It Wasn’t Me…

IMG_5001 - CopyI sowed the seed,
Planted the plant,
Whispered,
Cajoled
And tended,
Negotiated terms
With sun
And rain,
But who…
Waved a wand
So plants
That sulked
Would thrive?
Raised roses in dry shade
And magnified
The clematis blooms?
Breathed new life
Into the long-gone,
Filled the gaps
And brought
Abundance?
It wasn’t me…

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It Wasn’t Me…

  1. Cathy says:

    I always love your poetry Cathy. When is the collection going to be published?! Seriously, you have a gift with words. 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      You are so kind – I have felt the essence of other energies at work so much recently and a poem seemed the best way of expressing it…

  2. sweetpea2love says:

    Beautiful, both in words and picture…Have a most wonderful weekend, from Laura

  3. MCH says:

    Love, love the photo of the Lily of the Valley.

    • Cathy says:

      L of the V is one of the plants that has never settled in my garden until this last year – I just wanted a very simple picture to go with the poem so chose this to represent all those plants which are now doing so well when they have failed to do so previously.

  4. Lovely sentiments. The Lily of the Valley is a plant I have always loved and always planted. This is the first year it has really prospered, and I’ve actually had to dig some stragglers up. But, I’ll pot them up for our upcoming MG plant sale and someone else will get to enjoy their beauty and fragrance. 🙂

  5. Maria F. says:

    Beautiful poem, I love “It wasn’t me..”

  6. rickii says:

    Send that wand waver my way, will you?

  7. I have the same reaction that Cathy does…when are we going to see the book? Not necessarily just poetry, but the way you write in general. You are a real lover of the garden and it shows in your words.

    • Cathy says:

      I am *blushing* with the praise, Susan, particularly coming from someone who is a writer herself. I ‘need’ to write in some form or another, for my own benefit, and if other people enjoy reading what I write then that is a bonus. I have used Blurb to create a few copies of a collection of poems for family and friends and they can be made more widely available through this medium but individual copies work out quite expensive. Any suggestions?

  8. homeslip says:

    Your poem has inspired me Cathy and I’m going to have another go with Lily of the Valley. Do you think blogging makes us notice more in the garden and therefore we take better care of our plants and become better gardeners?

    • Cathy says:

      It certainly makes us notice more in the garden so to a degree I think this will make us take better care, but I do believe there is something less tangible going on and I left it open for people to interpret the poem however they chose…

  9. Kris P says:

    I love your poetry, Cathy! My favorite lines: “Negotiated terms With Sun And rain” – if you can negotiate rain, I’ll buy you a ticket to California!

    • Cathy says:

      Tee hee – I had dithered over that part of the poem as of course I have no control over the weather, but decided that my realistic attitude to it equated to ‘negotiated terms’… and I do of course talk pleasantly and make polite requests to both Sun and Rain!

  10. Here’s to abundance! May is filling up with it. Your words are so lovely.

  11. Anna says:

    Mother Nature works wonders doesn’t she Cathy. I enjoyed your poem. Thank you 🙂

  12. Amy says:

    Lovely words, Cathy 🙂 It’s good to feel that things can go right – beyond our efforts. Plants can be the perfect reminders…

Something to say after reading this?

