Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Where Do I Begin?

IMG_4996A friend visited today and realised that not only had he never seen the garden when the sun shone but he had never seen it in the spring or summer either; not surprisingly he understood why I love it so much. My rambles get longer and longer as there is so much to observe at this time of year and the lushness sometimes takes my breath away – whether it is delightful combinations like the self seeded cowslip and pulmonaria above or the first of a series of blooms that you know will continue to give pleasure for weeks or months, like the rhododendrons:

GBBD.May15.5…the astrantias:

GBBD.May15.3….the geums:

GBBD.May15.4…the aquilegias:

GBBD.May15.1…the last of the tulips, the flamboyant, the fringed,Β  the fluffy and the feminine:

GBBD.May15.2…and that’s without showing the geraniums and the Clematis montanas and the first alliums and roses, and individual triumphs like my first ever ranunculus. IMG_4957

There are blocks of colour that bring special pleasure though, like this corner of the blue & white borders which has been buzzing with bees for weeks now, especially when the sun shines:

IMG_4990The woodland, even now the wood anemones have finished, still looks the part with its bluebells and wild garlic, and of course the trees are now fully clothed to add that extra dimension:

IMG_4962From the kitchen window, my favourite combination has to be these galvanised tanks which are stuffed with violas I have grown from seed and a mix of tulips. The creamy white ones were a surprise and must be a throwback to last season as they were not in the mixed pink pack I planted this year. What colour! What floriferousness! What a month May is!

IMG_5002With thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens who encourages us to show off our blooms on the 15th of every month – and who didn’t know where to start either!

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Where Do I Begin?

  1. Pauline says:

    May is a wonderful month for the gardener, so much new growth and so many new flowers to enjoy each day! You have such a lot going on, your garden must be very colourful at the moment, love all your photos!

  2. alison says:

    It was just a delight to read your blog. I understand completely the enthusiasm and joy you feel for your garden and for particular groups and combinations of plants. If only we could stop the clocks in May and relish all the floriferousness and colour a bit longer, whilst still looking forward to the abundance of summer.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thanks Alison – much as I love this time of year I wouldn’t want the clocks to stop because just think of all the other delights we would miss… πŸ˜‰

  3. Christina says:

    Your garden is looking wonderful Cathy, just a word of warning, I’m sure you’ve already read about a thread to aquilegias. Yours are gorgeous but there is a mildew that is decimating them, see Cathy at Herbs and Words.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Christina – I first read of the mildew on Touchwood Aquilegias website but need to check out how it could affect my aquilegias. I haven’t bought in any plants for a long time but I have got several grown from TA’s seed last year.

  4. rickii says:

    There’s a reason it is called the merry month of May.

  5. Floriferousness! I’ll remember that. Lovely garden~

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Susan – very definitely floriferous, but it will get more so as the month progresses. After all, there are still roses to come…

  6. rusty duck says:

    I would agree with stopping the clock. Can we trade in February for a longer May do you think?

  7. Maria F. says:

    Beautiful, thanks for this post!

  8. Kris P says:

    It must have been a real pleasure to return from your trip and find all that bounty, Cathy. I’m particularly jealous of your Astrantia, which I’m not able to grow in Southern California. Ditto the Rhododendrons!

    • Cathy says:

      But so much of it has come on since we came back, Kris – the rate of growth is spectacular, and a bit more rain would boost it even more I think! I am so fortunate…

  9. Cathy says:

    Oh, it’s all so lovely Cathy! Really love your selection of Astrantias!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Cathy – although most of the astrantias are still quite small (except for Buckland which is a real do-er) and I really want to build them up and add to what I have as they are so dependable.

  10. it’s all lovely Cathy and you sound like you are buzzing and on a high, enjoy, Frances

  11. croftgarden says:

    It is amazing how much your garden has developed in a relatively short time; it is realyy looking splendid.
    It’s a late and cold northern spring so I’m still waiting for May to fulfil her promise! However, it is a pleasure to enjoy the luxuriant abundance of gardens south of the border.

  12. gardenfancyblog says:

    How many lovely blooms you have in your garden! And thanks for sharing them with us. -Beth

  13. Anna says:

    Oh your garden is looking fabulous, fresh, frothy and frilly Cathy. May is my favourite month of the year – just love it πŸ™‚

  14. Linnae says:

    Oh yes, I can totally empathize! So much gorgeousness all around. Love it! Your deep purple columbine caught my eye. I’ll have to keep my eye out for a similar color for my front beds. Happy Bloom Day!

  15. Rosietta says:

    I’m all over the place too. May … wow, such garden vibrance.

Something to say after reading this?

