceanothus was taken out and they have shot up!

  12. Julieanne says:

    What a lovely garden you have, definitely somewhere to ramble about in. I love your bold border, what a great idea. I like the geums you have there. That’s given me some ideas for a border I want to lift a bit. Mmmmm. That wisteria, it looks beautiful and I bet the fragrance is heavenly.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Julieanne. It’s worth being patient with a new wisteria and getting to grips with pruning as it is well worth waiting for. I used to have what I called ‘hot’ borders but they were never hot for long, which is why I am now emboldening them with bright pinks and purples and blues although it’s early days yet.

  13. Cathy says:

    Lovely Cathy! I knew you had a Wisteria from your vase the other week, but don’t think I have ever seen a picture of it growing before now… the crowning glory of your May garden! 🙂

  14. Christina says:

    All growing very satisfactorily Cathy. The clematis are particularly good. They seem early to me but it is a long time since I’ve grown them. I like how the snowdrop border is looking now that you’ve added other planting to continue the period of interest.

  15. Brian Skeys says:

    Wisteria and A.Purple Sensation are two of the wow plants in your garden and ours at this time of year. How do you keep your hostas free of slug damage?

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Brian – pot luck with the slugs, I think. Last year these ones were almost decimated by slugs & snails due to the wet spring I think, but it has been pretty dry this year and I don’t think there are many of the slimy critters around. Always plenty of birds though but they didn’t work hard enough at it last year! Interestingly, I have put some more round the side of the house, a view I very rarely show and these are absolutely pristine – shady and away from all other foliage (except the hedge) where slugs can hide.

  16. Helen Johnstone says:

    Another wisteria now I am really feeling left out. I think your bold border is looking bold and zingy. It is amazing how much everything has filled out in just a month isn’t it.

  17. rickii says:

    This garden is so inviting…I would love to be able to wander through in real life and share a cup of tea with you.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh rickii, if you (or any other bloggers) are ever in the vicinity you are most welcome to come and wander in the garden and share tea and cake…

  18. Great wisteria and violas in the foreground. Everywhere is looking very good this end of month. lovely 🙂

  19. Oh I thoroughly enjoyed my visit with so much in every corner….I adored each as it has its own personality, but that last shot with the wisteria is stunning….my garden is turning over to loads of purples…I noticed I don’t have enough spring pink…that will have to be remedied.

    • Cathy says:

      Sometimes I have to remind myself to look back and up at the wisteria…. Must get my fill before it is over for another year 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

